We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible... the place to stay in Phnom Penh”
Review of La Maison d'Ambre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison d'Ambre
Ranked #37 of 275 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

we spent 2 weekends in phnom Penh during our trip in cambodia.
both times we stayed in La Maison.
we first stayed in casablanca and then discovered India for our second stay. we thought the first was amazing with all the middle eastern touches, but moonsoon wedding was incredible.
from the furniture from Rajasthan to the pictures on the wall, so tastefully decorated..

the whole spirit of the place is packed with design and great details.
the staff was very helpfull.
after your day touring the town, have a cocktail on the loungy terrace and enjoy the sunset on the town. the hotel is ideally located to discover all the sites,
a great romantic getaway in the buzzing center of the town

Room Tip: moosoon wedding is incredible go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_comme_iker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 287 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

The "room" is actually a 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms appartement with living room and kitchen. Every room has its own theme (africa, india, NY, Paris, etc..) with tasty deco. Food is great by european standards with restaurant on the top floor terrace. Must Stay!!

Room Tip: loved the African one, but Indian looks great too..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokyo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The accommodation is very cosy and ecstatically pleasing. The staff speak reasonably good English. The location of the hotel is probably not in the choicest locality but it is within walking distance to many attractions and food outlets.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The deco of the room is modern and stylish, adhering to standards of cities far more developed than Cambodia. The room is spacious and I really like the sofa area in the living room. Staff performance was excellent as everyone I have met were really warm and attentive to every small request we have made. I felt at home and loved to return to this tranquille oasis after spending the day touring the city and surrounding.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JennyFl0wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

5 of us stay in 4 floor with 2 bathroom apartment, the hotel is in the heart of phnom penh city and with walking distance to centra market and shopping center, food and pub also very near maybe 2min walk,
this is an art and very modern style hotel, friendly staff and 2 time room clearing in a day.
you won't feel regret when paying the hotel fee,worth it to stay there.

Sure will be back in this hotel if travel to Phnom penh again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monday321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place is AMAZING! In part because of the affordable prices of Cambodia itself, and in larger part because of the exquisite tastes of the charming and artistic design couple that owns it, every room is incredible - they are large, tastefully designed apartments. The restaurant and lounge on the roof are fantastic. My favorite hotel of this travel year!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyaincan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is small and very well appointed, with each room being a bit different. Was in the Manhattan room which was a bit stark and could have been more comfortable. However, there was plenty of room, a kitchenette and good service. Power cut out a few times which was annoying.

The bed was okay but a bit soft for me and the bathroom in the Manhattan room was not very big - I saw the New York room which had a much better bathroom and bigger living area.

There is a restaurant on the top floor which was very good but expensive for PP standards.

The only downside was the location. Whilst not out f the way, it is in a crowded, dirty nd unattractive commercial area with old shophouses.

Would stay again for sure but would ask for the NY room instead.

Room Tip: Pick the ones with a bath as they will have a much nicer bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaudiusSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 275 in Phnom Penh
600 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.0 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 275 in Phnom Penh
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#27 of 275 in Phnom Penh
633 reviews
1.1 mi away
the 252
the 252
#12 of 275 in Phnom Penh
1,268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
#19 of 275 in Phnom Penh
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Ambre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Ambre

Address: 123, street 110, Preah Ang Duong | corner Street 19, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 275 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $82 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison d'Ambre 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA MAISON D’AMBRE offers 10 elegantly-furnished, stylish and fully-equipped one-bedroom, one-bedroom plus and two-bedroom apartments, four of which have balconies. Each room, from 60m2 to 120 m2, offers a high level of service for hotel and long stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Maison d'Ambre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing