We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They make me welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angkor Mithona Guesthouse
Ranked #201 of 335 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Here I am again at the Angkor Mithona. I read the other reviews of this place and yes, I know what they mean but I always come here when I'm in Phnom Penh. The rooms are pot luck, some are great and others less so but they're pretty cheap by Phnom Penh standards. The reason I come back is that the staff know me, they are always so welcoming and it saves me trailing around in a tuktuk looking for another place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the balcony are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunrise300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 113 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights room is not cleaned or towels changed unless u tell them when u go out regardless of the card u hang on door. . .Never again

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david062380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I never use a third party website to book a hostel/guesthouse. I always go on the hostel/guesthouse website to get the most accurate rates. We needed a room for 3 travelers. On the website we booked a "Double room" that on the website states it can hold 4 guests. Other services included in the room was a bottle of water, free wifi, and a continental breakfast for $20. I emailed them directly and confirmed this room for 3 travelers.

When we arrived to the guesthouse we were taken to a their biggest and most expensive room because its the "only room" that can hold 3 people. We told them we spoke directly with the guesthouse about the number of travelers in the group and asked if we can have the double room (because it can hold 4 guests) and was told yes. They said the double only has 2 twin beds. We just asked if we can just have two people sleep in one bed and they agreed...even though we would still be paying the regular room rate.

That evening we asked when breakfast hours are for the free breakfast. We were told there is no breakfast. I tried to explain that their website states breakfast is included and they simply said they never serve breakfast to a room with more than one person. In their words, "You already have the room for so cheap." I spent 30 minutes trying to reason with them that if the website says there is a breakfast we should receive a breakfast or discount on the room because the information was misleading. The night manager just rolled her eyes and said 'no'. I was told I can speak with the manager in the morning. The next morning I ask about seeing the manager but was then told the manager was not in for the day. I again tried to explain to the two staff members at the desk that the website states breakfast is included. The man at the desk said that the website is currently being built and all the information is incorrect. I again tried to explain that it is not my fault that their website says a service is offered but they refuse to provide it. They said they would charge $3 for each person for breakfast which would end up being half the cost of our room...just for a continental breakfast. I told them that we should not be spending more money for their mistake. The man then started to make up a story that the room we received was already at a discount because the price on the internet does not include VAT. The room on the internet says $20 and he said the room cost is $25 with VAT. 25% VAT?? I tried to explain that it really isnt fair that they have a website that says we receive a breakfast, but then upon arrival we are told no such breakfast is possible. The man even asked why I never asked about the breakfast when I emailed the guesthouse?! I told him if the website says there is breakfast there should be breakfast. I asked him if I should have emailed ahead to make sure there were beds in the rooms and he smiled seeing the simplicity of my reasoning, but still refused.

I was dumbfounded. I could not wrap my mind around the fact that a business is making a very correctable mistake but refuses to fix it. I was not asking for a refund for the room. All we wanted was toast and coffee in the morning...hardly a huge expense upon the guesthouse.

It might seem petty that I am arguing for a $3 breakfast but when on a tight budget a free breakfast at the beginning of the day can really offset food costs. I was just surprised they would go the distance to refuse us a continental breakfast (a baguette and coffee).

Having traveled through most of South East Asia in budget places a good staff can make your stay very worthwhile. This staff provided no such experience whatsoever.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Good location, rooms OK but should have a fridge, lots of stairs to get to the room (no elevator), good restaurant (but there are lots of good restaurants nearby anyway), nice, helpful and friendly staff - would stay again but will probably try a new place next time. Value for money seems reasonable. Free Wifi worked OK for me.

Room Tip: A lower floor will save going up and down the endless narrow stair case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiftycountriesplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The biggest plus of this hostel is the location. It's a very short walk to the Riverside road which has all the hangouts. The staff is also extremely helpful.

However, at 25$ a night the rooms are quite cramped and not-so-clean (the wi-fi signal in the rooms is also quite bad!)

Sriya

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visalakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank tristan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled solo
Thank ptitgar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#204 of 278 in Phnom Penh
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.2 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 278 in Phnom Penh
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 278 in Phnom Penh
2,615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#24 of 278 in Phnom Penh
1,685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#84 of 278 in Phnom Penh
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Mithona Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Mithona Guesthouse

Address: #19 Ly Yoak Lay, corner street 172-13 | Chey Chumneah, Daun Pen, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 335 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $11 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Mithona Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkor Mithona Guest House now offers a range of simple, newly built and elegantly furnished well-appointed 37 rooms and suites, designed to bring affordable comfort and convenience to business and leisure visitors, The Angkor Mitona Guest House is located in the heart of Phnom Penh, The Capital city of kingdom of Cambodia, Approximately between 20 to 25 minutes drives from the Pochentong International Airport. For budget Travellers or those who want to enjoy the warm, Friendly hospitality that comes from staying in a Khmer bed and breakfast lodge-the Angkor Mithona is for you. The Guest House is perfect for budget-minded holiday makers seeking comfortable, clean and sage accommodation close to Phnom Penh city's attractions, activities and shops such as the Royal Palace, Wat Phnom, Central Market, Russian Market and the National Artefacts Museum. If you are looking for general touristy information inside Cambodia we suggest you to the most interesting place of Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Angkor Mithona Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing