We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality from out of time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #15 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Hospitality from out of time”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Raffles Hotel Le Royal is all about colonial charm and attentive service. The property is well maintained and decorated with an excellent blend of old-time charm and modern functionality. The service is the real plus of the hotel: kind, attentive, personal and never intrusive; they know how to catch you by surprise with little attentions and courtesies driven by what appears to be a genuine sense of hospitality. We are seasoned and practical travelers, not easily impressed by 5-star service and amenities, but in this case we were honestly seduced by a hospitality which seems coming from out of time.

There might be few shortcomings compared to international standards for hotels in the same class, and one might expect larger/better rooms or larger breakfast spread but, honestly, that did not change a thing in our experience and does not impact a bit our judgement.

It must not be easy to run an historical top-end hotel in a developing country and these guys do it right. I foresee we will return here if back to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdilieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for staying "In Residence" with Raffles Hotel Le Royal and for your kind review on Trip Advisor. All of our colleagues are delighted that your stay with us was memorable and in particular enjoyable due to our services and the hotel's colonial ambiance.

I am pleased to know that you will return soon to Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

Personal Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    456
    110
    45
    19
See reviews for
258
831
120
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Staff here extremely helpful, they helped me with consular services (needed to obtain a visa, so i left my passport with them. They did the whole exercise - took the passport to consulate,obtained the visa, shipped my passport to Siem Reap with no glitches and on time) A great big thanks goes to all the people who work there. Nice rooms and nice food (although only tried breakfast in the hotel). Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fildircan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted that your stay with us was memorable and our colleagues were able to assist you efficiently with your urgent passport and visa inquiries.

Thank you again for recommending us and everyone at Raffles sends their best wishes. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

Kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Raffles in Phnom Penh has a perfect location, the service, this kindness and profession in the hotel is on top, the rooms big and very nice few, the served food in the dining room and and at breakfast superb, no request too large no detail too small

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdobritzsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at Raffles Hotel Le Royal and for your praises relating to food and service which you kindly posted on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

With kind regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Book your room at the landmark and you enjoy old colonial style with modern facilities. Absolutely loved the bathtub. Check in is done with a butler, whilst he takes care of the registration you will enjoy a refreshing welcome drink. The decoration in the entire property is wonderful and spotless clean. All crew greets with a warm smile, they are all well trained and speak good english. Althought we did not eat in the Restaurant, it made a very good impression and will be the right spot to spend a romantic evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Phnom Penh's palatial residence. Your illustrations will be shared with my team who is most motivated to continuously exceed our guest's expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Raffles Hotel Le Royal, our residential sanctuary in the heart of Phnom Penh.

With kind regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

wow this place is very good, the staff are so friendly with them all saying hello to you every time you go past, the rooms are a little small for the cost(we had a Landmark room) but overall a great experience, the pool area is very nice. The Elephant bar in the evenings is simply wonderful for a drink. the buffet breakfast would be one of the best i have ever had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottlloyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor as it relates to our services and friendliness of our colleagues. Our culinary brigade will be pleased to learn about your praises relating to the breakfast buffet. Whilst our breakfast is served in the residential ambiance of a colonial mansion, freshness, a la minute preparation and selected product is continuously reviewed in order to ensure an enchanting way to start the day! Thank you also for visiting the Elephant Bar which is a Phnom Penh institution.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Raffles.

Kind Regards

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you are visiting Phnom Penh, it is worthwhile staying at this Hotel. The service is excellent,
the rooms have character, the food is supberb, and most important it is hygenic.

Cambodia is still working its way out of the third world, local restaurants can be hit and miss
with regards to hygiene, especially for foreign visitors who don't have immunity to local bacterie.
Raffles has been catering to foreign visitors for 110 years, they know how to take care of us.

Room Tip: If you want something special, book the " Jackie Kennedy" suite, the Charles De Gaulle S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alavna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted that you rated your stay at Raffles Hotel Le Royal as "Superb Experience" on Trip Advisor.

Your compliments will be shared with all of my colleagues who deserve such praises since they continuously aim to exceed our resident's expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Phnom Penh's palatial residence.

Kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

A very nice hotel. All staff are polite and helpful. My only "complaint" is no chocolates at the turn down service? The .breakfast is worth 20$ if you are going to make it a BIG meal, although it is average compared to many similar hotels in ASIA
Also the toilet flushes very LOUDLY
:)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlamaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to know that you appreciated our hotel, it's style and our helpful colleagues. All of your other observations are noted and will be reviewed with my team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Raffles in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
2.5 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Le Royal

Property: Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Address: 92 Rukhak Vithei Daun Penh | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Le Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A history of hospitality. The luxury of time. The secret charm of Cambodia. One of Asia's essential destination hotels, Raffles Phnom Penh has been the iconic resting place for the well travelled since 1929. Located in the heart of vibrant Phnom Penh, our hotel has been part of the history of the city and welcomes, as it has always done, a diverse clientele of entrepreneurs, writers, journalists, royalty and intrepid travellers from across the globe. Rooms and suites have been respectfully restored to reflect a distinguished blend of Khmer, Art Deco and French colonial architecture. Dining is an essential part of the Phnom Penh experience. In keeping with history and a sense of place, the elegant Le Royal Restaurant serves modern French cuisine and Royal Khmer cuisine with original recipes graciously gifted to Raffles from the Royal Palace. Almost as famous as the hotel itself, is the Elephant Bar where local residents and visitors alike gather over wine, whisky and cocktails. The Raffles Spa offers relaxation, rejuvenation and fitness through a considered mix of local and classic treatments, gym and spa pool. Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, a great hotel of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina and virtually at the doorstep of the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Raffles Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing