We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you Mr. Sokhan!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #54 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Carbondale, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thank you Mr. Sokhan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Unbelievable customer service, excellent dining and best massage in Cambodia. Mr. Sokan the general manager made sure all of our needs were met and welcomed us each day with a smile. I would not hesitant to recommend this hotel as an affordable hotel with excellent value! Even the hotel tuk tuk driver Mr. Bird went above and beyond to make sure our visit we perfect.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cdale_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    55
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
34
18
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Right from reception you feel very welcomed,friendly staff will show you around and assist you all the way,rooms are new,spacious and well-designed,also good thing is free wifi with very high speed.SPA is nice and very reasonable prices for massages and sauna,steam room,jacuzzi and gym free of charge for hotel guests.Loved the breakfast.Management is excellent very professional and friendly.My total experience staying in this hotel was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The view from my window brought me to tears. I feel like a king when I am here. The food and the service were outstanding. There are exotic sea creatures in the dining room and a shanty town in the back yard where you will see wild monkeys and roosters and children playing on a big beautiful river. This town is especially kind and I am blessed to have stayed at the River Palace since I just happened upon it! So lucky.

Room Tip: stay up high, the view is truly breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dirk d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I live practically out of my suitcase travelling 200+ days a year . After 3 countries in 5 days was totally exhausted when I touched Phnom Penh.... my first visit to Cambodia.

This brand new property is a hidden gem as of now and I wish the staff and the management the very best for the future.

Special thanks to Prum AGM and everyone right down to Sukna who knows how to get my breakfast organized.

Check in .. you would not be wrong .. specially if you want to come back to your own sanctury at the end of the day in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Choose the ones with a Mekong River View .. a no brainer. The beds have sprung mattresses but tad to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelkaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This our second stay in this hotel. Having tried another 4 star hotel and comparing the two we couldn't wait to come back here. This hotel is more like 5 star.

We booked this hotel through expedia. Contacted the General Manager Mr. PRUM Vuthea via email he arranged for us to be picked up by the hotel's luxury van. Actually he was very helpful providing us the room we previously stayed in.

The lobby has a high ceiling. spotless clean and luxurious looking and reception staff are very kind and helpful.

The superior room is very large with two queen beds and room is over looking the Mekong river. There is a huge wardrobe in the room and enough drawers and space to store everything. All furnitures are new and high quality. The floor is carpeted and very soft and feels clean. The bathroom have two sections both bathtub and separate shower area. Everything is perfectly clean.

The only downside for some people it is a bit further away from the center. But it is an advantage for me. Because i can have my daily exercise by walking along riverside.

I highy reccomend this hotel to mature couples and solo travelers alike. It is definetely not a place for backpackers. It has a decent quality and high standards.

In our first stay there was some problems about breakfast staff but thanks to Mr.PRUM Vuthea who sorted out everything.

This hotel is a gem in Cambodia. It's worth every cent you pay.

Stay here and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have lovely Mekong River views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetekAtes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

After a brief reservation snag with another hotel, I was picked up in a nice, clean van and taken to River Palace Hotel. Conveniently located on National Road, it is only a couple dollars ride to the riverfront. I was at this hotel for five days and nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff from General Manager to bartender are eager and helpful. The room was large, bed comfortable and the bathroom massive with both shower and tub. The dining facility was mainly geared for large parties and had a wonderful Chinese menu. I took my meals in the lobby lounge where I tried local cuisine which was delicious and served with care. Adjacent to the lobby is a fantastic spa. I enjoyed free steams and a jacuzzi pool for relaxation. For a fair price, there are also a wide variety of massages to choose from. Bellboys were helpful and knowledgeable about locations of places and costs of items wanted. Room service was good, too. I will definitely take my family there next time.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the main road was nice. The back is a river and shanty town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Mekong Dragon Hotel
The Mekong Dragon Hotel
#77 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.3 mi away
High Sky Hotel
High Sky Hotel
#177 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirirom Crystal Hotel
Kirirom Crystal Hotel
#112 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rain Rock Hotel
Rain Rock Hotel
#158 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
3.0 mi away
Shaly Boutique Hotel
Shaly Boutique Hotel
#80 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mowin Boutique Hotel & Residence
Mowin Boutique Hotel & Residence
#88 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: National Road No. 5, Sangkat Sras Chork, Khan Daun Penh | Khan Duan Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly BEST WESTERN River Palace Hotel)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Palace Hotel is a four-star property with 59 spacious rooms and suites, offering contemporary comfort and modern amenities. The hotel features 25 city-view and 34 river-view rooms, all measuring 33 square meters and featuring flat-screen televisionss, complimentary Wi-Fi, walk-in showers and bathtubs. A sanctuary of calm in the heart of the lively Cambodian capital city, Phnom Penh, this hotel provides the ideal location for both business and leisure travelers seeking comfort, convenience and excellent value. And with facilities including the Riverview Restaurant, function rooms, fitness centre, lounge and a spa with the city's only traditional Hammam, guests have all their needs catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing