We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for backpackers :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Velkommen Backpackers
Bromma, Sweden
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice place for backpackers :-)”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Love it love it love it :) It is just few meters away from the river side, just opposite of the local market, in the middle of bustling Phnom Penh North.

I spent three nights here and I have no complaint at all :-) I stayed in a fan dorm room which is, well, on the top floor. The dorm is pretty big and got attached 2 attached bathrooms/toilets (and there are lots of toilet rolls too!!!) which is very convenient. And its clean, too! The mattress is good, the lines is clean, the towel smell just nice. What to complaint there? Hot? Hello... this is SEAsia! Wanna a/c room but at fan price? Go somewhere else, not in Phnom Penh, that's for sure.

The chill out (common) area is cool too. I'd choose whichever table or couch that I like, sit for how many hours that I like; even sleep on it! Watch the movie/TV, get some drinks at reasonable Phnom Penh's price. Most important, hang out with other backpackers! I could understand why other backpackers that I met (that have been in Phnom Penh and this backpackers house) before I came here strongly recommended this place.

The staffs are friendly and helpful. I feel immediately comfy here! Come and stay here if you come to Phnom Penh!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsianEDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    62
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
6
30
70
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I liked the place, but they put us in the ground floor and around 8 pm they started blasting the speakers with party music. So basically you're sleeping at the bar. Anyways, the staff is nice, the room was good enough, and the shared bathroom was pretty decent.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apcdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevelaer, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed at Velkommen Backpackers for 3 nights and had a really good time. Rooms and bathrooms are clean, there is aircondition and a hot shower. You get a locker and towel and blanket, everything very clean. The staff is nice and really helpful and the food is good and not too expensive.
I loved the location, only a few meters to the river, the market and the palace. The common area is also really good and great to meet people :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Insa_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

After an exhaustive sightseeing in Angkor Wat we headed for Phnom Penh. Due to its location close to the Riverside we decided to stay at Velkommen Backpackers. We booked the 20 beds doorm. Luckily this dorm is divided into two dorms actually by a glas door. The beds are not the nicest one as the mattresses are quite hard and have plastic cover. Wifi works fine. The shared bathrooms are by means the cleanest ones I've ever seen in Cambodia.

If you need some advice how to continue your journey (e.g. to Vietnam or so), just cross the street and ask the owners in the Velkommen Guesthouse who normally hang around the bar.

You can get US Dollars at the ATM of the Canadian Bank without paying a fee. Ask around to find it (it is inside a hotel close to the hostel)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XelaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed in a 6-bed dorm with air-con, and it was very clean and cozy. You get a rather big locker, bed lined and a towel. The place has a fast wifi connection that works both in the bar/restaurant, as well as in the room. The bathrooms smelled a bit too much of the disinfectant, but it's good to know that the place is clean :) The staff is helpful with advices on what to see, and also will arrange a taxi/tuk-tuk to the airport. Additionally, the restaurant on the ground floor has super-comfy seating, though the food seemed a bit blunt (or maybe I just had a bad day). Overall - I'd surely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We recently stayed at the Velkommen Backpackers at $5/day and per head. The room was decent and clean with fan, double deck bed, pillow, blanket and towel. The location was perfect if you are planning for a night life, a visit to the Royal Palace and many other tourist spot. Wi-fi is accessible if you are in the bar only. The only thing that was a bit uncomfortable was the smell of the room. It smells like old though the room is not old at all. After some time, its either you get used to it or the smell goes away. The staff were also courteous, just that one time we ordered for something to eat the girl said the cook was out and she said she wasn't sure if he's coming back. Good thing there are many other restaurants in the area to choose from. Another thing, they don't have a phone there so you'll have to take few steps if you need to call.

In a bud I guess it gives you the value for your money. I appreciated it because I really expected something worse.

Most of the guests there during our time were Europeans backpackers.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the 2nd floor, may be they don't stink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofiasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in a 6 bed a/c dorm ($6) in May. The hostel was very clean and comfortable, and well located in the backpacker district in Phnom Penh. The bar was sociable and the staff there were fun and friendly, making our stay more entertaining! Would definitely recommend as a good place to stay in this city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#8 of 225 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.0 mi away
Velkommen Guesthouse
Velkommen Guesthouse
#13 of 317 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Happy House Zone
The Happy House Zone
#13 of 225 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 225 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.0 mi away
BlueHome Villa II
BlueHome Villa II
#33 of 225 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aura Thematic Hostel
Aura Thematic Hostel
#14 of 225 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velkommen Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velkommen Backpackers

Property: Velkommen Backpackers
Address: 17 st 144 | Riverside, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Velkommen Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Brand new Genuine Backpackers in the heart of the Riverside. Just across the street in the same great location as the popular Velkommen Guesthouse. A clean, comfortable, and safe environment. with the same friendly and personal service. With Private rooms and a large number of both fan only and AC dorm beds. With mostly brand new modern bathrooms. At unbeatable prices. Brand new Beds and linen. New clean towels provided for free. All dorms have personal lockers for extra security. large stylish bar and kick back area. Great for meeting other like-minded travelers, with regular events and live music. Our friendly and helpful staff can offer travel advice and help arrange day trips and onward travel. Centrally Located just 50m from the main river front area (Save money on tuk tuk rides to the river front). We are within walking distance to many of Phnom Penh's main attractions: e.g. Royal palace/ silver pagoda, Wat Phnom, Central & night Market. In the same street as Khandal market, the area has a truly Asian feel, with local Cambodians going about their daily life. From Sisowath quay (river front) turn down St 144 towards Khandal market. We are located on the right hand side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Velkommen Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing