We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Phnom Penh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Phnom Penh
Ranked #28 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After 19 nights in Cambodia, we had booked our final 2 nights as a family of 4 (kids 7 & 5) at the Intercontinental using my IHG Points. This was for a deluxe room with 2 queen beds to we could all stay in the same room, and we had planned on either paying for breakfast each day, or leaving the hotel for breakfast. Upon check-in, we were offered an upgrade to a club room for $45 per night, so $90 in total, which gave us the absolutely fantastic breakfast buffet for all 4 of us, free internet access, club room access (free afternoon tea 3-5pm & free alcholic drinks 6-8pm, and free soft drinks all day). This turned out to be superb value for us, the kids could snack late afternoon before we ate out in the evening (not in the hotel), and also we could enjoy a couple of glasses of wine at sunset before heading out.

The room was perfect, 4 of us there was plenty of space, views over the city, and the breakfast buffet was truly excellent - the kids loved the way they could have ice-cream for the 1st time ever for breakfast - a great way to end their holiday. Note: we used the main buffet in the hotel not the club room breakfast which is always a little bit more limited.

The team in the club room were so helpful, allowing us a late check out at 3pm as our flight wasn't until 6pm, and also letting us have afternoon tea at 3pm despite the fact we had checked out. They also arranged a taxi to pick us up (around $12) instead of relying on the concierge option which was $27. Tuk -tuks gather at the bottom of the hotel drive, we always walked to them to get around rather than using any hotel arranged transport which i am sure would've had a premium.

Swimming pool was nice, a little chilly but the kids enjoyed it everyday. Really enjoyed the end to our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IJL73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Phnom Penh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 580 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Intercontinental in Phnom Penh is not centrally located, so you will need to take a tuk-tuk or taxi to get to the downtown touristy area near the Perfume river. The rooms were spacious, quiet, and modern, and the bathroom was large and very nice with a separate shower and bathtub. I thought the service was fine, and I do have to say that their breakfast buffet was the best out of all of the hotels were stayed at on our trip. The $16 a day for Wi-Fi is ridiculous for what you pay for the room. It was very clear that the hotel caters more to business travelers and is not really interested in catering to tourists. An irritation for me was that the door staff were polite but somewhat aloof when you told them that you just wanted a tuk-tuk instead of a taxi; you'd have to go down to the street to get one yourself and they acted like they had been told by hotel management to not encourage or help tourists in getting a tuk-tuk. The other offense for me was that the hotel really pushed their private car for hire instead of just being normal and calling you a taxi. For example, we wanted to hire a car or taxi to take us sightseeing for only 5 hours one day; the hotel was going to charge $70, but in the end the taxi they called only charged us $40 for the same amount of time. When we wanted a taxi to the airport they really pushed their private car which would have been $26, but we insisted on a taxi that only ended up costing $9. The most ridiculous part was that they made us sign a "waver" saying that we were rejecting the hotel car and that they could not be responsible for problems with a taxi (there were no problems). I just thought their "intimidation tactics" were absurd.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Jennifer M,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. As for the rates, we strive to provide a competitive rate in the area. It is not our intent to inconvenient our guests instead provide rate options that make sense. Nevertheless, I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Not much to say other than a top quality hotel like you would expect from the InterContinental Brand. Clean atmosphere, friendly staff, great breakfast buffet. Has a very nice gym with plenty of machines.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

At check in you'll be astonished to find the $16 charge for wifi, but they will offer you other packages, and give misleading prices so you'll upgrade thinking you are getting better "value" when I fact you are not and you'll be hit with a large bill on check out. We were told for $25 we could have a premium package of internrt and minibar as well as access to the club lounge. It sounded worth it. But on arrival to the club room youll find that is a further $20 ($45 package), and not so politely removed!! how embarrassing!! If you do complain, like we did, you'll be met with resistance until they back down and admit to the "miscommunication" and simply offer the club access for free the following night. So we go the following evening at 5pm, pour ourselves a drink only to told no drinks allowed!

The hotel is situated in the city but 30 minutes from anything meaningful, therefore you have to pay 10$ for a return trip to anywhere of interest.


It's a shame because the breakfast are delicious and the restaurant staff helpful and friendly.

The rooms are pleasant enough, and the bathrooms nice, but the hall carpets are shabby and faded. Another example of their cost cutting is they charge 5 star prices, yet don't offer a turn down service as standard. I'm not especially bothered by turndown but in this priced establishment you do expect it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKChris82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear UKChris82,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the inconvenience and shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Your feedback is indeed of utmost importance to us and rest assured that actions will be taken to ensure our guests continue to enjoy superlative levels of service, comfort & security that they expect when staying at our hotel. It is only through valuable feedback we receive from our valued customers that we would be in a position to know where we go wrong and rectify the circumstances or incidents, in order to ensure that we do not repeat the same in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

after a disappointing visit to InterContinental PhnomPenh in April, i yet again experience not a very enjoyful stay this time. Staying there for 4 nights, i found my in-room minibar not replenished on my second day, and again on my fourth day. staff on the club lounge did not seem to be very happy working there. hardly catch any glimpse of smile on their faces. on my first evening sitting in the club lounge, food ran out and had to wait for a long time to get replenished. staff started cleaning up without making a last call. on the second evening, we were told they were out of gin! as much as i am a big fan of IterContinental hotels, should i go back to this one in PP again?

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank SEDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear SEDY,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was the first time I had stayed at the InterContinental in Phnom Penh. A different location to where I have previously stayed near the riverfront. The surrounding area is not as attractive as it is near the river, but I was visiting for business and did not have a lot of down time on this occasion. The room size was good, everything was clean and the room was quiet. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusyTravellers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family an I visited in December, the food and service was excellent. The dinner and breakfast buffet was awesome and they cater for everyone! The Christmas decor was absolutely beautiful.
Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Denise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
2.0 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#13 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,976 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 272 in Phnom Penh
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sokha Phnom Penh Hotel
Sokha Phnom Penh Hotel
#58 of 272 in Phnom Penh
204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arunreas Hotel
Arunreas Hotel
#4 of 272 in Phnom Penh
192 reviews
1.6 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 272 in Phnom Penh
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Phnom Penh

Address: 296 Boulevard Mao Tse Toung | Phnom Penh, Kingdom of Cambodia, Phnom Penh 12306, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#17 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#17 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#18 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $184 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Phnom Penh 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For two decades, InterContinental Phnom Penh is the Cambodian luxury hotel of choice for business and leisure travelers with our variety of choice of stay offers: from deluxe rooms, to Club InterContinental, to suites and even serviced apartments. We also provide exceptional facilities for conferences, meetings and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Phnom Penh Hotel Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing