We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A throw back to the old Colonial Days of yore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #13 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Yet somehow, not in a tasteless fashion. It really is rather charming, though one has to wonder at the feelings of the poor souls who have to still wear the Hotel's traditional Uniforms.

Rooms - good, comfy, but cosy (aka compact and smallish - Ours was in the New Building at the back).

Public areas:
* Lounge - comfy seats, nice service, drinks and bar snacks, but full of cigarette & cigar smoke;
* Dining Room - Delightful room, but as we were almost the only diners that night, we were lost in a huge room, Good Food, but lacked atmosphere/ambience - we blamed ourselves !
* Breakfast - marvelous;
* Pools - bit spoilt by over indulged children & their thoughtless parents;
* Service - Traditionally old-fashioned SEast Asian charm.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your detailed review on TripAdvsior. All of your feedback of each respective area are of greatest value and will be certainly reviewed with my team.

Once again, my appreciation for your kind review and the many positive points you have highlighted!

I would like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year 2013 and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Raffles.

Sincerely Yours,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,976)
There are newer reviews for Raffles Hotel Le Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,194 - 1,200 of 1,976 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed for two nights over Christmas and nothing to complain about, staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Wonderful hotel in colonial style with very large and nice rooms as well as great restaurants and hotel bar.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Gudelaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Season's Greetings from Raffles Hotel Le Royal! It was a pleasure having you with us and we are all delighted that your stay with us was memorable and enchanting.

We would like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year 2013 and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Phnom Penh's colonial residence.

Best Wishes,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels around the world and this is now one of my favourites. The service is excellent, the rooms are beautiful and the setting is just wonderful. We stayed only for one night and were put into the landmark part of the hotel, which I thoroughly recommend as this is the old part of the hotel. We had a lovely butler who was friendly and extremely helpful. He also sorted out local taxis for us rather than the hotel cars, which was kind of him as they are a lot cheaper. Had we known how lovely this hotel was going to be we would definitely have stayed in the city for longer. Unfortunately because our time was so short and we had so many things to see and do we did not have time to explore the facilities of the hotel such as the pool and restaurants and bar. I guess this means that we will have to return!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank loobyloz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Season's Greetings from Phnom Penh!

Thank you for staying with us at Raffles Hotel Le Royal and for sharing your experience - described as "top notch" - on Trip Advisor. Your praises about our services and the hotel facilities have been shared with my team with the greatest of pleasure.

I am truly delighted that you have already plans to visit us again and we all look forward to this opportunity!

With kind regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed three nights recently in Raffles Hotel. It was marvellous. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food was super. I had the best massage ever in the Spa.
Despite the appalling tragedies that have happened to the Cambodians they were always smiling and helpful. Overall a lovely experience

Room Tip: We had a suite ( the Jackie Kennedy room ) which was marvellous!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickshireAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing Raffles as your residence in Phnom Penh and for sharing your memorable experiences on Trip Advisor.

We are indeed blessed with an excellent group of people who look after our guests. Your praises have been shared with the entire team and everyone is delighted that you had a lovely and enchanting stay at our hotel.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

With Personal Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful hotel in November for 2 nights and we were impressed from the moment we checked in until we checked out. The Staffs were very attentive but not intrusive. The ambiance is very welcoming and the pools surrounded by lush and well maintained garden is a great treat after our intense city tour. We will stay again at Raffles Le Royal without a second thought should our path brings us back to Phnom Penh!
It was absolutely the best hotel choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Director of Rooms at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Our sincere thanks for your review on Tripadvisor, and the compliments to the Khmer Hospitality in our hotel. It was our pleasure to welcoming you to the Raffles Hotel Le Royal and we are delighted that you enjoyed your short visit.

We all look forward welcoming you back, hopefully soon, when your travel plans bring you back to Phnom Penh.

With personal regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I suppose that this hotel is just not my style. Everything was "perfect" with nothing to complain about as such - we just didn't like the rather "old Colonial", servile and crusty feel to the place. Added to which, everything is fiendishly expensive!

If you want to be treated like a spoiled millionaire; then stay here - otherwise, stay away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Direcor of Rooms at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all we would like to sincerely thank you for your recent stay at the Raffles Hotel Le Royal.

We are delighted to read about your “perfect” time with us at Phnom Penh’s Palatial Residence. Therefore we were quite disappointed to read, that the history of our hotel and the colonial ambiance did not agree with your style.

For any further comments I would like to offer my personal assistance, and would appreciate if you would contact me directly: gerrit.thesing@raffles.com

With regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel. We had a room with a Pool view and a balcony. It was delightful. The pool is located in an inner courtyard which is very quiet and serene.
We were on a tour and we made good use of the laundry facilities. Everything was returned promptly and in excellent condition. It was life saver given the heat in Cambodia and the way we went through clothing.
The breakfast buffet was large and very tasty. The service was impeccable. We were looking for some souvenirs of our trip and the Hotel had some very nice, if pricey , shops with some interesting items.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotty65Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your two nights stay at Raffles Hotel Le Royal and described your time spent at Raffles as "delightful". Thank you for sharing your praises and impressions about our breakfast, the laundry valet service and the impeccible service via TripAdvisor. Such reviews are of greatest motivation to our colleagues.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

Kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
1.0 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Phnom Penh
InterContinental Phnom Penh
#28 of 272 in Phnom Penh
580 reviews
2.5 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 272 in Phnom Penh
823 reviews
1.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Le Royal

Address: 92 Rukhak Vithei Daun Penh | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $190 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Le Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A history of hospitality. The luxury of time. The secret charm of Cambodia. One of Asia's essential destination hotels, Raffles Phnom Penh has been the iconic resting place for the well travelled since 1929. Located in the heart of vibrant Phnom Penh, our hotel has been part of the history of the city and welcomes, as it has always done, a diverse clientele of entrepreneurs, writers, journalists, royalty and intrepid travellers from across the globe. Rooms and suites have been respectfully restored to reflect a distinguished blend of Khmer, Art Deco and French colonial architecture. Dining is an essential part of the Phnom Penh experience. In keeping with history and a sense of place, the elegant Le Royal Restaurant serves modern French cuisine and Royal Khmer cuisine with original recipes graciously gifted to Raffles from the Royal Palace. Almost as famous as the hotel itself, is the Elephant Bar where local residents and visitors alike gather over wine, whisky and cocktails. The Raffles Spa offers relaxation, rejuvenation and fitness through a considered mix of local and classic treatments, gym and spa pool. Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, a great hotel of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina and virtually at the doorstep of the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Raffles Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing