We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for Backpackers - Not Families.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sundance Inn & Saloon
Ranked #18 of 339 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 30, 2014

A good value hotel that’s well located, has clean and comfortable rooms (one of the best beds and pillows we had in Asia), and a good bar on the street level. The bar (which is also the lobby) is active, draws a good crowd, has great drinks that are reasonably priced, and the western food we ate there was surprisingly really tasty. I think this is a great place for solo or couple travelers. I would not recommend for family travelers as it’s as much of a bar as it is a hotel. And yes, there is a pool, but the way it's situated next to the bar - it was never appealing to us for relaxing or reading. Breakfast is not included. Wifi is good in the room and the lobby. The hotel handled our Vietnam visa and bus ride for us, which was great. We did not have any issues with noise; if that’s a concern of yours. More about our time in Phnom Penh at www.thetaleoftwotings.com

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingTings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 179 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

I booked into the Sundance for one night and stayed five, never wanted to leave, Harry, Colin, Rory managed a fantastic bar, it's not just the service, what about the locals, had to be the funniest friendliness casual bar I came across in SEA.Food was great, rooms cleaned daily, swimming pool to die for, fantastic hairdresser across the road( wash blow dry straightened $3.00 AUD) If u want to have a great time I recommend Sundance, if u r a musician or u think u can sing JAM sessions Tue night something that shouldn't be missed... It's gold

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Gotta give it a 5 because the great positives outweigh the small negatives. Paid $5 more here than my place the previous 2 nights and it was a welcome world of difference. Just popped into write the review because I was contemplating returning to Phnom Penh and thinking I'd love to stay here again.

Good:
Very clean
Great bed - large and comfy.
Smart TV (computer hooked up to TV) a new thing for me. Even having a laptop and iPhone, it was great being able to pull up YouTube on the flatscreen HD.
Bar - has a great atmosphere, reminds me of a US pub. Good food and very reasonably priced drinks - made well at that.
Pool - Small but it was good.
Someone mentioned 'drugs and hookers'... it seems you can smoke your weed freely at the pool and it's definitely 'guest friendly'. These go down as positives in my book.
Staff also very nice and helpful.

Bad:
I also didn't really have hot water. It sometimes got close to warm.
Safe didn't work for me either, but I didn't try until the last night and I was rather drunk anyhow!

Room Tip: The smaller room is adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spenser R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

stayed here for 3 nights

The bar downstairs has a large poster on the wall "no prostitutes, no weapons, no drugs" which clearly isn't enforced as everyone was smoking drugs and lots of seedy westerners with khmer prostitutes. Didn't see any weapons to be fair!!!

Our room was very small, there was no hot water for the whole stay, the safe didn't work and the ceiling leaked water. however for the price we paid the it didn't seem that bad. The room was clean, bed was comfy and actually quiet despite the busy bar downstairs. didn't use the pool as there wasn't really anywhere to sit in the sun

good central location

we booked our onward journey through sundancee to Phu Quoc - Vietnam which was actually good, despite the mini van been late (standard in se asia) wit was fairly comfy and included easy passport control checks with assistance at the boarder

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katycrunchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Nice rooms, cheep drinks, good food, safe bicycles for hire, friendly helpful staff. Drinks were so fairly priced and the characters at the bar, both local and travelling were so friendly that I overindulged. Next day to shake off my hangover I hired one of their bikes and cycled along the Meekong riverbank. Bike was perfect but my riding skill a bit wobbly. Loved it though and will hire cycles more often. Good fun hotel. Tough pool table. Pot 4 balls in a row and you should turn pro!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanhaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

When our Tuk-Tuk driver asked us where we are staying and we answered Sundance Inn, he asked us, "Why did you choos to stay at Sundance? It's very very small."

The building indeed looked small. We were looking for the reception table, and it happened to be at the bar table. We had to walk a very narrow stairs to get to our room so we expected a very modest tiny hostel room.

To our surprise, the room is large, the bed is big, and the bathroom is excellent. I really love the ambiance and since we were staying in four rooms we could see that each room has a unique decoration with the same theme. I am considering many of their decoration ideas for my own bed room. I actually think the room (including the bathroom) is actually 4-stars standard.

So the moral of the story is, don't judge a hotel by its lobby. This is the best value hotel and the most comfortable one during my Cambodia trip.

The service is also great. I need to send some postcards but since it was Sunday, the post office would be closed and I had to catch the plane that night. I was really disappointed thinking that my postcards would go to waste, but someone from the hotel offered to buy me some stamps and send the postcards for me. I can't thank him enough for this.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amirah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Sundance is located smack-bang in the heart of PP. A great location on the riverfront side of the city, a mere 2 or 3 blocks away. The rooms are situated above a bar, staffed by very friendly and happy locals that serve both good food and cold drinks! There is a pool that can be used by both patrons and guests, and can be a fun hang-out at night as it is joined to the bar. The rooms are modern and clean. The bathrooms are spacious with rain-showers and new amenities. The rooms feature comfy and huge beds, a fridge stocked daily with a couple of bottles of water, an air conditioner, a 32" flatscreen with cable TV, and a PC attached for browsing. St 172 can get quite busy during the night, with plenty of bars close-by. They also arranged airport pick-up by tuk-tuk which was very handy and cheap! I highly recommend for a solo traveler or adventurous couple, and no-doubt I will stay here again when I return with my wife.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tybren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.9 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#82 of 281 in Phnom Penh
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
#45 of 281 in Phnom Penh
473 reviews
1.1 mi away
YK Art House
YK Art House
#3 of 339 in Phnom Penh
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Billabong Hostel
Billabong Hostel
#3 of 257 in Phnom Penh
1,080 reviews
0.9 mi away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 339 in Phnom Penh
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Artist Guesthouse
The Artist Guesthouse
#10 of 339 in Phnom Penh
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Inn & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Inn & Saloon

Address: 61 AB Street 172, Phnom Penh 80152, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $18 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundance Inn & Saloon 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sundance Inn & Saloon. We are a new Boutique Hotel located in the center of Phnom Penhs tourist district. Only a few minutes walk from the top attractions including the Royal Palace, National Museum, Central Market, Riverfront, Restaurants and Night Life. We are a small hotel with a personal touch in which we pride ourselves on taking care of every detail. Our rooms are very clean, comfortable, and safe. We use top quality mattresses and bedding to ensure a great nights sleep. Enjoy the city and unwind by the pool before visiting our in house pub or taking a stroll on the riverside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sundance Inn & Saloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing