We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location”
Review of Diamond Palace II

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diamond Palace II
Ranked #201 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Close to important sights next to the palace. The staff first tried to give you for the first night an other room. This one would be small and smelly. Insist on the room you've booked. Beside this the staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. Breakfast is ok, coffee is good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shams00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 200 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Fantastic location, everythig is a short walk or Tuk-Tuk ride away, went walking to Wat Phnom, Tuk-Tuk to Central Market from the Hotel. Nice walk along the river, Good restaurants around, lots of Art shops too. Good Hotel with friendly staff, nice Breakfast, large room, excellent bed! AC , TV, sitting area, wonderful! Loved it and WILL go back! No lift though but staff carries luggage to the room. Fridge , kettle, tea available in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1aprilfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

this hotel just stone throw away from the riverside, next to royal palace n national museum. I personally think this was really Cambodia style hotel, i like it much and hope to return this hotel. The hotel staff were nice, especially the manager. He seem quiet but if u approach him, he's willing to talk more wth u.

I think the room was ok with all basic amenities, air-cond cool enough. My room 201 ( front balcony) with a nice view of city dwellers passing by at day time. Breakfast choice is limited but it's ok b'coz come with free. this hotel located in the heart of city but their restaurant not keep well. That's why i choose to eat outside. I hope they can renovate their restaurant, so i need not find other food outside the hotel.

Overall Diamond Palace 2 worth to stay, i will recommend this hotel to my friend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leeking1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

For the price (USD22), I think this place is great.
We were on the top floor on the front balcony (301) with a great view over the Royal Palace and one block up from the river.
It is a good sized room with a very comfortable bed and appropriate furniture, fridge, kettle and cups (supply your own coffee n tea).
The bathroom is average size and clean and functional. Yes, the towels are thin and are a contradiction to everything else.
The inclusive breakfast is great and you have a selection from a menu.
Daily house keeping completes the service.

The Diamond Palace II is a stylish and comfortable hotel well located to explore many places on foot and surrounded by great food from both up market restaurants and local eateries.
Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are many Tuk Tuk drivers queued outside vying for your business to take you on a tour. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomad_Lez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I booked this hotel for a couple of nights while in Phnom Penh due to it's reviews, price and location. It was a good price and only 1 1/2 blocks from the riverfront so the location was great. It is a basic hotel but certainly adequate for the money. And it was cheap enough that you could splurge a little more on other things. The riverfront is where all the bars and restaurants are at night and this is just far enough from them that you are not bothered by the noise. The also serve a good breakfast that is included in the price. I would book them again when I am in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2-4 floors in the front appeared like the were larger but you get the street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Bang for your buck you can't go past the Diamond Palace 11. Perfect position, walking distance to just about everything. The rooms are newly renovated, small but have everything you want. Hot shower in a nice clean bathroom, great air-con, wi fi, fridge, coffee and cable TV on a flat screen. All of this plus a great view from your room (front room), a free more than acceptable breakfast, friendly, efficient staff, for a whopping twenty bucks! Can't beat it. It's almost a five star rating but the room is small, no proper wardrobe, just a couple of very small negatives. One tip, unless you enjoy being treated like a piece of crap, don't ever g to the restaurant next door. This restaurant has nothing to do with the hotel.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilltribeimport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Verdict: I will stay here again for short stays (1-2 nights).

If you don't mind tiny room and sometimes noisy street, this hotel is conveniently located near food, shops, river and the palace.


Room Type: Superior Room
Room No.: 302
Paid: A$22.99 per night



PLUSES:
- Great location
- Generally clean room
- Nice view of the palace (the room I had faces the street and balcony on the 3rd floor)
- Not too expensive
- Helpful staff (helped me call Mekong Express bus to come pick me up from hotel; but from my mobile phone; apparently the hotel does not provide a phone for staff to use to assist guests)

MINUSES
- Tiny tiny room (think of bed and a tiny strip of walking space to the door and bathroom)
- No lift (I was on 3rd floor but I am ok with the stairs)
- Traffic noise from the street below (my room faces the street)
- The included breakfast is very basic (tiny bacon, sausage, powdered orange juice etc.)
- Breakfast will take a while to arrive (I waited 45 minutes during peak time 7-8am)
- Room clean-up was not the best (there was a dirty rag left on the floor when I checked-in)


TIPS FOR TRAVELLERS:
1. If noise is an issue for you, request for an inward-facing room (but no windows to outside of building though)
2. If you are in the rush to go somewhere in the morning, go down to order your breakfast early and be prepared to wait between 30-45 minutes if there are many guests

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LifesExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#118 of 281 in Phnom Penh
109 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lucky Star Hotel
Lucky Star Hotel
#225 of 281 in Phnom Penh
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Cyclo
Le Cyclo
#134 of 281 in Phnom Penh
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#61 of 281 in Phnom Penh
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#97 of 281 in Phnom Penh
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lance Court Hotel
Lance Court Hotel
#229 of 281 in Phnom Penh
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Palace II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Palace II

Address: # 29EO Street 178, Next to Royal Palace | National Museum, River Front, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $15 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Palace II 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fantastic sounds, smells and beauty of Cambodia come alive at the Diamond Palace II. Diamond Palace II is small boutique hotel with only 24 rooms, we are centrally located in tourist areas which is within minutes of Museums, Royal Palace, art galleries, Riverfront, bus & boat station, restaurants, night market, bar & pub, beauty salon, parks, travel agencies...etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Diamond Palace II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing