We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elegant charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #15 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, HI
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“elegant charming hotel”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

i really like this hotel in phnom penh..
besides the cheap bargain price, the hotel is elegant and classy and full of history as I was told by my friend who was my tour guide in Amansara in Siem Reap who accompanied me to PP...

rooms are charming, clean, and classy.. butler was very nice and friendly and accomodating..
restaurant was elegant and buffet dinner was great, although i feel like it needed more selection..

gym was ok.. a little dated and needed more equipments...
pool area is very nice...they had two separate pools.. my room had the pool view which was nice..

overall very classy hotel with modern like amenities... will likely stay here again on my future visit to PP..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSanico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Phnom Penh's "colonial residence". Please rest assured that all of your compliments and observations will be shared with my team. It is most kind of you to recommend Raffles Hotel Le Royal on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best personal regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    467
    113
    47
    19
See reviews for
270
851
125
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

the Hotel Raffles in PP is an absolutely great accomodation
the staff very trained, frienldy, helpful and polished
the food outstanding
the reservationa and all other requested service with the FO team ot concierge absolutely prompt and professional
we highly reccomend this hotel

Room Tip: A must when you are in PP
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdobritzsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive impressions of Raffles Hotel Le Royal. Our colleagues are very proud when receiving such compliments and we are all delighted that you enjoyed our service and culinary offerings.

Our heartfelt appreciation for recommending us on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Phnom Penh's 'Oasis for the Well Travelled'.

Best Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Hotel Le Royal for the third year running, this time for a week, and were as delighted with it as ever. Our room was a little smaller than the one we occupied last year but was just as comfortable and well equipped and had a small balcony overlooking one of the swimming pools. The staff were as friendly and courteous as ever and we were quite touched that several of them remembered us from previous visits and welcomed us back warmly. I happened to mention in passing to one of the waitresses at breakfast in the Monivong Cafe who had greeted us effusively, that it was my birthday the following day and was subsequently presented with a small birthday cake the following morning with an accompaniment of "Happy Birthday to you" from half a dozen of the waiting staff. After my initial embarrassment I was delighted by this thoughtful touch. Later, after dinner in Le Royal restaurant, another somewhat larger cake appeared along with another rousing chorus!
Everything good I have said about Le Royal in previous reviews still holds true. We moved on with some regret but with another three weeks ahead of us, felt we should vary our fare a little. We shall be back in Phnom Penh sometime next year and Raffles will definitely be on our visiting list. Love this place!

Room Tip: Corner suites are more roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenLittleHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for returning to Raffles Hotel le Royal for the third year running. My entire team is delighted that a memorable birthday celebration was created.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back next year. Our sincere thanks again for recommending us on Trip Advisor.

With kindest regards from your Raffles Le Royal family,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Beautiful and charming old world style hotel. Stayed in an Executive suite which had a kitchen, living area with small balcony and bedroom also with a balcony. Newly renovated and beautifully decorated. Service was top class, from the butler who turned bath towels into elephants and swans to the staff in the Elephant bar who remembered our cocktail order every night. Great location and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for an Executive Suite if you need a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed our charming colonial residence and evaluated our service as top class. Our butlers are indeed great ambassadors of Raffles and we are also pleased that our colleagues in the Elephant Bar took very good care of you and remembered your preferences.

Thank you again for recommending us on Trip Advisor.

With kindest regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

the hotel is very pretty, very colonial. it has retained that nostalgic feeling to it. i stayed in the original wing, butler service was very nice.
the room is nice, if somewhat small. the plumbing is a problem however. each time the guests next door use the bathroom, i can hear it. it's bad in the morning if u want to sleep in. so bring ear plugs, though that won't help much either. be careful when u flush the toilet, sometimes the the water in the bowl splash out.
the pools are super nice. esp when the weather is lovely like it was on my visit. watch out for loud americans.
the service is the best thing going on at this hotel. the staffs are very nice and attentive.
food is so so. i tried the french Le royale restaurant. nice setting and nice service, sadly the food is nothing to ring home about.
Elephant bar is such a real deal. perfect cocktails, esp at happy hours.
all in all, very good. i would recommend anyone and would definitely go back again.
oh, location isnt convenient for anything except may be for the american embassy. u need tuk tuk to go anywhere.

Room Tip: try to get the room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Raffles Hotel Le Royal. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate that you took the time to share all of your observations and feedback since such are of greatest value to consistently improve our services and product.

We are all pleased to know that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Like all raffles hotels world wide top place to stay .top class hotel.top location.top food.
High class place with proffesial staff.very nice intererior.looks like from around 1920. very well preserve

Room Tip: No tip needed all is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your praises relating to ambiance, service and culinary quality will be shared with my team.

As you correctly stated, Raffles Hotel Le Royal was originally opened in 1929, has been carefully restored in the late 90s and since then received several rejuvenations. It is greatly aimed to preserve its original attributes of heritage, colonial history and style.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

With Kind Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent a lovely 3 nights at Raffles and would thoroughly recommend it.
A very stylish hotel with amazing architecture. Its age does pose a few problems with door mechanisms and at times hot water supply, but all tolerable. The service is superb with very friendly staff. This hotel also has a sauna, the famous Elephant bar and an amazing restaurant serving the most affordable degustation menu in an equisite dining room. In short, an affordable touch of luxury which should not be missed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lozz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your most wonderful comments. We are delighted that you had a fabulous experience at Raffles Hotel Le Royal and enjoyed the architecture, overall ambiance along with our gastronomical delights and service.

I look forward to the next opportunity of welcoming you back to Phnom Penh's palatial residence.

Kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
1.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 269 in Phnom Penh
2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 269 in Phnom Penh
810 reviews
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Phnom Penh
InterContinental Phnom Penh
#28 of 269 in Phnom Penh
575 reviews
1.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Le Royal

Property: Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Address: 92 Rukhak Vithei Daun Penh | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#12 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Le Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A history of hospitality. The luxury of time. The secret charm of Cambodia. One of Asia's essential destination hotels, Raffles Phnom Penh has been the iconic resting place for the well travelled since 1929. Located in the heart of vibrant Phnom Penh, our hotel has been part of the history of the city and welcomes, as it has always done, a diverse clientele of entrepreneurs, writers, journalists, royalty and intrepid travellers from across the globe. Rooms and suites have been respectfully restored to reflect a distinguished blend of Khmer, Art Deco and French colonial architecture. Dining is an essential part of the Phnom Penh experience. In keeping with history and a sense of place, the elegant Le Royal Restaurant serves modern French cuisine and Royal Khmer cuisine with original recipes graciously gifted to Raffles from the Royal Palace. Almost as famous as the hotel itself, is the Elephant Bar where local residents and visitors alike gather over wine, whisky and cocktails. The Raffles Spa offers relaxation, rejuvenation and fitness through a considered mix of local and classic treatments, gym and spa pool. Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, a great hotel of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina and virtually at the doorstep of the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffles Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing