We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aircon!”

Sorya Shopping Centre
Ranked #54 of 117 things to do in Phnom Penh
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Aircon!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Big western style mall where you can go to cool down after shopping at the markets close by - I didn't buy much here but the food court on upper levels is a nice place to eat Cambodian food in aircon

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    36
    55
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

I know there re many reviews that Sorya is boring and not worth the one to visit, but I have to disagree!
There is all sorts of items fir sale, without the hustle and bustle of the markets. Not to mention it Leo has airconditioning.
The only thing you can't buy here are Khmer handicrafts.
If this is what you are looking for, then you are best to stick to the Russian r Central Markets

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lubulontam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Boring place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

A small shopping mall with all sort of little things. They have a food court and Pizza outlet upstair. Central market is within walking distance.

Helpful?
Thank Daveliang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average mall, but great for DVDs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Our tour guide recommended this mall to us as the central market has hardly any DVDs for sale. There's a great seller on level 4 (I think - up the escalator then right when you get off and her shop is in front of you on a corner). She speaks English, has many many catalogues and has Asian and Western DVDs and lots of CDs. We paid $1 a disc. Most are perfect quality, some are good but we've had no problems with any of the DVDs we bought. The mall is worth a visit if you want DVDs or cheap teenage fashion, there's also a supermarket.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank skylark24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Sorya Shopping Center Stinks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Sorya Shopping Center is a glitzy, western design influenced mall about a block away from the Central Market on 63rd Street. It is five stories tall and caters to those patrons that desire western fast food cuisine and knock off western name brand clothing. On the top floor (the 5th ) is a cinema complex that seems to favor showing mundane 3-D movies and a roller shaking rink for teens, (the locals refer to it as skiing).
For me I shy away from western junk food, shades of Morgan Spurlock’s 2004 anti-fast food documentary “Super Size Me” and I’m not a fan of third rate 3-D extravaganzas. Too old for “skiing” and not interested in brand name knock off duds. And I’m certainly not impressed by the pseudo grandiose architecture and the acculturation it stands for. I live in a foreign country because I savor its foreignness. Sorya Mall is westernized through and through, ergo why I used the word “stinks” in the title. The local youth go ga-ga over the place. It’s a status symbol hanging out there. In that context Sorya Mall signals the westernization of Cambodian culture.
Bye-bye fish amok, hello Whopper.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DiceyEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorya Shopping Centre also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Sorya Shopping Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing