We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel”
Review of La Maison d'Ambre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Maison d'Ambre
Ranked #31 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a two-bedroomed suite which was very spacious and clean. The kids wanted to stay longer. With its own veranda it was fascinating to sit and watch all the activity below. One morning I even watched a troop of monkeys making their way into town on the telegraph lines strung down the streets! The rooftop bar and restaurant was very nice with great views.
The hotel is in a central area , within a few minutes walk from the riverside.

Room Tip: Two bed-roomed suites are like a self catering apartment with kitchen and large living/dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teuchterontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    61
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
56
101
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night in a two-bedroom suite. Spectacular design and furnishings. I wish I could've stayed here longer.

Location is very good - walkable to the river side area bars and restaurants.

The hotel's restaurant and bar are also quite amazing. Great drinks and food. Killer views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

La Maison d'Ambre is a place to relax in the middle of Phnom Penh. The rooms are huge with all the comfort you wish for. When you walk out on the street you are in the hustle of allday life, and in walking distance of the riverside and Wat Phnom.
We stayed three nights in the " midnight in Paris" room, and enjoyed every minute of it.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull, from the manager, to the women who clean the rooms, and everyone else!
The hotel is decorated in a tastefull manner, and every room/suite has its own theme. There is the rooftop bar where you can enjoy a drink and snacks and watch the sun go down, and you can eat dinner while enjoying and overlooking Phnom Penh.
There are many bars and restaurants in the streets around, and the local market, just a bloc away!
D&M

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiangmai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a fantastic 8 day stay and then a second multi day stay in La Maison d'Ambre in 2012. The rooms were perfect. The staff great! The food was fantastic and reasonably priced. Each room being different is magical. Great Breakfast. I am in the travekl business and was looking for a hotel for my goruops and my groups will be staying here for sure.

Room Tip: Casablanca and Midnight in Paris were my favorite rooms. Mogambo and Rose de Bokor for the 2 bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcopHongkong, Manager at La Maison d'Ambre, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to read your review.
I and all the staff from La Maison d Ambre would like to thank you for your kindness during your stay.

We all look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards


The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
musicben
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I had a great experience at this small hotel and have no hesitation in recommending it. The staff performed many extra services for me such as arranging tours, booking a boat ride on the Mekon and providing recommendations that I felt very welcome and as though nothing were too much trouble.
My 'room' was really a two room suite. Very well designed and comfortable. I would call it a modern arty design with an asian twist.
It is a very calm place to retreat to from the Town and waterfront which can be exactly what is needed after fighting off offers of tuk tuks etc

Room Tip: I believe every room is unique so, space available, I guess you could compare rooms before finally s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The overall hotel was great!!! The location is quite far from the center and must get a tuk tuk most of the time. What's the best part is that it's walking distance from the bus station. So yes! If you're riding the bus from Siem Reap! The hotel lobby wowed us! The moment I entered the hotel, I know something's more are in for me! And yes! The room didn't fail us. It's the most relaxing posh luxurious room hotel I've ever seen and stayed at in my whole traveling journey. It's as if you don't want to leave your room. The hotel bar located at the rooftop is fab , too bad that there's not much to see in terms of view as you will see rustic old and dirty houses and buildings nearby. How I wish this hotel was built in a much scenic location. Phnom Penh is love. With the great food, people and places. There's so much thing to do. What just frustrates us is the lack of English literacy amongst the people. This is not a problem in Siem reap as everyone including children knows basic English and understands well.

The hotel staff are quite not good enough. They don't reply to emails on time. They don't speak we'll . Sometimes you don't even know if they understood a thing you just said to them. For a hotel and price like this, it won't hurt to get more competent receptionist for your hotel. I don't mean anything bad but it would help to have someone who can guide your team properly to communicate well and provide the need of your customers .

Before I forget, the taxi driver they have us for our one day your was so rude! He snapped at us when we decided to the mall coz there were no parking spaces available. It wasn't our problem anymore as I clearly asked the hotel reception the limitations of his services and we were informed that we can be driven anywhere in Phnom Penh city center from 9 to 6pm plus he genocidal center. He did even asked for more money to us and accepted the cash even if we were supposed to pay the hotel instead. He would say "I don't know" on certain occasions when we ask simple questions with his rude tone! And last he cut our trip short until 5pm as its already traffic and he has to go somewhere else! Whoever you are! You don't deserve to be in the industry! You're such a disgrace so pls make sure he will be reprimanded properly. Be aware tourists !

I am writing this as I don't even know if the hotel made the proper action re this issue. They apologized to us but we were not satisfied and as they haven't given us any explanation at All.

I would still recommend this hotel. Make sure to choose the room you want upon reservation. Depending on what you like, but for us it was the Monsoon Wedding!

Owner. Pls tell you staff to reply promptly. And sometimes they done even reply to emails at all.

Thank you! And hope this helps!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dTraveLeeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcopHongkong, Manager at La Maison d'Ambre, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you for your kind review and detailed comments on the hotel. We always look carefully at our client remarks, making sure that we are on right tracks.

You mentioned some troubles with Taxis. On our side we are trying to select few numbers of drivers that we do know or we had some good feedback from clients.
In the meantime Taxi business in Cambodia is quite new and sometime difficult to get a constant quality service.
Your comment has been well received (message has been send as well to the staff) and we will, following your review making sure to be more selective on the drivers.

La Maison d Ambre is looking forward welcoming you again.


The owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We absolutely adored this hotel!
It was more like a serviced apartment than a hotel, cos we got a little kitchenette with all utensils included, and a huge lounge area, with a separate bedroom area. Everything was nicely decorated and well thought out. The room was clean and tidy.

I did find it hard to find a rubbish bin... but worked it out in the end (they hid these square little bins out of the way, and they didn't look like bins!)

When we arrived we received a nice welcoming fruit cocktail (non-alcoholic) which went down a treat. It was delicious!

The staff were helpful and friendly. We never ever had to open the front door as there was always someone who was always present to get the door for us. A lovely old fashioned touch that I like very much.

The rooftop restaurant and bar is a must visit. Well, to be honest, not sure what the restaurant is like cos we didn't try it out, but definitely the bar is a great place to hang out. Nice view, very quiet and lovely staff. You might even meet interesting people while you're up there like we did (it was a pleasure to meet the wonderful 'Jimmy'!). Yup, definitely hang out at the rooftop bar. It's a winner.

Further to the exceptional service we received, we meant to check out at their standard 12pm time, however, when we did, they kindly told us that since we were not leaving until 2pm, we could stay in our room until 2pm so that we can explore the city some more, and if we want to, just chill out and have a shower before heading to the airport. So, we ended up with a late checkout without even having to ask for one! Just too thoughtful.

My only gripe with this place was the tiny tiny bathroom! With such a huge space to play with, why was the bathroom so so soooooooooooooo small?!?!?!?!?!?!

Oh, and also there was some misunderstanding about the cost of getting a taxi to the airport... I confirmed and re-confirmed again with the staff member that the cost of the taxi will be $US5 to the airport, a surprise even to me at how cheap it was, but you know....locals know best.

Anyway, when we got to the airport, the taxi driver asked for $US12... we were pretty low on cash by that stage (being end of trip and all) but luckily was able to scrounge around for the extra $7 needed... and the taxi driver gave the hotel a call to clarify, in which the manager apologized, but what good is that? I'm already at the airport. So we have to pay... what would have happened if we didn't have the money? It's not so much the money (cos it's next to nothing) but the principle of the matter. We were advised it would cost $5..... that was not a good last impression to have.

But overall, wonderful hotel. It is a little bit far from everything... about a 10min walk to the attractions. And when you're in Phnom Penh, it's 10 mins walking next to crazy traffic and cars and tuktuks and motorbikes going down the wrong way of the road regularly. But, minor gripes... it's a great little place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Hanabi' the Japanese themed room and it was just fine and dandy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Central Mansions
Central Mansions
#66 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
1.1 mi away
the 252
the 252
#10 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#15 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Ambre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Ambre

Property: La Maison d'Ambre
Address: 123, street 110, Preah Ang Duong | corner Street 19, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison d'Ambre 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA MAISON D’AMBRE offers 10 elegantly-furnished, stylish and fully-equipped one-bedroom, one-bedroom plus and two-bedroom apartments, four of which have balconies. Each room, from 60m2 to 120 m2, offers a high level of service for hotel and long stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Maison d'Ambre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing