We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sheer disappointment!”

Phnom Penh's Night Market
Ranked #27 of 117 things to do in Phnom Penh
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Sheer disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

As the Rissian market was so far away and time was short we opted to shop at the night market. When we got there it wasn't what I expected at all! There was nothing but clothes and only 2 aisles. The clothes weren't even any good. There were no fakes just utter tosh. I thought it would be teeming with magnets, postcards, lacquerware, jewellery, etc but there was nothing like that at all. It reminded me of the crappy clothes you find in the cheap shops in the part of town that littered with charity shops and chicken shops! I couldn't have been more disappointed. If you have the time get a remork to take you to the Russian market and skip this waste of time!

Helpful?
Thank Scattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    158
    188
    57
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Penang
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you happen to pass by...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you happen to pass by its worth a look but its not something that you should go out of your way to see. They sell the same things, T-shirts and trinkets that you will see at The Russian Market and at Central Market.
What is good is some of the small stalls serving Kymer food. Again its good if you are there but don't go there looking for an amazing meal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Most Things Within A Stroll”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

If ever you find the Central Market such a huge place, then you should go visit the Night Market instead. Not all the goods there would be here though but you surely can get all the little souvenirs that you need to bring home.

My personal favourites are the creatively quaint nail-clippers. At a glance they may look like key holders but they're not. I also bought a cheap crystal encrusted watch bracelet for just USD5. You can find jeans, larger t-shirts, fabric handbags and all sorts of other crafts here.

At the end of the market, there was an eating section for the locals where they all sat on combined mats and mingled with each other. You can join them if you want.

All in all, it was a pleasant walk in the evening to remember and you can support the Cambodian home industries by buying some things there as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank WongPhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Only at the weekends!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

It is one of the cheapest places in Phnom Penh for market food. The market itself really is just a place to sell food and clothes and not much else. There is some live entertainment every now and again, usually singing but I went there for the food stalls. Simply pick up whatever you want, out it in a basket and they cook it for you. It's is all priced on what you put into your basket. You then sit down on a big mat and they bring it over and clear the rubbish away. Cheapest eats!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Spicer06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Clothes and food...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

If you like clothes and food then this is the place for you! We spent all of 10 minutes there as it was all the same at every stall. There was a live music performance, but I'm or sure if it's a regular thing or not? We probably shouldn't have rushed dinner for this…

Helpful?
Thank McChickenNugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phnom Penh's Night Market also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Phnom Penh's Night Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing