We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first overseas trip .. great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Ranked #45 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our first overseas trip .. great”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

It was our first international trip and we go back today in a few hours. Our tours were booked by the hotel manager Ollie, too bad it is rainy season so we could not do tak mao zoo as it poured that day. When we arrived we asked the hotel to arrange a sim for us (we had read all about cambodia and how cheap it was to get a sim without any contracts, boo sprint). The hotel arranged for a sim card with very fast internet so we were connected all the time (and still are just before we fly out :) Internet on phone is very affordable here. We stayed for one week, hotel was clean, quiet, very comfortable rooms, no elevator. The restaurant upstairs gave a spartan look and the hallways looked a bit cold but the rooms were very elegant and the pictures on their website really is what the place looks like. We took some ourselves too. It is a friendly place on a quiet street, not sure if we would come back to Phnom Penh again but we would recommend to other travelers. There is a fitness center about 75 yards from the hotel on the same street where you pay $1.50 per session. A steal

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Hi Sarah,
Thanks so much for reviewing our property. We are glad your first trip was a memorable one and appreciate your comments. We hope your trip back home was safe and if you do come back to Phnom Penh we would love to host you again. Safe travels.
Monument Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    118
    42
    10
    0
See reviews for
43
136
39
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

We chose to stay here as the reviews looked good.
Firstly, it isn't as central as we expected.
The pool was quite small.
We were looking at a roof from our bedroom window.
The breakfast is a complete joke. The coffee was cold so they microwaved it!!!
It took 15 min for the bar guy to open the fridge and bring me a diet coke!!
Never again!! Too annoying

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank segadimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Hi Segadimo,
Thank you for providing your valuable feedback. We take out guest reviews very seriously and are looking into the breakfast review. We have a continuous process where we train our staff regularly on ensuring the breakfast is perfectly served and guests are happy. We will look into why there was a problem with coffee and as for the breakfast we would really appreciate your feedback on what you would like added in the breakfast menu.
We are located in the BKK1 less than 3 minutes walk from the independence monument in a central part of town however for visitors to wish to be on the river side we are about 10 minutes away.
The hotel is in a renovated old UN building and not all rooms have a pool view but for guests who want a pool view we recommend they check in in our deluxe rooms. We hope that you will give us one more chance to serve you and if you do choose to stay with us, please select the deluxe rooms.
Thanks again.
Monument Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We spent three nights here during a trip to Cambodia & Vietnam. Greeting on arrival was very friendly - the staff showed us to our room on the third floor and carried our bags (there is also a notice to say they are happy to bring your bags back down on check out, which would be handy if you have difficulty carrying them as there is no lift.) There is a spa in the hotel and even if you don't make sue of the facilities (which we didn't) the hotel smalls wonderful from the aromatic oils.
The room was large and comfortable, with big bed, wardrobe, tv, aircon and a desk. You get two complimentary bottles of water per day and there is also a min-bar in the room. The bath room is great with lovely fittings and an amazing walk in shower. There is a pool on the ground floor which is a great way to cool off after a long day sight seeing. The pool itself is lovely and open until about 9 pm, though there are only 5 or 6 sun loungers round the side so it can be hard to get somewhere to sit when it's busy. The hotel provides towels for the pool so you don't have to bring your own or use those from the rooms. They also serve drinks at the pool and have a happy hour in the evenings.
There is a bar / lounge on the top floor where breakfast is served. Compared to some other places we stayed the breakfast was basic but tasty and adequate - toast, cereal, fruit, a couple of hot items (that change each day) and you can also have eggs cooked to order. In the evenings you can go there for drinks and have a lovely view over the city.
The reception staff are helpful, they organised our bus tickets to travel on to HCMC including hotel pick up, they also provided advice about places to visit, gave us a city map, and can arrange a tuk-tuk driver for you if you like.
We felt the room was good value at £25 a night and would recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable, friendly place to say with little touches of luxury. Given the temperature when we visited, the pool alone made the stay worthwhile...
In terms of location, the hotel is in the south of the city centre, near the independence monument. From here you can walk to the river front in about 5-10 minutes. To walk to the top of town to Wat Phnom is about half an hour. We were also able to walk to the Genocide Museum in 15 minutes and from there got a tuk tuk after our visit to take us on to the Killing Fields, wait for us and bring us back to the city centre. This cost $15. Although harrowing both of these places are well worth the visit.
For eating there is loads of choice in the city. Although expensive for PP standards, the Blue Pumpkin cafe is delightful - ice cream and cakes are great. The upstairs restaurant is beautiful with day beds to lounge on and delicious food. We also ate in a south indian restaurant close to the hotel which looked grim from outside but the food was superb.
Another worthwhile trip if you have time is the Phnom Tamao wildlife park tour through Betel Nut tours - an amazing day out. At the end of the trip you are dropped off at the Lazy Gecko cafe which is a great place for a nice beer and some good food.
We also ate at the Foreign Correspondents Club - a lovely building in a great location, especially at the upstairs terrace which has great views over to the riverside walkway. We went there following a recommendation from another traveller, however we found the food overrated and over priced compared to other places in the city. The cocktails were passable but nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DL_1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Public Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hi Dan & Lyndsey,
Thanks so much for taking time out to review our property. You have written a detailed review and we very much appreciate your input. For the breakfast that you mention we would appreciate if you could advise us on what extra items you would like on the menu and we will definitely give it a consideration. We hope you have safe travels and very much look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Phnom Penh.
Monument Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed at monument for 4 days with my family,we had one standard and one twin room.Both the rooms were equipped with all the necessities one can imagine to feel at home or even better.TV with cable showing all the foreign channels,refrigerator with thoughtful collection of mini bar,exceptionally comfortable beds with white crisp and clean bed sheets not to forget there claim to have the best mattress i.e. THE AETHERIUS springmate in each room which is the only mattresses that are used in the five stars arnd the world..finding it at monument was a sheer delight!!After all day activities of sight seeing and shopping relaxing in there salt water pool was an experience one cannot forget,the massage jets were awesome..they staff was very friendly they had an amzaing brit manager which my kids called üncle ollie"...reception was very helpful in doing whatever they could to make our stay memorable,rooms were very clean with beautiful furniture and the spirited were lifted by the lovely lemongrass fragrance whenever we use to open the door..i loved there beautiful bathrooms..mine was green n my kids was yellow:)..would definitely recommend to all who plans a trip to the city of phnom penh..worth every penny spent!!!!

Room Tip: Try Malis just arnd the corner of monument for the mouth savoring khemer food and Luna italian rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Public Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hi Jane,
Thanks so much for reviewing our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind words are much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Monument Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Accomodation in PP can be hit or miss but Monument is a definite 'hit'. We stayed here for 3 nights earlier this month and found it to be good value, comfortable and secure. The hotel has a decent location, very friendly, helpful and attentive staff, good airconditioning and decent size rooms. The roomn was clean, secure and the bed comfoprtable. The only negative was that the shower drain was very slow to empty but I'm sure this was a one-off. We didnt try the swimming pool but it looked good and the breakfasts were fine. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Public Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Rich D,
Thanks so much for your feedback. We are happy we were able to come up to your expectations and would love to have you stay with us again. The feedback you provided is very useful for our continuous improvement and will definitely be attended to. We look forward to welcoming you to Monument hotel again. Safe travels.
Monument Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed here the last 3 nights & again (we stayed earlier this year) it was great. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace is always nice. Smell of incense through the hotel can be a little overwhelming, but it's pleasant.

this time I was put in the very front room on the ground floor and thought this will be noisy, but if was fine. Service was very good and friendly.

Room Tip: i stayed twice in different rooms and both were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saigondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hi Dave,
Thanks for coming back and staying with us and again for your review. We really appreciate your support and feedback. We wish you safe travels and hopefully on your next trip will be given yet another chance to host you. My apologies for this response comes a bit later than it should have, somehow the review alert did not notify us when your review was posted. Thanks and best wishes from the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The rooms are nicely decorated, mattresses as comfy as they claim, not hard .. i actually took the bed linnen off to see for myself. Pool is nice but more of a plunge pool than a real swimming pool. It is salt water and refreshing in cambodian heat. Staff was friendly. Restaurant food was ok. Hotel is definitely recommended. There is no fitness center or spa but somehow i am unable to uncheck the spa and fitness center review option. There is no lift and food could be better with a greater choice.

Room Tip: Ask for standard double with balcony .. they are on first and second floors. Have a private balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fe05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hi Fe05,
Thanks for taking time out to review our property. We are glad that your stay with us was comfortable and we hope to welcome you again should you visit Phnom Penh. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.5 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,114 reviews
1.7 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#49 of 267 in Phnom Penh
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
#20 of 267 in Phnom Penh
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,618 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#16 of 267 in Phnom Penh
835 reviews
0.5 mi away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#26 of 267 in Phnom Penh
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmin Monument Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmin Monument Hotel

Property: Jasmin Monument Hotel
Address: 29 #22s Street | BKK1, Tonlebassac, Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh 12101, Cambodia (Formerly Monument Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jasmin Monument Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in a restored building that housed post Khmer Rouge UN Peacekeeping force. Monument Hotel, with its boutique rooms, offers guests a secluded and tranquil refuge from the bustling city. Enjoy your stay in any one of our carefully designed rooms. Start your day with our signature complimentary breakfast, relax at our salt water pool and sleep on our custom made pocket spring mattresses just like at home. It's not us; our guests say we have the best beds in Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jasmin Monument Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing