We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cupcakes and Specialty Cakes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bloom Cafe & Training Centre

Bloom Cafe & Training Centre
Ranked #1 of 42 Dessert in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Try our edible art in the form of premium celebration cakes, cupcakes (gluten free cupcakes available!) and cookies. Our stunning signature cakes, cupcakes and cookies are baked fresh daily on the premises, and are even available in special takeaway gift boxes. Enjoy a fresh smoothie, barista coffee or TWG tea while sampling an array of delicious treats at our cool cafe. You can even bring your laptop and plug into our free wi-fi. Bloom Cafe is a training centre for Bloom Asia, a not for profit organisation that provides vocational training and employment opportunities for Cambodian women.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cupcakes and Specialty Cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife ordered a custom cake from Bloom for my birthday back in April. She knows how much I miss surfing and had a cake made for me with a surfboard, palm tree and beach on it. The cake was delicious and very detailed. If you want a quality cake made, I highly recommend Bloom.

The cafe is also a great place to meet with friends and socialize over tasty cupcakes. I especially liked the Lemon Cake with Raspberry and Vanilla cupcake.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ynotlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    35
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“An oasis in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I accompanied my 17 year old daughter and 2 of her friends to this amazing place. As we walked in the relaxing and welcoming atmosphere hit us. It was bright, cheery and the women were smiling and looked happy. The cake display looked very pleasing and delicious. The prices were fantastic and the taste of cakes and drinks were wonderful. The seats were really comfy and we stayed for a while talking. It was great meeting the owner as well. Also knowing that the money was going towards helping Cambodian women made us want to spread the word. I recommend a visit to this cafe.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frizzy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Over priced cup cakes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Why so expensive?? These cup cakes are the same price as I pay for a cup cake back in Sydney, yet we all know there is a considerable difference in business costs between Sydney and Phnom Penh, so how does that work out? Western owned, guess they are wanting to charge western prices for the western expats to get a Western income??

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray l, Owner at Bloom Cafe & Training Centre, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Hi Richard, thanks for visiting Bloom. Just to provide some insight about Bloom, I think you would be pleased to hear that it is actualy a non profit training centre for Cambodian women, so there is no profit going to foreign owners.

But as to the prices themselves, each cupcake has hand made sugar art, plus to make the cakes to the quality our customers enjoy, we do need to import a lot of the ingredients so this is why there is a differential with a local backery and coffee shop. (And also why you don't see the same cupcakes anywhere else in town!)

There are other bigger cupcakes available around town, but they are also twice the price of ours (eg. $3). Our philosophy is that people would prefer to try two flavours rather than one bigger one... for the same money. Anyway, that is a little bit of info about Bloom, and thanks again for coming to see us.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic cakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

This place makes the best-looking cakes in town. The staff are friendly and will sit with you to design a cake. It's impressive what they can do with sugar icing. They also deliver the cake for $5.

I have also sampled the cupcakes, which are delicious. But at $1.50 a pop, they could be bigger in size, as they are mini-cupcakes.

The coffee here is also delicious.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank EthanandJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bloom is the Bomb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

The Most amazing cafe in all of Phnom Penh! The coffee is superb but the cakes are phenomenal! The atmosphere is cozy and stylish and it's a great place to dump your heat after a long day in the city!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lilpatmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloom Cafe & Training Centre also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Bloom Cafe & Training Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing