We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evey thing you expect Raffels to be.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #18 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The hotel is situated in the embasy area which is quiet and safe but a long way from the tourist area of river front.
The hotel is right out the old movies, big old room, execlent service even down to billard room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozbraids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2011

On behalf of the entire team at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, we would like to express our heartfelt and sincere gratitude for your wonderful comments which have been shared with all of our colleagues with great pride. Thank you for choosing Raffles Hotel Le Royal and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,538 - 1,544 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2011

We saw the "Killing Fields" movie before our trip and couldn't wait to stay at the historically significant Hotel Le Royal now owned by Raffles. Sydney Schanberg and Jon Swain (of Killing Fields fame) would stay here while covering the Khmer Rouge before being moved to the French Embassy which is located just down the street. Jackie O. stayed here before visiting Angkor Wat and the champagne glass with her lipstick smudge is on display outside the Elephant Bar. The hotel is a true "grand dame". Parts of it are a big outdated like the floor tiles and elevator but it's overall a classy operation.

We had read an earlier review that someone had bed bugs in room 219 and since we were just a few doors away, the first thing we did was check the mattress but thankfully did not find any evidence. We coincidently found a note that the hotel was spraying as part of their pest control program the week we were there.

Our room was spacious and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the pool. The breakfast buffet cost $20 ea and is vast enough to fill you up until dinner. Don't miss out on the pho or the "morning wake up" smoothie with beets and apples.

The downside of the Raffles is that there is nothing within immediate walking distance. You will be stuck eating at the hotel if you want a quick bite. There a dozen tuk-tuks right in front ready to whisk you off anywhere for a few dollars.

As others have pointed out, the check out process is ridiculous. The same two people who check you out, also handle complaints, give out maps, make calls for guests and so on. We were first in line and waited almost 20 mins. The female manager came up to us to ask if she could help us but when we told her we need to check out, she said, "Oh well, I guess you need to wait just a bit longer." Thanks for nothing, lady.

Be sure to double check your bill! We had a web rate of $150/night but they charged us $198 despite the fact that we initialed and agreed to the $150/rate upon check in. Keep your receipts and check every item.

Don't miss out on happy hour at the famed Elephant Bar from 4pm-8pm when drinks are half hour and you get free taro chips and salsa. Do try their famous Femme Fatale cocktail.

Room Tip: Book early online for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WISCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2011

On behalf of the entire team at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, we would like to express our sincere gratitude for your valuable feedback which has been shared with everyone concerned. This is certainly not the image nor the experience we wish our residents to have and we are already working to ensure that such issues are improved continuously as part of our service excellence commitment. Thank you for choosing Raffles Hotel Le Royal and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights while on an organized trip from Vietnam to Cambodja .
It looks dated, but it has everything to make it a first class hotel. Good location. Great room. Friendly staff. Good service.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2011

On behalf of the entire team at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, we would like to express our heartfelt and sincere gratitude for your wonderful comments which have been shared with all of our colleagues with great pride. Thank you for choosing Raffles Hotel Le Royal and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed here for three nights at the start of a tour of Indochina. Our room was at the back of the hotel behind the lovely pools. Our first room was on the ground floor and it's balcony was rather too close to a rather noisy group of sun-bathers so we were moved to the floor above which was much better. The rooms in this wing are on the small side but were very quiet and comfortable.

We loved the informal restaurant with tables on the covered walkway. They do a great buffet and this was our first introduction to the delicious healthy food we found in cambodia, Vietnam and Laos. This restaurant was busy at breakfast time but surprisingly quiet for luch and dinner. Presumably other guests were trying out the local restaurants, which we did one evening, but this was our favourite. The staff were charming and helped us select local dishes at the buffet.

Despite being close to the City centre, the noise and bustle of Phnom Penh could have been miles away when lying round the pool after tiring days of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2011

On behalf of the entire team at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, we would like to express our heartfelt and sincere gratitude for your wonderful comments which have been shared with all of our colleagues with great pride. Thank you for choosing Raffles Hotel Le Royal and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We loved coming back to Phnom Penh and staying in the old Raffles Le Royal, it is a really beautiful old style hotel with lovely black and white tiled floors,beautiful pool,wonderful service,we even had our own private Buttler, I can't remember his name but he was very professional and efficient. It made our stay in Cambodia even more pleasant

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allegraRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2011

On behalf of the entire team at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, we would like to express our heartfelt and sincere gratitude for your wonderful comments which have been shared with all of our colleagues with great pride. Thank you for choosing Raffles Hotel Le Royal and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

The hotel has a very old world feel to it, which I found delightful! They have lovely old pictures in the lobby and the rooms seem to be straight out of a 1970s luxury hotel. The rooms however, are very comfortable and have been refurbished with all the modern amenities.

The pool is wonderful and the buffet breakfast is great. They have a wonderful sauna and jacuzzi, which we thoroughly enjoyed!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank arunimap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2011

On behalf of the entire team at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, we would like to express our heartfelt and sincere gratitude for your wonderful comments which have been shared with all of our colleagues with great pride. Thank you for choosing Raffles Hotel Le Royal and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Our stay at the Raffles hotel royal was perfect ! The hotel is beautifull, colonial style, and the service is 5 star !

On our arrival, we have been welcomed by a very friendly lady at the reception, very professional and a smile than makes you feel more than welcome, We have been upgraded to a superior room a colonial style wing of the hotel (evendough I advise that you request a room with view on the swimming pool, very calm and relaxing).

The SPA is very good (book early, as it is often full). The room service perfect. We also drink and dinner at the piano bar.

If you go to Phnom Penh, The Raffles Royal is the place !

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Attorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2011

On behalf of the entire team at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, we would like to express our heartfelt and sincere gratitude for your wonderful comments which have been shared with all of our colleagues with great pride. Thank you for choosing Raffles Hotel Le Royal and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
1 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 281 in Phnom Penh
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
InterContinental Phnom Penh
InterContinental Phnom Penh
#31 of 281 in Phnom Penh
613 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 281 in Phnom Penh
527 reviews
1.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#7 of 281 in Phnom Penh
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Le Royal

Address: 92 Rukhak Vithei Daun Penh | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#14 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $199 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Le Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A history of hospitality. The luxury of time. The secret charm of Cambodia. One of Asia's essential destination hotels, Raffles Phnom Penh has been the iconic resting place for the well travelled since 1929. Located in the heart of vibrant Phnom Penh, our hotel has been part of the history of the city and welcomes, as it has always done, a diverse clientele of entrepreneurs, writers, journalists, royalty and intrepid travellers from across the globe. Rooms and suites have been respectfully restored to reflect a distinguished blend of Khmer, Art Deco and French colonial architecture. Dining is an essential part of the Phnom Penh experience. In keeping with history and a sense of place, the elegant Le Royal Restaurant serves modern French cuisine and Royal Khmer cuisine with original recipes graciously gifted to Raffles from the Royal Palace. Almost as famous as the hotel itself, is the Elephant Bar where local residents and visitors alike gather over wine, whisky and cocktails. The Raffles Spa offers relaxation, rejuvenation and fitness through a considered mix of local and classic treatments, gym and spa pool. Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, a great hotel of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina and virtually at the doorstep of the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Raffles Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing