We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Approaching perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #15 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire,England
Level Contributor
360 reviews
257 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“Approaching perfection”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Perhaps if there were half points I could award 4.5 to this splendid hotel so much was really good, I think it was possibly te cleanest I've ever seen and management were always around to check and make sure everything was spot on and assist guests, the staff were mostly extremely helpful and although the newly restored wing had something of a 1950s soviet sanatorium in the corridors the actual rooms were very well furnished and we had a balcony overlooking the pool area. The quality of everything we sampled was top standard although the breakfasts were not the lavish ones we'd been able to enjoy in Saigon . Taking the edge off was the very frosty first encounter at the bar, the inaccessible nature of the hotel forgiven on old building but this has been restored recently, also the price of food and drinks whilst obviously at a premium in such surroundings was rather steep. Of particular note were the extremely helpful concierges . So far on our journey I flt that none of he 5 star hotels offered that wow factor to get to my now seldom awarded 5 points but this in no way detracts from this very well run top flight hotel

Room Tip: The room we had faced over the pool away from traffic although I doubt if any would be less than ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure having you with us and many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor. Your detailed illustrations and recommendations, as well as your personal rating of 4.5 points, is very much appreciated. I shall review your observations with my leadership team, since guest feedback is very important to us in order to consistently achieve improvements.

Thank you also for the compliments relating to our helpful concierge team which will provide some great motivational means to our colleagues. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Raffles.

With kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    456
    110
    45
    19
See reviews for
258
831
120
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

A beautifully built hotel with great rooms, swimming pools and well located, The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Could have been a perfect experience and location to celebrate Christmas had with a wonderful complementary Christmas Eve Dinner had it not been for 2 issues that need to be considered if your plans take you there on a Holiday. We had to request the for our room to be set up TWICE on Christmas day and ended up having to spend 35 minutes playing Pool at the Bar till our was being made. We came back to the hotel for lunch on the same day only to find out that our only option at the restaurant that day was an $80 buffet holiday dinner. Since we only wanted the excellent Hokien Mee, we were escorted to the Bar, where it was less than convenient to enjoy it, as this was the only place that offered A-la-crate. We had a similar experience that evening for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elevymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I sincerely would like to thank you for staying with us at Raffles Hotel Le Royal over the festive season. Whilst I appreciate that you noticed my team's effort to provide five star service, I was disappointed to learn about some shortcomings during your overall stay. Kindly please accept my apologies for the delay in housekeeping services which I already reviewed with my colleagues. Due to the high demand of festive-themed buffets in Café Monivong on Christmas Day (for both Brunch and Dinner), we had to decide to offer the Elephant Bar as an alternative venue for our guests who chose to select from an an extended la carte menu. I am sorry that this was of inconvinience to you and appreciate again your positve remarks relating to our colleagues, rooms and overall facilities.

We wish you a Happy New Year 2013 and remain

With Kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel has a superb ambiance and charm. Set in grounds with luscious frangipani trees and colonial design. The Elephant Bar happy hours (4-9pm) makes the costs bearable. Great martinis and cocktails. Dont go to Phnom Penh without visiting this wonderful place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonChinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments relating to the Elephant Bar, a Phnom Penh institution! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and stay at Raffles and look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year.

With kindest regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The mark of a good hotel is that each guest is made to feel special by management and staff. This hotel excels in this regard. The service is truly excellent which is both attentive and caring. Door staff greets you by name as does the manager. Everyone is attentive to your preferences and needs. We are particular about accommodations and management readily upgraded us to a suite. The facility itself is atmospheric and lovely. Very nice dining facilities, courtyards and pools, shopping and the wonderful Elephant Bar. The best Singapore Slings going! Excellent, lavish buffets at Christmas, expensive but worth it. As good a hotel as you will find in Asia with only one minor criticism: the light in the rooms is appalling and it is a challenge to read. Management needs to focus on this and we are sure they will.

Overall comment: Bravo Raffles!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vancouverites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during the festive season 2012! I was delighted when reading your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor which is sincerely appreciated.

Your praises about our Colleagues, the Elephant Bar and the Christmas Buffet will be shared with my entire team. Thank you for your feedback relating to the lights in the room which will be - as all of our guest feedback - certainly looked at immediately.

I wish you a Happy New Year 2013 and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Raffles.

Kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiwan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Simply excellent is le Royal to feel as a king or a queen in Cambodia. The restaurant, the shop, the swimming pool and going out walking along the river to reach restaurants and bars for drinks. I really recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristinachang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for recommending Raffles Hotel Le Royal via Trip Advisor, for rating your stay with five stars and for illustrating your overall experience as "excellent".

I surely will pass on your compliments to my entire team and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Phnom Penh's palatial residence.

We wish you a Joyous New Year 2013!

With kindest regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
193 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I can not think of any other place to stay in Phnom Penh. Well maintained and well run hotel of colonial style. An all round great experience. Highly recommended.the staff are professional and offer just the right level of service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the colonial ambiance of our tropical palace. Thank you very much for recommending us on Trip Advisor and for praising our colleagues and service.

We wish you a Happy New Year 2013 and look forward to your next visit to Phnom Penh!

With kind regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Yet somehow, not in a tasteless fashion. It really is rather charming, though one has to wonder at the feelings of the poor souls who have to still wear the Hotel's traditional Uniforms.

Rooms - good, comfy, but cosy (aka compact and smallish - Ours was in the New Building at the back).

Public areas:
* Lounge - comfy seats, nice service, drinks and bar snacks, but full of cigarette & cigar smoke;
* Dining Room - Delightful room, but as we were almost the only diners that night, we were lost in a huge room, Good Food, but lacked atmosphere/ambience - we blamed ourselves !
* Breakfast - marvelous;
* Pools - bit spoilt by over indulged children & their thoughtless parents;
* Service - Traditionally old-fashioned SEast Asian charm.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your detailed review on TripAdvsior. All of your feedback of each respective area are of greatest value and will be certainly reviewed with my team.

Once again, my appreciation for your kind review and the many positive points you have highlighted!

I would like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year 2013 and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Raffles.

Sincerely Yours,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
2.5 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Le Royal

Property: Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Address: 92 Rukhak Vithei Daun Penh | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Le Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A history of hospitality. The luxury of time. The secret charm of Cambodia. One of Asia's essential destination hotels, Raffles Phnom Penh has been the iconic resting place for the well travelled since 1929. Located in the heart of vibrant Phnom Penh, our hotel has been part of the history of the city and welcomes, as it has always done, a diverse clientele of entrepreneurs, writers, journalists, royalty and intrepid travellers from across the globe. Rooms and suites have been respectfully restored to reflect a distinguished blend of Khmer, Art Deco and French colonial architecture. Dining is an essential part of the Phnom Penh experience. In keeping with history and a sense of place, the elegant Le Royal Restaurant serves modern French cuisine and Royal Khmer cuisine with original recipes graciously gifted to Raffles from the Royal Palace. Almost as famous as the hotel itself, is the Elephant Bar where local residents and visitors alike gather over wine, whisky and cocktails. The Raffles Spa offers relaxation, rejuvenation and fitness through a considered mix of local and classic treatments, gym and spa pool. Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, a great hotel of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina and virtually at the doorstep of the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Raffles Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing