We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic evening”
Review of Do Forni

Do Forni
Ranked #62 of 1,428 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dine in authentic Italian ambience at Do Forni. The restaurant has an intimate setting with an open kitchen and wooden floors. Dishes are freshly prepared with only the freshest of ingredients. Choose from a specially crafted menu which offers contemporary and innovative cuisine. A selection of fine wines from the cellar makes your dining experience complete. Special guest chefs visit the restaurant every quarter for a memorable gastronomic journey.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Fantastic evening”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Travelling through Cambodia me and my fiancé ended up in Phnom Penh for my birthday. After seeing Do Forni on TripAdvisor we booked a table and had such a memorable evening. The food was absolutely delicious and the service the best we've ever had. Being well over our budget it was worth every penny.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gatuquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Do Forni, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am delighted that our Trip Advisor page directed you and your fiancé towards our Do Forni restaurant and that it was beyond your expectations. I wish you a nice trip in Cambodia and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra.
Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    30
    13
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Value for money”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This place is one of the most expensive restaurants in Asia. We couldn't believe they were charging such high prices. I have eaten in Michelin starred restaurants for less. Unfortunately the food didn't live up to the price.

I had the lamb and the beef and both were delectable but would taste better at around 50% of the price. So would go again (if someone else was paying)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Do Forni, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. I believe that the quality of our gastronomy justifies the rates charged at Do Forni, and it seems that you did enjoy our cuisine despite the prices. The Australian Rack of Lamb in red wine sauce with potato gratin and the Pan-seared Black Angus Beef fillet with a green peppercorn sauce and asparagus are both at $30. Most of our products are imported from Italy to provide the best culinary experience to our guests.
Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit gloomy atmosphere”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Excellent food, good service, but not the place for a romantic dinner. Dining alone usually brings out the critic, but even so, the room was too dark and impersonal for my liking. Probably good for business events.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Do Forni, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy to learn that you enjoyed Do Forni’s gastronomy. Each of our restaurants offers a different cuisine and atmosphere. May I suggest you for your next stay to try Hachi, our Japanese restaurant, which offers private tatami rooms. I hope we will welcome you again very soon at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra.
Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The staff are extremely well trained, friendly and attended to our every need. The food was exceptional and a reasonable time was allowed between courses. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to other diners who appreciate good food, wine and service. A word of warning so you are not disappointed. They don't allow you to use the Accor Card. Maybe the management can do something about this issue. Thank you Flurin and your team for a wonderful evening. You should be very proud of what you have achieved.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Do Forni, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am once again very happy to learn that Trip Advisor reviews are guiding online visitors to our restaurant. I am delighted that you had a great evening with us at Do Forni thanks to our gastronomy and excellent service. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon in Do Forni and our other restaurants.
Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good choice in PP”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Located on the ground floor of Sofitel, easy access

Welcomed by friendly staff at reataurant entrance, follow by preseco as welcome drink, that's a very good start

Good selection of food menu, wild range of Voyage du Vin (in Phnon Penh), we were very impressed by the friendly, well trained staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peggyyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Do Forni, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing you experience with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our Ambassadors friendliness and kind thoughts as well as our food and wine selection from Voyage du Vin, which invites guests to discover and taste wines from all over the world.
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you very soon to Do Forni.
Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Do Forni also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Do Forni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing