We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for an extended weekend-trip”
Review of La Maison d'Ambre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Maison d'Ambre
Ranked #31 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice for an extended weekend-trip”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I truly recommend this small boutique hotel for all stays in Phnom Penh. They arranged restaurant reservations and spa-treatments on request and their central location is a definite plus. The size and quality of the rooms is excellent, even though it's on the higher end of local pricelevel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    61
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
56
101
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

After reading all the positive feedbacks on this hotel, I thought I will give it a go.
Waste of money, is how I felt afterwards. For that price you can get a lot lot better in PP.

Rooms feel like they are not completely finished yet, remote controls from A/C where quite hidden. Bathroom amenities are definitely below standard paying such prices.

the suites have a nice touch to them, but it is all in the eye of the beholder, lot of the furniture is cheap imitation and weighs nothing.

Rooms were clean, on average not well lit, a phone only in the livingroom which barely makes a noise. Bathrooms under equipped and under lit as well.

Bedrooms a bit to bare, was it the designers intention, I most certainly will never find out as it was a one and off only.

Staff is there and friendly but clearly no solution solvers. Ordered a taxi to go to the airport and came down stairs and got informed no taxi's but we can arrange a private driver which took another 15 minutes. All in all bad communications between the staff and no assertive Manager insight.

Upon check in asked if they had 24 hour room service and they acknowledge it, however trying to order something at 10pm, we got informed that all is closed.

All in all not worth the money you have to pay for this place. For those prices they need to notch it all up a few paces.

Have written a review on a hotel in PP where I stayed the days before staying at this one, and it was day and night difference.


Good luck

Room Tip: They are all the themed suites, suggest one not in the front of hotel as there is a lot of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepsapphyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcopHongkong, Owner at La Maison d'Ambre, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

I felt a bit sad to read your review as it came at the same time as our award for best small hotel of Phnom Penh in 2013.

We will take into account your remark and complain, even though I overall found them unjustified :
- Furniture are coming from chinese antique shop, designer in Vietnam (providing most famous department stores in Paris, NY and Tokyo) and local craftmen in Cambodia.
- Amenities are furnished by one of the best spa in Cambodia (Bodia).
- Room service is running until midnight and is not advertised to run 24H.
- Taxis are sometime difficult to book in Cambodia, especially if you did not request it in advance. I know few hotels that would have found a private car to bring you to the airport.

Looking at your previous reviews for Phnom Penh, I did not find a single place that was filling up your (high) expectations.

Maybe you just do not like Cambodia as much as we do ?

Best regards.

The owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our 5th visit to phnom penh and our first stay in La Maison d'Ambre and from the moment we arrived everything was wonderful .Th e apartment we stayed in the Casablanca and it as to be one of the nicest places we have stayed,the deco was great attention to detail could not be faulted.The only one thing was the bathroom and a fantastic bath but not enough water to fill it and maybe a shower over the bath would have been a good idea,but it did not spoil our stay at all.We will definatley stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie7cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this fabulous hotel in August 2012. Our room (more like an apartment!), 'Midnight in Paris', was huge and very comfortable-I loved the shower. Every member of the staff was friendly, helpful and caring and the two young ladies who turned down the room at night were delightful. The open roof top bar and restaurant was lovely, and a peaceful, relaxing place to chill out after sight seeing. On our last day, Phnom Penh was hit by torrential rain and the streets were flooded. We arrived back at the hotel for our taxi to the airport like 2 drowned rats. They gave us a room to dry off in and change our clothes, and when the car arrived it was reversed right up to the door so that we did not have to get wet again. Now that's what I call service!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Absolutely fabulous place to stay; an oasis of comfort and affordable luxury amongst the chaos of PP. This family run boutique hotel is beautifully designed with amazing attention to detail. Each room is unique with beautiful authentic pieces and gorgeous soft furnishings. I have had the pleasure of sleeping in "Marakesh, New York and Shanghai" on the occassions i've visited.The roof top bar/restaurant is the place to be at sunset for cocktails and the food is wonderful both for evening dinner and breakfast.The place is managed by a young couple who have vision, energy and a passion for delivering an excellent service - best of all, many of their staff come from poor backgrounds and are given the opportunity to develop their skills to secure employment and a career in the industry. A fab hotel that takes interior design and luxury to a whole new level as well as genuinely helping Cambodian youngsters. I don't think this business was set up entirely for commercial reasons, but to give back to Cambodia and to help visitors enjoy a truly memorable stay. It ticks all the boxes - can't get better than that.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very unique food with a keen eye for all the details of this hotel. Great service, food and the cocktails on the roof are delicious! Highly recommend a stay at the hotel and shopping at Ambre as well!

Room Tip: go online to check them out or call and see what they recommend to you and your taste. There is a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khivao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Following an almost traumatic journey from Koh Kong, as our taxi driver wasn't sure where we going, he turned a corner and by fluke arrived at the door... we were greeted by the friendly reception and shown to the Casablanca suite. It was stunning, very well decorated and HUGE!

We only stayed one night, but the room was spotless and the bed incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was stunning with a huge bath - which presented our only problem... the water didn't stay hot enough to fill it completely, but we made do!

The rooftop terrace is delightful and the cocktails and food tasty and well priced.

We would certainly recommend this hotel to others visiting Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: This is a boutique hotel with individually decorated rooms, any room will be fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRedsSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Central Mansions
Central Mansions
#66 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
1.1 mi away
the 252
the 252
#10 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#15 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Ambre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Ambre

Property: La Maison d'Ambre
Address: 123, street 110, Preah Ang Duong | corner Street 19, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison d'Ambre 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA MAISON D’AMBRE offers 10 elegantly-furnished, stylish and fully-equipped one-bedroom, one-bedroom plus and two-bedroom apartments, four of which have balconies. Each room, from 60m2 to 120 m2, offers a high level of service for hotel and long stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Maison d'Ambre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing