We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty with no windows. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mekong Imperial Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #130 of 327 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Dirty with no windows. ”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We checked into this hotel and checked out 10 minutes later. Only thing it has going for it is it's location on the main strip. Room was not as advertised. Room wasn't clean and had no windows. We were the only people staying in the hotel. We moved to another hotel a couple of doors up that was a lot better.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank milkjunkie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyndoch, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

we picked this property for our second visit to pp as it promised so much. Yes it is very well located right on the quay amongst the best restarants and only a 5 minute walk to the Royal Palace. There that got all the positives out of the way!
The welcome was anything but warm. The temporary fold up table acting as reception was covered in junk. The Business Centre shown in photos was no existent - just piles of junk and a motor bike. The couch for us to sit on while awaiting paperwork was collapsed. The staff spoke very little English.
Upstairs (that were grime covered) to our balcony room to be greeted by a dirty room with shoe marks on the walls, stained sheets and a grubby wall behind bed as there is no headboard. We asked to be moved to a clean room but there was no other room made up .
While there was coffee there was no sugar nor whitener and none was available.
Our second and third nights were spent in a better room but still not up to the standard of a $40 room in Cambodia.
This property is obviously either changed hands or just trading on the results of prevoius reviews.
We have travelled across Cambodia before and suggest that there are better places at far better rates in just as good locations than the Mekong Imperial Boutique Guesthouse

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimBarossaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This place is located in the heart of Phnom Penh.

However, cobwebs, broken taps and just an awkward vibe mean I would never return. Service was great, staff very friendly but that's about it.

Aircon works a treat and wifi too!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodandvinyasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable, what could you ask for, for an affordable price. Its centrally located to attraction, with the Royal Palacce within walking distance, just a 5 minutes walk from the right entrance. On the left, along the stretch of road,(facing River front) there are plenty of food local khmer and western, japanese, vietnamese. Spa and massages, a good 10 minute walk to the night market and night entertaintment. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The hotel could reccomend activities and arrange tuk tuk for you. I enjoy my stay very much. I will go back there again.

Room Tip: To have a good view of the Mekong River, choose the balcony ones, with a little more money.. but its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaseyPearlKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington,England
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Entrance more like a travel agency than a hotel/guesthouse. Staff friendly and okay for booking onward travel. Right in the thick of the action for restaurants and bars and close to some tourist sites. Room slightly old fashioned and dowdy but everything worked and was reasonably clean. Room with balcony overlooking the river can be a little bit noisy in the morning.

Room Tip: If you have the river view balcony then you also get the early morning traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwl321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Located in the centre, walking distance from main tourists attractions. There are a few good restaurants and cheap bars in the same building, open till late, but not noisy. My room had a large balcony and Mekong river view. Bed was comfortable, there was safety locker and the bathroom was clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful, they also run a travel agency and can help you book any tickets or excursions you may need.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Mekong river view. Do it before you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gringo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice location. its near the river and tourist area and the palaces in phnom penh. The staff is friendly. The guy even offered us to do a favor in buying stuff.

Rooms are clean but has a dark ambiance. Airconditioning unit blows not too cool air which was most needed during out dry season visit where it reaches 37C outside. The back of the hotel is also a residential area where you can hear people talking even from our room.

We booked our bus ride the next day through them. They also provide maps to tourists.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanV--pepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#208 of 269 in Phnom Penh
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khmeroyal Hotel
Khmeroyal Hotel
#149 of 269 in Phnom Penh
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cozyna Hotel
Cozyna Hotel
#127 of 269 in Phnom Penh
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#110 of 269 in Phnom Penh
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
FCC Phnom Penh
FCC Phnom Penh
#87 of 269 in Phnom Penh
367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaya Inn
Jaya Inn
#92 of 327 in Phnom Penh
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Imperial Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Imperial Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Mekong Imperial Boutique Guesthouse
Address: 339, Sisowath Quay- River Front Area & Royal Palace- Silver Pagoda, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Hotel Class:2 star — Mekong Imperial Boutique Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Mekong Imperial Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing