We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but my husband felt uncomfortable”

Daughters of Cambodia Visitor Centre
Ranked #3 of 117 things to do in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daughters of Cambodia is a social enterprise empowering victims of trafficking to leave the sex industry through alternative employment. At the Daughters Visitor Centre, visitors can gain insight into the endemic of trafficking that is ravaging Cambodia while learning more about what Daughters is doing to stop it. Moreover, visitors can actually participate in our work by frequenting one of the three social enterprise businesses housed at the Visitor Centre — our fair-trade shop, cafe or women's spa — all of which provide former victims of trafficking with the vital income and skills to build thriving lives for themselves outside the horrors of the sex industry. To see the cafe's menu or a list of the spa's services, find the Daughters of Cambodia Visitor Centre on Facebook.If you have a large party, please call ahead of time to allow us to better accommodate you.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good but my husband felt uncomfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

It was lovely and it's to see a how the system is working and giving people a chance in life; in some respects you can understand this but I felt for my husband who was sat on his own while I was having a mani, he said he felt a bit strange as a guy on his own there

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Macs-on-the-move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    194
    33
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

A great place to buy some handmade gifts, necklaces, cushion covers, clothes, placemats, cloth juggling balls etc and you are supporting a really good cause.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank aidomelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cause, great brownies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We went here after reading good reviews. Lovely little shop, I got a fab vest top. Good excuse to shop when it's for a good cause! Also had the most gorgeous chocolate brownies, so moist and rich. Nice lime cooler as well. Handy for the national museum and grand palace, quite tranquil upstairs despite the hustle and bustle outside. Unfortunately didn't have time for a manicure or pedicure. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
193 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Building the future for Cambodia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Another organisation that is helping the Cambodian people by providing skills ranging from spa treatments, screen printing and food service to name just a few.
We ate at the sugar and spice cafe upstairs and we found a comfortable atmosphere where you can enjoy a great meal with free wifi with friendly and polite staff.
Please put this on your places to visit when you come to Phnom Penh, you can enjoy a great tasting and great valued meal or purchase something to remember your trip and know that you are helping the local people long term.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kev_deb2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great charity, great food and spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Support a wonderful charity in Phnom Penh - the food in the cafe is great especially the wonderful homemade cakes and then head downstairs for a relaxing high quality pedicure.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Tigers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daughters of Cambodia Visitor Centre also viewed

 

Been to Daughters of Cambodia Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing