We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and a nice place to stay!”
Review of The Laughing Fatman - CLOSED

The Laughing Fatman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Busy bar/restaurant in a busy street behind the museum and the river. We have an extensive menu of both asian and European food, also pizza's and burgers. Late night we have a vibrant crowd with great music and a great atmosphere. We also have an extensive Cocktail menu at the most competitive prices in Phnom Penh.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were staying a couple doors down from the restaurant and a friend of ours told us to go eat here. So, my bf and I ate here on our first night in Phnom Penh, We ordered chicken amok and it was delicious and we came back the next day for breakfast. I had the traditional amok breakfast and my bf had the eggs and bacon. The owner and staffs are friendly and welcoming, and turns out they also have a guesthouse. We ended up staying at their guesthouse on our way back from Otres, the room was clean and simple ($12/night for the fan room and $17 for ac room), we enjoyed staying here. If you want a quiet, nice, simple and affordable place to stay with good food, we highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SJGIRL03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rith S, Owner at The Laughing Fatman, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words about the food and the staff, they really do appreciate the encouragement and recognition for all of their hard work.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed to staying in Laughing Fatman GH, it really is a hidden gem!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for The Laughing Fatman
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 252 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Pizza was a good size and very good, fried noodle with chicken was good and a bargain price. Nice a lively atmosphere and the beer was cheap. No problem with the service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rhys566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rith S, Owner at The Laughing Fatman, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you so much for support our place. We will be happy to make you happy and make you the good food. We hope to see you again. Good Luck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Drop by for a meal if you are staying nearby.They have a good crowd here.The food and service is ok. But they allow smoking here so we will have to tolerate that.We were looking around for the fatman but he was not to be seen.Maybe he was cooking our meals in the kitchen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chan_Y1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rith S, Owner at The Laughing Fatman, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you so much for chosen The Laughing Fatman for you meal. I'm happy to have you in my restaurant and make you happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Four of us ate here a couple of times for breakfast. The food was usually good (except for really runny porridge one time). The service needs improvement as messing up on orders seems the norm rather than the exception!

Thank TBSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rith S, Owner at The Laughing Fatman, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for support our place and advice. I'll be glad to get your advise and improve my staff. I wish you have nice trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A nice hotel, with pretty good room - clean, and a decent view out over the street. The staff were friendly, and the food was also pretty good (we had breakfast and lunch there). They let us have a mattress to have three people in a twin room - so was reasonably good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JPHadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rith S, Owner at The Laughing Fatman, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thanks for your support our place. We are so happy for providing and make you happy to stay here. Please have a good trip

From Laughing Fatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Laughing Fatman also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing