We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbish breakfast great location”
Review of Diamond Palace II

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamond Palace II
Ranked #194 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed March 5, 2013

In a great location and room kept clean although there was no option to NOT have cleaner in every day. The air con was broken and staff expected to be let in to fix it when I wanted to use it...ok during the day maybe but not at night when was ready for bed. I complained and they woke me up the next morning @.8am to say they'd fix it later that day. First time I've ever been woken up by hotel staff when I haven't requested it.
Breakfast is miserly and my order was wrong 2 out of the three days. I checked waiter understood but it still came out wrong. They are scrimping on service here because they think the location allows them to.
I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Diamond Palace II
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 198 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

We got a room on the first floor (104) and it was OK excpt that everyone in the hotel had to walk by us as there is no lift. It was relatively quiet the first three nights of our stay, but really bad with noisy druken partiers on the 4th. The "temple" being built across the road was actually a crematorium build to burn the kings body. We arrived in the middle of the "celebrations" to closed roads, police, TV cameras, visiting dignitaries and lots of chanting and so on. It made for very quiet local streets which we really enjoyed also a display of fireworks down on the river each night. Our room was one of the bigger ones with one of the bigger showers so all was OK not super clean but OK. Breakfast was eggs and fried rice, bad coffee and bad juice an no iced coffee because no ice because of the road closures lol

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and get a deluxe room but maybe take ear plugs!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justjans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Cozy hotel situated close to the river and next to many bars and restaurants. Our room had a view of the royal palace. Staff friendly and helpfull. Forget the Chemical orange juice at breakfast wich is included in the room price .

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute because of their location. That being said they are in an excellent location. Our bus from Shinoukville, Sorya Bus Company, dropped us off about 12 blocks away. We had a map and just walked to the hotel. It wasn't too bad, about 15 minutes. The hotel is right next to the Royal Palace and really close to the Riverside walk and many restaurants so it's in a very convenient location. However, we did book the standard room and we hoping we would get a decent room seeing the pictures that were online. When we got to the hotel, around 3PM, they said all their rooms were booked and the only rooms left were the one up front right by the lobby, Room 101. The room was very tiny, which we don't mind. The shower, AC, fridge all worked fine. However, the room wasn't clean. There were bugs in the corners of the room and little cobwebs but nothing too bad where we changed hotels or anything. We were only here for a night and it was okay for us. Also, the room was for less than $20 including breakfast so we settled in.

The hotel front desk staff helped us book a tuk tuk for us the next day to take us around Phnom Penh. He told us that the tuk tuk would take us around for a full day to several different places and wrote down on a piece of paper for me all the places and said it would be $17. We agreed to $17. When we met with the driver the next morning we found out that he wasn't going to take us to all (5 sights) the places for $17 and only 3 places. We decided it was okay and just went to 3 places.

If I were to stay in Phnom Penh again I would stay here for the location. DO NOT get the rooms in the lobby. Very loud and noisy in the morning because you can hear people talking and having breakfast in the lobby. I don't know how the rooms are in the back. They might be nicer but the rooms in the front by the lobby stay away from. Otherwise, location of the Hotel is EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: Do not get room in the lobby/front lobby room. Stay away from room 101, 102, 103. Very loud because...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sstellar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived and were told that our double deluxe room was not available as the previous occupant wanted to stay an extra night. We were given a superior room. The room is small. Very little space between the table and the bed and not enough space to get out of one side of the bed. Very badly laid out. We were moved the next day to a double deluxe, which was not very clean. The shower room was dirty, the lay out was bad. The shower was near the door with the toilet at the far end. If you had used the shower, wet room style, and then wanted the toilet you had to walk across the wet floor, although flip flops provided. Not too keen on using other people's footwear. Still no room at one side of the bed to get out. No sockets near the bed. No light switch near the bed, so you need to get out to put the light on. Tea making, but no milk or sugar. We were on the front, which is very noisy as they are building a very large Temple, hence very dirty and dusty. The Room has 2. Windows to the front and side, but you can't open the curtains as they are directly on the walk way that accesses other rooms. Hence the room always dark and needing electric light. Breakfast good choice, but if busy it's a nightmare. Also don't always get what you want as they don't understand. We asked for a refund on the price difference of the room type, but was told that because Agoda only booked one Occupant in a Double Room we should have paid more!!! Excellent location though.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the front/ main road. Also a room with no passing guests.v
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trunkybucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hour K, General Manager at Diamond Palace II, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Sir,

Warmest Greeting from Diamond Palace II, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

We are really appreciated and much thanks for your valued time to write good and unsuitable points related to our properties. We will try our best to check, upgrade and provide good services to our customers. Actually, you had booked with agoda.com for Single rates so we provide you with the single stay but otherwise, we could offer you to stay 2 persons include breakfast without extra charge because your room type booked not available on arrival date. On the next day, we had move you to the correct room type and free extra person to stay incl. breakfast.

Regarding to Agoda.com and our hotel rates, we set up two kinds of pricing are single and Double Bed rates. we are sorry for any misunderstanding with the pricing.

We do apologize for some inconvenience during your stay with us.
Wish to see you next trip and stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Hieng Siek Kim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Clean, friendly staff, hot water (my bathroom had shower in a good position!), AC that worked, TV, kettle, hairdryer, fridge, felt very safe. Excellent location for exploring from.

No lift but the staff help with your bags. Breakfast basic but edible! Many cafes nearby for a treat using the money you saved on the room price!

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking. 3rd floor was quiet
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0uiseAndNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed for 2 days in this small hotel right in the vicinity of the National Museum and the Royal Palace and very close to the Mekong River. We were given a room with 2 single beds. The room was right over the kitchen and you could smell food being cooked downstairs. The room was not very clean although the cleaning ladies were very nice and honest, contrary to one review I have read. My roommate left her mobile phone in the room while we were out and it was still there when we came back at the end of a day's tour. Breakfast was adequate although it was quite difficult explaining to the waiter exactly how we wanted our eggs done. The hotel manager was very accommodating and helpful, negotiating the rates for our tuktuk and helping us get accommodation in Siem Reap. If you are not very picky about the hotel, this is a good location as it is walking distance to the Royal Palace and National Museum. There are nice shops nearby selling artwork and there are a lot of eating places around, in case you don't want to eat at the hotel's Nice Cafe.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Bingcarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#176 of 270 in Phnom Penh
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#108 of 270 in Phnom Penh
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
#102 of 270 in Phnom Penh
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Khmeroyal Hotel
Khmeroyal Hotel
#151 of 270 in Phnom Penh
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#76 of 270 in Phnom Penh
199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Diamond Palace Hotel
Diamond Palace Hotel
#130 of 270 in Phnom Penh
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Palace II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Palace II

Address: # 29EO Street 178, Next to Royal Palace | National Museum, River Front, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $10 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Palace II 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fantastic sounds, smells and beauty of Cambodia come alive at the Diamond Palace II. Diamond Palace II is small boutique hotel with only 24 rooms, we are centrally located in tourist areas which is within minutes of Museums, Royal Palace, art galleries, Riverfront, bus & boat station, restaurants, night market, bar & pub, beauty salon, parks, travel agencies...etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Diamond Palace II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing