We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced cup cakes”

Bloom Cafe & Training Centre
Ranked #1 of 43 Dessert in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Try our edible art in the form of premium celebration cakes, cupcakes (gluten free cupcakes available!) and cookies. Our stunning signature cakes, cupcakes and cookies are baked fresh daily on the premises, and are even available in special takeaway gift boxes. Enjoy a fresh smoothie, barista coffee or TWG tea while sampling an array of delicious treats at our cool cafe. You can even bring your laptop and plug into our free wi-fi. Bloom Cafe is a training centre for Bloom Asia, a not for profit organisation that provides vocational training and employment opportunities for Cambodian women.
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Over priced cup cakes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Why so expensive?? These cup cakes are the same price as I pay for a cup cake back in Sydney, yet we all know there is a considerable difference in business costs between Sydney and Phnom Penh, so how does that work out? Western owned, guess they are wanting to charge western prices for the western expats to get a Western income??

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray l, Owner at Bloom Cafe & Training Centre, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Hi Richard, thanks for visiting Bloom. Just to provide some insight about Bloom, I think you would be pleased to hear that it is actualy a non profit training centre for Cambodian women, so there is no profit going to foreign owners.

But as to the prices themselves, each cupcake has hand made sugar art, plus to make the cakes to the quality our customers enjoy, we do need to import a lot of the ingredients so this is why there is a differential with a local backery and coffee shop. (And also why you don't see the same cupcakes anywhere else in town!)

There are other bigger cupcakes available around town, but they are also twice the price of ours (eg. $3). Our philosophy is that people would prefer to try two flavours rather than one bigger one... for the same money. Anyway, that is a little bit of info about Bloom, and thanks again for coming to see us.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    35
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic cakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

This place makes the best-looking cakes in town. The staff are friendly and will sit with you to design a cake. It's impressive what they can do with sugar icing. They also deliver the cake for $5.

I have also sampled the cupcakes, which are delicious. But at $1.50 a pop, they could be bigger in size, as they are mini-cupcakes.

The coffee here is also delicious.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank EthanandJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bloom is the Bomb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

The Most amazing cafe in all of Phnom Penh! The coffee is superb but the cakes are phenomenal! The atmosphere is cozy and stylish and it's a great place to dump your heat after a long day in the city!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lilpatmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
76 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great cupcakes in Phnom Penh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Somewhat incongruously this little cafe puts out very good cupcakes which one struggles to eat because the designs are so amazing. Though the taste can't compare to places like "Hummingbird" the designs make up for it. The staff are very competent and friendly too. Furthermore, the one time I had a coffee, it was excellent. Definitely recommended. Only issue is cupcakes are quite expensive $1.50 for Phnom Penh and they do no discount. They also make it impossibly complicated to tip the staff which is disappointing...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Horatio2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipet, Cambodia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fabulous treats and coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Bloom is a must-stop on my monthly trips to Phnom Penh. Delicious cupcakes taste like heaven and look like they sprang straight from the pages of a gourmet food magazine. The staff are cheerful and helpful, and the coffee is good too. They have free Wi-fi, and it's a great place to meet up with people or just sit and chill with a book for a few hours. Seriously, their cupcakes are just amazing - my only complaint is that I wish they were bigger! So instead, I just buy more.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingwife09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloom Cafe & Training Centre also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Bloom Cafe & Training Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing