We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Ranked #45 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok, but could be better”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This hotel is on a quite side street so was not affected by traffic noise to badly. The room was basic and felt dated but had a comfortable bed. The restaurant on the forth floor has a good view over the city. Breakfast was limited in choice. Suffered from power failures every night and had no backup generator.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Gail,
Thanks for your review. This power failure thing does not happen really. It was the first time this happened. We have two main grid lines that we are connected with so this really doesnt happen and most other boutique hotels are connected the same way and most dont keep a backup generator as the second grid is a backup grid already. We are monitoring this and if this happens again then we will go ahead and make alternate arrangements.
Thanks again and have a wonderful day.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    118
    42
    10
    0
See reviews for
43
136
39
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

This little hotel is excellent value for money and a superb location to wander around Phnom Penh and see the sites.
Very accommodating and helpful staff and nice little pool to take a dip in after a long hot day.
They even let us hang about the pool for 3hrs after checking out until we went to airport to fly home.
Very clean rooms with good showers and nice breakfast on the top floor.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi Alex,
:) thanks for reviewing our place and we are happy you were happy with our service and our place. We appreciate your review as it helps us work hard by boosting our morale. Thanks again and have a safe trip back home.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights and although we had the room in the lobby, it was OK. It is quiet. The beds are amazing. Rooms are clean and breakfast was nice, not the best not the worst. The pool is always a good idea as it gets very hot in the city. The location was good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi David,
You are confirming our best bed in asia slogan :) Thanks for that. Awesome! We are happy you had a good time while you stayed here and we will definitely be looking forward to coming and staying with us again.
All the best.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

If there was the possibility, I would have given a 3.5 : staff was friendly, the location and breakfast were OK, but at the price we paid (50 USD), I guess we were expecting a bit more. Don't get me wrong, having a pool to go back to was great, but we got nicer rooms for a lot less during our trip. The bathroom could have been cleaner and it was also pretty noisy, even for asian standards.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charby_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi Charby,
Thanks for reviewing our property and apologies that the stay was not as great as we would have hoped for you to have had. Your feedback is noted and definitely will be actioned upon. Thanks again for bringing it to our notice. Have a wonderful day.
Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, originally booked 2 but added another one on as we liked the hotel and Phnom Pemh in general. We got an upgrade so had a massive room! It had everything you expect and it was very clean. Breakfast was good, not the best we have had in Asia but far from the worst. The pool area is nice, and kept very clean.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We made use of the free bicycles, and cycled to the genocide museum which only took 10 mins. I would recommend doing this as the city is very flat and you can see all the sights at your own pace. We walked every night to the riverfront but it did take a good 20 mins depending on how far you walk down so probably best to get a tuk-tuk but that can add up.

Only annoyance was the constant shouts for tuk-tuks outside the hotel when ever you walked out of the door, but that is the same in most hotels in Asia.

Also, make sure you out repellent on in the evening, we made the mistake of wearing flip flops with no repellent when we had drinks by the pool around 10pm and got LOADS of bites!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lissruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi lissruss,
Thank you so much for reviewing our property. It was a pleasure to host you guys and we wish you the best. The mosquito problem outside is something we have little control over. Besides burning coils there is little one can do :) tropical countries. As long as there arent any inside its all good right? Anyways, thanks for staying with us and please consider staying with us on your next trip to PP.
All the best.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We just checked out after staying 4 nights here on our honeymoon. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are comfortable and the air con works well. The best part about this hotel is the staff. They are by far the friendliest and most sincere staff we have met on our entire 5 week holiday. If you would like the service of a 5 star resort at an incredibly cheap price then book this hotel please!

They also helped us book a boat trip to silk Island (recommended!) as well as our bus to sihanoukville.

The only recommendation I have for them would be to have bacon on their breakfast menu because fat westerners like me like bacon! The stairs would help burn it off as well :)

Thank you so much to the staff at monument for a great stay! It was a pleasure to stay with you and sorry we didn't get to say a personal goodbye to the manager (Andrea I think). We will be back on our next trip to Phnom Penh.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tyse444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Tyse444,
Andrea has received your thank you note and is beaming as i type :) It was a pleasure to have hosted you and yes your bacon recommendation is noted. Please give us a chance to host you again if you are in PP. Have a wonderful upcoming year which you will enjoy as being a couple :).
Jason & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here for three nights on our visit to Phnom Penh - hotel has a great location, nice pool, internet works everywhere, decent breakfast and its a child safe supporter which is a great thing for Cambodia. Location is a block from HKK1 and about a 10min tuk-tuk from the riverfront - the staff was wonderful - great value for the money

Room Tip: get one overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pleeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi Pleeb,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for writing an awesome review about our place :) We hope you had a pleasant trip back home and we would love to have you stay with us should you choose to come to PP again.
All the best.
Jason, Sounly & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.5 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,114 reviews
1.7 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#49 of 267 in Phnom Penh
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
#20 of 267 in Phnom Penh
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,618 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#16 of 267 in Phnom Penh
835 reviews
0.5 mi away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#26 of 267 in Phnom Penh
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmin Monument Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmin Monument Hotel

Property: Jasmin Monument Hotel
Address: 29 #22s Street | BKK1, Tonlebassac, Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh 12101, Cambodia (Formerly Monument Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jasmin Monument Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in a restored building that housed post Khmer Rouge UN Peacekeeping force. Monument Hotel, with its boutique rooms, offers guests a secluded and tranquil refuge from the bustling city. Enjoy your stay in any one of our carefully designed rooms. Start your day with our signature complimentary breakfast, relax at our salt water pool and sleep on our custom made pocket spring mattresses just like at home. It's not us; our guests say we have the best beds in Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jasmin Monument Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing