We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here for free....”
Review of Golden Noura Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Noura Villa
Ranked #174 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Noura golden villa.

Stayed as a couple in sept '12 for 1 night.
Arrived to find a small looking grubby place on the side of a street.
For the price we payed we expected a lot more than what we got.
The room wasn't dirty but also wasn't the cleanest we have stayed in. (We found a few ants on our bed)
Food wasn't pleasant at all and could get a lot cheaper in the town area.
Free WI-FI was good.
Complimentary breakfast standard.

Wouldn't stay here again personally especially for the price we payed. ( approx $25)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lora r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Golden Noura Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 105 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for three nights after taking a recommendation from a tuk tuk driver. The room we were shown was usually $15 but we were able to pay $12. I think that if we had had to pay $15 we would not have stayed here. Having just come from Vietnam, the standard of the room was less than what we had been staying in and more expensive. Our room was on the first floor and was fairly small but it was really clean. There was AC and a TV in our room and the water was fairly hot.

The location is really good and there are lots of pubs/restaurants on that street. It's a really short walk to the palace and the other main streets (172 for night life). We didn't have any experience of feeling unsafe or being robbed. The staff could have been friendlier and more helpful but overall they were pleasant. It was quite noisy at night because we were on the first floor where the building is open onto the street and just above the kitchen. The staff did tell us that there was some construction going on from 10am-5pm every day but that wasn't too bad as we were out and about anyway.

The food is really really good (try the french toast it's amazing) but again I think it is a little overpriced. Overall, this is a grand place to stay in but nothing special.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a great experience here. Staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and informative. Room was HUGE and bed was comfy. Great value for money and would stay here again. Located very close to the Palace and close to the Waterfront. Only a short tuk tuk journey to the Night Market.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrappycoco80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Look up reviews for the Noura Motel. They changed their name to Golden Noura Villa because the other trip advisor page has a bunch of reports of stolen money, documents, & electronics. Not every patron gets robbed but so many do that you better not take a chance. There is no tourist police to help you after they take all your money. Don't let these horrible people ruin your vacation. Mr. Diamond, the owner, is a criminal. He and his 'family' of thieves may seem charming to some but all they want is your money. They have extras keys for the lock boxes in the rooms & they know when you'll be out sightseeing, the tuk tuk drivers tip them off and probably get a cut. Do not support this business. STAY AWAY!!!

Room Tip: AVOID completely!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank afriend921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maline K, Manager at Golden Noura Villa, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Value Guests,

Thank you very much for your time to write a bad review for us. I don't know what happened for you and why you post this bad comment for us, even you didn't stay here. Actually, we have changed the name from Noura Motel to Golden Noura Villa, it's true. We also terminated Mr. Diamond, GM here since we change management. Everything was changed so we never get this problem again. We don't know what happened with you before but we really sad when we got this complaint. Even this complaint was right or wrong, but we still would like to apologize for any inconvenience and you should forgive us.

Anyway we not convince to stay with again but, if you have time you can come to check again. I changed everything here, all our new guest always happy to stay here. They always come back here again.

Please have a good life!
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked to stay at the Golden Noura Villa II which is two buildings down from Golden Noura Villa and is under the same management.

Firstly it is a great location for exploring central Phnom Penh from and is very close to the Palace, museum and river front (all within 5 minutes walking distance).

However there were many things which were unsatisfactory. On our arrival we were shown our room which looked ok at first however we realised that it was full of mosquitos and my husband killed 10 in the first few minutes.I also decided to visit the toilet (just the usual number 1) and the toilet leaked from the bottom pipe and flooded the floor when I flushed. The bathroom door was also broken.

I reported all of these problems to reception and he showed me 2 alternative rooms both of which were much smaller and the other was dingy and there were mosquitoes.

We decided to leave and smiled and told the member of staff on the front desk. He then said that his boss wanted talk to us. When his boss arrived he was quite confrontational and said as we had booked on booking.com we would be charged for the first of the two nights that we had booked. We said we were still leaving as we didn't want to stay there.

He then showed us another room on the top floor which was large clean and mosquito free. He initially said it would cost extra but we refused and he eventually agreed. We decided to stay. It was the "bosses" final action of offering us this room that has led me to give the hotel this poor rating otherwise it would have been terrible.

Throughout our stay there was a general feel that the staff were more concerned with making money out of us than meeting our basic needs, we were constantly offered cocktails and asked whether we wanted to buy tickets through the hotel.

Breakfast was ok, but small and not very filling and didn't compare to the other hotels we stayed in in Cambodia.

I would recommend looking elsewhere for accomodation.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank AnnaKatherine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Right from the airport pickup to the departure by bus the people at this villa where extremely helpful and very friendly. the room was very spacious with its own enclosed balcony (larger than most rooms I've stayed in lately). There was an ensuite, air conditioning, bar fridge, TV and sitting area inside the room as well. The breakfast was modest but substantial

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

After climbing 4 flights of stairs with my luggage. I was taken to a room and i was immediately dissapointed. Old, dirty and nothing like the pictures diplayed for this hotel. Lasted 10 minutes and decided to leave. Not worth the money paid and there are many other options in the area at better prices. Stay away from this S#*tHole!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaneM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
RS Guesthouse
RS Guesthouse
#57 of 333 in Phnom Penh
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nawin Guesthouse
Nawin Guesthouse
#26 of 333 in Phnom Penh
202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Homeland Guesthouse
Homeland Guesthouse
#76 of 333 in Phnom Penh
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#35 of 272 in Phnom Penh
830 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Noura Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Noura Villa

Address: # 30 Street 178 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $10 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Noura Villa is budgeting accommodation located in the best location from which you can walk 1 minute to Royal Palace, 1 minute to National Museum, 3 minutes to Independent Monument, Shopping, Business Center, 1 minute to Mekong River, Banking and other main places. The villa has restaurant and bar which serve all kinds of food to make customers feel at home. It is imagination place and a sanctuary for tourist and corporate guests who expect excellent hospitality and friendly service. The Hotel has been designed to guarantee you a most pleasant and memorable stay as we aim to deliver our products and services that consistently meet and exceed your travel needs and wants. You will enjoy with our professional staff at reception and a good test of Khmer food, Asia Food and Western food by our chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Golden Noura Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing