We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis in a sea of chaos that is Phnom Penh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison d'Ambre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
La Maison d'Ambre
Ranked #29 of 273 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Oasis in a sea of chaos that is Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our friends picked this hotel , on the back of TA ,so we didnt know what to expect , but i can assure you that its was just fantastic the rooms are uber trendy , clean and well appointed. Bed linen and towels are of the highest quality. The staff are most helpful and were only too happy to help and the rates that were charged were very reasonable. $10-12 for airport transfer and $30 for a 4 hour trip to S21 and the Killing fields. The driver was safe and the 4x4 car was clean and modern. The roof top bar serves just as well as a breakfast venue as it does as a cocktail bar. Great fun worth a stay and ladies check out the dress shop !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    59
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
55
99
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was the old Cathay hotel, obviously stripped down to concrete and completely redone, and in decor about as far from that old wreck as possible. Now it is an uber chic boutique hotel with themed rooms and elusive light switches. Fun, as long as you're in the mood for it. Staff are very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
279 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel seems more influenced by Paris fashions than Khmer tradition but it's certainly a quiet respite in a hectic and disheveled capital in the developing world. The hotel has ten distinctive rooms each with individual names, not numbers. Even the smallest is quite large with a living room and bar area. I was relieved to find ample electrical outlets in the room and the internet connection via wi-fi worked most of the time.

I'm not a huge fan of open (and modern architecture) bathrooms and it took me a while to figure out how to work the sink drain in the bathroom area. There were some strange odors wafting amid the loo piping but imagine that is an issue anywhere in downtown Phnom Penh. Perhaps some incense in the bathroom area could be added.

The rooftop restaurant is also enjoyable for breakfast and tea depending on which way the winds are blowing and how sensitive one is to the malodorous (not the hotel's fault). The $10 American breakfast is expensive by local standards but quite reasonable for luxury hotels in Asia. The American breakfast comes with bacon even though it wasn't listed on the menu (vegetarians and others forewarned).

Since this is a relatively new and small property do not expect airport cabbies or tuk tuk drivers to know it by name. If coming from the airport be sure you have some way to dial the hotel en route. My cabbie shook his head at the map I had printed out in advance. It might be prudent, especially if arriving at night or if concerned about traveling solo, to arrange with the hotel in advance to have a taxi reserved.

Room Tip: Even the 1-bedrooms are more than ample as far as needed space for a solo traveler or a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7J1AIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a beautiful, quiet hotel this is, I could not recommend it high enough. The room we had was enormous, with a wonderful balcony. The staff went out of their way to look after us, especially when ...the staff fixed up the problem immediately, and we were very imprethe room we had booked through Agoda, was not what was advertised. Our welcoming staff fixed the problem immediately, and I was very impressed. Breakfast is declicious, and I recommend you try the scrambled eggs...mmmmm....I had been to Phnom Penn six months previously and stayed at a different more expensive hotel which I was not impressed with, so deciding on Le Maison was definately the right choice this time. Thank you to all at Le Maison for making our stay so great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueKat7751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent a few nights in this hotel, and it was a superb stay overall. The rooms were nice and quiet, comfortable enough for us to have great sleep. The hotel has a restaurant, which is definitely worth trying a meal out of. Overall, I would call this hotel a good play to spend a few days!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this wonderful hotel and it was a great stay with good service and friendly staff. The soundproof rooms made it comfortable to sleep at night after a hectic day. The touch of modernity in the theme based rooms was a unique concept and a great experience. We didn’t have to go out for lunch or dinner as the terrace restaurant offered a good cuisine. I liked the wonderful view of the entire city from the terrace. A nice place to relax!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeffyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in the La Maison d'Ambre about a fortnight ago in a group of eight. We booked two rooms and were delighted to see them so neatly maintained and beautifully furnished. All of us had a nice breakfast at the rooftop restaurant which was a nice experience and the professional service of the staff was indeed commendable. Each of the rooms we booked had a diverse theme with different names, which was simply a unique experience to cherish. Had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgerMarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Mansions
Central Mansions
#62 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
0.7 mi away
VMansion Boutique Hotel
VMansion Boutique Hotel
#9 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Ambre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Ambre

Property: La Maison d'Ambre
Address: 123, street 110, Preah Ang Duong | corner Street 19, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 273 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison d'Ambre 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA MAISON D’AMBRE offers 10 elegantly-furnished, stylish and fully-equipped one-bedroom, one-bedroom plus and two-bedroom apartments, four of which have balconies. Each room, from 60m2 to 120 m2, offers a high level of service for hotel and long stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your La Maison d'Ambre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing