We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Killing Fields and S21 Tour
Save
  
Ways to Experience Killing Fields and S21 Tour
from $15.00
More Info
from $46.40
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveler rating
619
199
39
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
619
199
39
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews killing fields audio tour khmer rouge pol pot mass graves tuk tuk head phones emotional experience eye opener eye opening chum mey sad place human bones history lesson own pace heart wrenching visit cambodia
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 862 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We visited those sites when in Phnom Penh. They are obviously very sad places to visit but they clearly explain what happened there. I recommend the audio guide as it gives a lot of explanation and help understand. Plan for something fun to do after this experience as it can be very difficult afterwards

Thank picsou372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you are visiting Cambodia these sites should not be overlooked. They are heart wrenching and emotional but it's important as it's the countries history.

The audio guide is a must as you will learn and experience the dreadful atrocity that happened in 1979.

Grab a tuk tuk and it will wait for you to take you to your next destination at a very reasonable price.

Feel honoured to have experienced these places and although difficult I felt privileged to have had the opportunity.

Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing you can be happy to see. The same feeling as in S-21 or visit in Auswitz. difficult to imagine that you are just standing on the place where people have been killed for only 40 years ago allthought they did nothing wrong. You are looking around and the sun is shining, birds twitter for sure as for 40 years ago. Terrible! Close your eyes and just listen - it is impressive.

Thank Jaroslaw M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A must see for all travellers, you can not visit this place without being affected, the barbaric things that went on here are hard to believe.

Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

These visits are a must to try to understand what the Cambodian people have gone through in the relatively recent past. Graphic and horrific there are no punches pulled as regards what happened. Grotesque but thought inducing, I wouldn’t have missed these tours.

Thank RonnieAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Although this place is slightly far from the city, it took us around 45 mins one way. And if you can’t stand with the dusty, I suggest that you guys don’t take tuk tuk. The place really worth to visit and know more about the history. Recommended to take the audio tour.

Thank Weishyuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Both the Killing Fields and S21 provide a sobering and potentially traumatic insight into some of Cambodia's recent history.

Both are best appreciated within the context of a broader understanding of Cambodian history.

Whilst often visited by tourists it is also a place for deep respect and reflection on human behaviour.

Thank granite2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You must make time for this tour while you are in Phnom Penh. It is very sobering to see the extent of the atrocities that man will commit against man. You will be moved.

Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

I thought my tuk tuk driver was basically pushing me toward tourist things. He promised machine gun shooting! Anyway after a quick and delicious lunch next door I embarked on an amazing tour. Granted I was well versed in the history of Cambodia, but this tour personalized it. The best part is you can go at your own pace. Awesome!!

Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

a very moving place both the prison and the killing fields you can meet a couple of survivors from the prison they have all written there accounts of there stay and the killing fields first part of the tour the killing tree where they smashed babies heads against the tree the skulls of some of the victims very very sad I took my 14 year old daughter with me it moved both of us the blood stains on the tiles just brings it all home

Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews