We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the future”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #14 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Elegant yet with a feel of the past glorious imperial days of "The Far East", and therefore a great combination of getting the "local" feel with the convenience of luxury after a hard days night at the sightseeing rounds. The staff was second to none in their service attitude, drinks enjoyed at the bar with piano music just relaxing, luscious breakfast on the terrace and great lunch poolside. Just two days - but a great two days and wish we had chosen their Siem Riep hotel also - but that we then leave for the next time around.

Room Tip: It appears as if all rooms are great, we had pool side on the ground floor and no inconvenience due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skudstrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh's palatial residence. I am delighted about your comments relating to the colonial style of our landmark hotel. We have just completed careful restorations of all our state rooms, landmark rooms and suites, as well as our Royal Ballroom, Lobby and Empress Room. Whilst we further leveraged on the hotel's historical architecture and design, several technical upgrades were undertaken such as new (complimentary) hotel wide WIFI, flat screen TV's, media panels and improvements on the heating and ventilation system.

Very pleased that you enjoyed the Elephant Bar, breakfast at our 'Al Fresco' terrace and the pool within our tropical gardens.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

With kind regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,236 - 1,242 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

After a stay with Raffles in Siem Reap, expectations were high. This hotel is very good and has stunning and historic architecture along with great facilities. The location is good though I would personally preferred to have been closer to the night life of Phnom Phen. Our room had a quaint balcony with a view of the vegetation, the building and the pool. Like Raffles Siem Reap, the prices for beverages and other optional services was a little on the high side. In particular, the rate for hiring the hotel car (and driver) seemed exhortitant when compared with Raffles Siem Reap. Hence, we enjoyed navigating Phnom Phen in a Tuk Tuk. Recommended. The Elephant bar is enjoyable. We felt that the staff were not compete,y up to the mark though and some seemed to have little grasp of English (which is surprising given this is an expensive five star hotel). This created a few challenges when trying to plan sightseeing etc (along with some more basic challenges). However, overall, would still recommend the hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for recommending Raffles Le Royal. Please note that due to the fact the hotel is located in the Kingdom's Capital, more sophisticated transportation is expected by our international travelers, hence our limousine fleet consists of brand new chauffeur driven BMW's 5 series. In fact we have received very good reviews about this service which I can assure you is at a very high level of quality. The pricing as such has been carefully set and is aligned with comparable hotels in similar South East Asian cities such as Phnom Penh.

As it relates to the Elephant Bar I would like to thank you for your feedback since such is of great value to undertake consistent improvements. Kindly please note that I would be very grateful to receive more information on other challenges you might have experienced - my email address: richard.schestak@raffles.com

With kind wishes and regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I have not stayed in the Raffles, Phnom Penh Hotel as yet, as have family there.What we love doing is taking friends to the Raffles Elephant Bar which has the most amazing atmosphere and the service is impeccable along with some one playing on the piano.The staff are extremly well presented starting with when you first arrive at the Front Door. The Wine list and drinks available are world class and the nibbles that come with each round are the best.On each visit to PP we usually go to the Elephant Bar 4-5 times.Thoroughly recommend a visit, once there you will return.Of course an attraction is "Happy Hour" which has recently been extended to 4.00pm to 9.00pm which certainly encourages a longer visit. Never be in a RUSH and take it all in, an amazing Bar.Thankyou.

Room Tip: Never be in a RUSH when being at the Elelphant Bar, it is all so relaxing, soothing, absorbing, in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyNZ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for visiting Raffles Le Royal's Elephant Bar, a Phnom Penh institution. Your praises relating to our colleagues, the Happy Hour as well as the overall ambiance and offerings are greatly appreciated and will certainly be shared with all of my colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

With kind regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Raffles Hotel Le Royal is certainly one of the best places we have ever stayed. We spent three nights there and would have loved to stay longer. From the first moment where we were met at the airport by the Hotel's chauffear and black series 3 BMW (USD$33) until when we checked out service and attention to detail were unsurpassed.

The room was quite spacious for a couple and the bathroom contained a claw foot full length bath tub. Our room overlooked the beautiful pool and had a small balcony. Having a butler to unpack our clothes and do any ironing was quite decadent and not something we were used to at all. Sokchea welcomed us and showed us around until we felt comfortable in our accommodation - nothing was too much trouble.

Our favourite spot was the Elephant Bar where we enjoyed several meals and cocktails. Choices for breakfast were terrific and the service could not be faulted. Each day we were greeted by name by the fabulous staff there. On one occasion we wanted to have lunch in the breakfast area which was not available due to several conference groups utilising this area. We were quickly directed to the pool as an alternative and enjoyed a meal there.

We also ate out several times and restaurants at Sisowath Quay are only a short tuk tuk ride away.

Watch out for specials offered by the Hotel as this was a contributing factor for us.

Would love to return to the Raffles one day in the not too distant future.

I would recommend the Raffles Le Royal, Phnom Penh, as a very special and luxurious place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpecialBirthday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at Raffles Hotel Le Royal - Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

It has been a pleasure having you with us and we are delighted that your stay was memorable. All of our colleagues within the chauffeur and butler departments as well as the team at the Elephant Bar and Breakfast were proud to hear about your comments. Thank you for your kind words of motivation!

Our team at Hotel Le Royal beliefs that a hotel is something beyond its location, its décor and its amenities; it is a place where you are cared for so well that you want to come back again. On that note we look forward to welcoming you back soon to our residential sanctuary in the heart of Phnom Penh.

Best Regards

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel lived up to its reputation. The rooms were very well appointed and comfortable, service of high standard. Enjoy the pool and have a drink on the Elephant bar. Very central, therefore provides easy access to the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swell_753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to illustrate your experience at Raffles Hotel Le Royal. Your kind comments relating to the hotel accommodation, facilities as well as the Elephant Bar will be shared with my entire team.

We are delighted that your stay with us was memorable and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent three nights and then a single night at the hotel. From the moment of our arrival we were welcomed by name by staff who were attentive, friendly and always accommodating. Our accommodation on both stays, whilst on different floors overlooked the pool and was exceptionally comfortable and spotless. I was initially a little uncomfortable having a 'personal' butler but Botum was unobtrusive and went out of her way to deliver exceptional service, as did every staff member. After driving from Siem Reap to Phnom Penh we were welcomed back with the words "welcome home"- it felt a little like that, returning to a place that was an oasis in a frenetic, but fascinating city.
The dinner menu and buffet breakfast were varied and very good; snacks and drinks at the Elephant Bar a must. The only negative about staying at Hotel Le Royal Phnom Penh is that it spoils you for staying anywhere else. If I am lucky enough to return to Cambodia, this hotel will be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies overlooking the pools are lovely. We booked online on the hotel's website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to know that your three-night stay at Raffles Hotel Le Royal was memorable and enriched by our friendly colleagues and comfortable accommodation.

Your butler Botum is indeed an extremely guest-centric lady who goes out of her way to deliver excellent service. Such praises are of great motiviation to our group of talented colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back "home" to Raffles Hotel Le Royal

Kind Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Tripadvisor is going to have to create a 6-star rating to best rate The Raffles in Phnom Penh. This place is elegant with an atmosphere that takes you back to a time past.

By Cambodian standards this is not a cheap place to stay but if you are looking for a place where you can be spoilt for a few days this is it. The rooms are well appointed, spotless and quite large. Would suggest you book a room with the balcony facing the pool.

The staff are attentive, pleasant and there to help make your stay a real treat. You have your own butler which I have to admit is not something we were that comfortable with but he did assist us and made sure everything was in order.

Breakfast was excellent and reasonably priced for those who do not have it packaged with their stay. Worth keeping an eye out on their website as there are good deals to have. Restaurant dining is excellent though as you would expect somewhat expensive.

The hotel is centrally located in the city, close to major markets and shopping centres. You are also very close to the multitude of restaurants should you wish to venture out. Gardens are meticulously maintained and provide plenty of shade for those seeking a cool spot around the pool.

Possibly not the ideal place for those with young family not because they are not welcomed but that there may not be the activities to occupy them. We did however see the occasional family group but just be aware for the young and more active members of the family it could be difficult.

If you are looking for a place to stay and endulge yourself for a few days this is it. Best place I have ever stayed in and will be hard to beat.

Room Tip: Request room with poolside view eg 203 or 233
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MelbourneSeeTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We are very appreciative and humbled about your fantastic remarks and for evaluating Raffles Hotel Le Royal as 6 star. My entire team is delighted about your review which is of greatest motivational mean to everyone at Raffles to further exceed expectations. We are happy that your stay with us was memorable and enchanting.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Hotel Le Royal, "Phnom Penh's Oasis for the Well Travelled".

Personal Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
1.0 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Phnom Penh
InterContinental Phnom Penh
#28 of 274 in Phnom Penh
587 reviews
2.5 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
836 reviews
1.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Le Royal

Address: 92 Rukhak Vithei Daun Penh | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $213 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Le Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A history of hospitality. The luxury of time. The secret charm of Cambodia. One of Asia's essential destination hotels, Raffles Phnom Penh has been the iconic resting place for the well travelled since 1929. Located in the heart of vibrant Phnom Penh, our hotel has been part of the history of the city and welcomes, as it has always done, a diverse clientele of entrepreneurs, writers, journalists, royalty and intrepid travellers from across the globe. Rooms and suites have been respectfully restored to reflect a distinguished blend of Khmer, Art Deco and French colonial architecture. Dining is an essential part of the Phnom Penh experience. In keeping with history and a sense of place, the elegant Le Royal Restaurant serves modern French cuisine and Royal Khmer cuisine with original recipes graciously gifted to Raffles from the Royal Palace. Almost as famous as the hotel itself, is the Elephant Bar where local residents and visitors alike gather over wine, whisky and cocktails. The Raffles Spa offers relaxation, rejuvenation and fitness through a considered mix of local and classic treatments, gym and spa pool. Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, a great hotel of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina and virtually at the doorstep of the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Raffles Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing