We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Hotel”
Review of La Maison d'Ambre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison d'Ambre
Ranked #39 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you want somewhere a little different but with great style them this is for you. The decor has been designed by the owners wife and every room is different. The location isn't the best for venturing out at night but is in a good position for sight seeing. Everything was clean and well maintained and the rooftop bar and restaurant are a real treat. The menu isn't extensive but everything we had was excellent. We chose this from previous reviews on Tripdvisor and weren't disappointed, in fact I don't think we'd have found it otherwise so thanks to previous reviewers!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 290 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is an authentic boutique hotel! I stayed at the Shanghai Gesture and fell in love with the room design and interior! Love especially the bathroom with all the amenities and little details. The hotel staff are all very attentive and goes intro extra miles to provide you with information and things that you need. All the power plugs are designed to international sockets, so I can easily work with my laptop. There's a petit balcony that is perfect corner for me to enjoy my afternoon tea. There's also the roof top bar & restaurant where I enjoy my breakfast with fresh air and view of Phnom Penh city. I'm a fitness freak so if this is available at hotel, definitely will stay again for my next visit :)

Room Tip: Shanghai Gesture is equipped with separate bath tub and shower. The granite tub is super to soak at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Occupying a corner plot the hotel has 10 rooms across 4 floors.
Our room was entitled "in the mood for love"....I'll leave you to make your own jokes at this point. Comprising two large rooms; the first was a sitting area with kitchenette, the second was a double bedroom with ensuite.
Nicely decorated and well-appointed (LCD TV with plenty of channels, a/c in both rooms, gowns, slippers, bottled water, safe, fruit, loads of 3-pin power points, etc). Bed was comfy and I had a great night's sleep although the pillows were like giant marshmallows...perhaps a bit too big.
Bar / restaurant on 5th floor, amazingly laid out...really funky!
As one would expect, great staff, pleasant, polite, attentive.

On the down side the lighting in the ensuite area was poor making it difficult to use the mirrors effectively. Also the sink leaked, and the cupboard beneath it contained a hairdryer, which was directly under the link - I hope they fix this before the next guests arrive as potentially very dangerous.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank StokiePokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcopHongkong, Owner at La Maison d'Ambre, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at La Maison d'Ambre.
We truly appreciated your comment about the leaking problem and we apologize about that inconvenience.
The issue has been dealt with.

We hope to see you again at La Maison d'Ambre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our friends picked this hotel , on the back of TA ,so we didnt know what to expect , but i can assure you that its was just fantastic the rooms are uber trendy , clean and well appointed. Bed linen and towels are of the highest quality. The staff are most helpful and were only too happy to help and the rates that were charged were very reasonable. $10-12 for airport transfer and $30 for a 4 hour trip to S21 and the Killing fields. The driver was safe and the 4x4 car was clean and modern. The roof top bar serves just as well as a breakfast venue as it does as a cocktail bar. Great fun worth a stay and ladies check out the dress shop !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was the old Cathay hotel, obviously stripped down to concrete and completely redone, and in decor about as far from that old wreck as possible. Now it is an uber chic boutique hotel with themed rooms and elusive light switches. Fun, as long as you're in the mood for it. Staff are very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel seems more influenced by Paris fashions than Khmer tradition but it's certainly a quiet respite in a hectic and disheveled capital in the developing world. The hotel has ten distinctive rooms each with individual names, not numbers. Even the smallest is quite large with a living room and bar area. I was relieved to find ample electrical outlets in the room and the internet connection via wi-fi worked most of the time.

I'm not a huge fan of open (and modern architecture) bathrooms and it took me a while to figure out how to work the sink drain in the bathroom area. There were some strange odors wafting amid the loo piping but imagine that is an issue anywhere in downtown Phnom Penh. Perhaps some incense in the bathroom area could be added.

The rooftop restaurant is also enjoyable for breakfast and tea depending on which way the winds are blowing and how sensitive one is to the malodorous (not the hotel's fault). The $10 American breakfast is expensive by local standards but quite reasonable for luxury hotels in Asia. The American breakfast comes with bacon even though it wasn't listed on the menu (vegetarians and others forewarned).

Since this is a relatively new and small property do not expect airport cabbies or tuk tuk drivers to know it by name. If coming from the airport be sure you have some way to dial the hotel en route. My cabbie shook his head at the map I had printed out in advance. It might be prudent, especially if arriving at night or if concerned about traveling solo, to arrange with the hotel in advance to have a taxi reserved.

Room Tip: Even the 1-bedrooms are more than ample as far as needed space for a solo traveler or a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7J1AIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a beautiful, quiet hotel this is, I could not recommend it high enough. The room we had was enormous, with a wonderful balcony. The staff went out of their way to look after us, especially when ...the staff fixed up the problem immediately, and we were very imprethe room we had booked through Agoda, was not what was advertised. Our welcoming staff fixed the problem immediately, and I was very impressed. Breakfast is declicious, and I recommend you try the scrambled eggs...mmmmm....I had been to Phnom Penn six months previously and stayed at a different more expensive hotel which I was not impressed with, so deciding on Le Maison was definately the right choice this time. Thank you to all at Le Maison for making our stay so great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueKat7751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#18 of 278 in Phnom Penh
640 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.3 mi away
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
#19 of 278 in Phnom Penh
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 278 in Phnom Penh
676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#17 of 278 in Phnom Penh
2,070 reviews
1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 278 in Phnom Penh
2,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Ambre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Ambre

Address: 123, street 110, Preah Ang Duong | corner Street 19, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $83 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison d'Ambre 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA MAISON D’AMBRE offers 10 elegantly-furnished, stylish and fully-equipped one-bedroom, one-bedroom plus and two-bedroom apartments, four of which have balconies. Each room, from 60m2 to 120 m2, offers a high level of service for hotel and long stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Maison d'Ambre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing