We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No. 1 in Phnom Penh? Absolutely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Mansion
Ranked #6 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
352 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
“No. 1 in Phnom Penh? Absolutely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I was denied boarding the plane at the airport because of a typo in the visa letter; coming back, somewhat stressed, not only did I get a fabulous room at a really low price (it would have been really easy to charge me the rack rate) and a great place to stay and relax, but the concierge also solved the visa issue in an absolutely miraculous and speedy way, and his colleagues from the morning staff tried hard to get the ticket re-booked (didn't work, but not their fault). That alone is five-star in any case and in any place of the world, especially as it was offered pro-actively.

The delay had the nice side effect of me staying there - the junior suite palatially high and extremely well furnished (the only small problem were some mosquitoes, and it was so late when I discovered them that I couldn't find the spray, which is in one of the cupboards). Great breakfast and it's much appreciated that this is served à la carte and not via the ubiuitous buffet. The great pool (a "Schwimmgang", i.e. 25 m long but very narrow) is a highlight, but do watch your step when you walk in (there are also warning signs); slippage is a strong option and there are no handrails. Location is nice, close to the boutique western cool-like tourist, shop and restaurant spot of 240 street. (Phnom Penh has areas for culture tourists, areas for mass tourists and bacpackers, areas for locals, and of course overlapping ones; the locals-only areas are of course the really interesting ones, but sometimes those catering to the Home in Tuscany crowd can be relaxing as well...)

I will definitely try to stay here again (the hotel is well-booked) when back in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Sometimes an unpleasant experience leads to a pleasant experience...

A pleasant experience of Phnom Penh, that is our wish for all our Guests staying at White Mansion. So we are pleased that you enjoyed our spacious and well furnished rooms, the amenities and our Team. I hope you finally had a nice flight back!

Waiting to welcome you again here soon!

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,410
    398
    55
    18
    4
See reviews for
330
927
122
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We just returned from our Cambodia/Vietnam trip. We stayed at the White Mansion
Boutique Hotel for 2 nights while in PP. I can't say enough great things about this hotel. The service is some of the best we have ever had. The facility is beautiful, the pool, grounds etc all terrific. So so much attention to detail, the breakfast was excellent as was the restaurant service.

They have a wonderful little dog that greets you in the lobby, her name is Marcel, sweetest little doggie.

The spa was excellent.

Easy walk to the river, restaurants, Palace, etc.

Every member of their staff greeted us with a smile every time we saw them.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickH1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Patrick,

Thanks for your fabulous review and comments about White Mansion. We sincerely appreciate your comment about being impressed with our little hotel - it's priceless. It was such a great pleasure top spend those 2 days with you. You are welcome here any time!

Marcelle also send you her best regards :)

Thank you again and have a great week!

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Two nights in a Junior Suite Double. Beautiful Hotel, room was fantastic,olde charm with high ceilings and big windows.
Staff were above expectations, and the breakfast was great except that it came all at once on the first morning, croissant then American.I just thought the staff were keen.I recommend the omlette with American and a cappucino.Very nice,we chose to sit outside on the second day, good choice as not too hot this time of year.

Room was very good, had a nice oil burner on in the bathroom when we checked in.Fruit platter was welcome but the plate stayed for the entire stay.I said no one is perfect,but this place is close.Free soft drink and water from the mini bar fridge is a great idea, thank you.

Booked a tuk tuk through the hotel, they have a few with the hotel's name on the back and numbered,so easy to find at Phnom Penh's attractions.Cost for the tuk tuk was $20 for 8 hours and our tuk tuk (#1) had the friendliest driver. He is a credit to Cambodian friendlieness, great guy.Booked a Sunset River Cruise thru the front desk as well. I would have liked to have had a 'menu' of tours to book in the room with prices etc., just a suggestion.

This will be our hotel next time we visit, friendly and very classy and at a price I thought was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandHBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

As you know, it is an honor each time we read such a comment about our team and White Mansion. We really do appreciated this recognition when one of our guest take some of his precious time to leave us a review and a 5 on Tripadvisor.

We don't sell tours simple because there is no travel companies in Phnom Penh who are specialists for daily tourists attractions tours so far. As we are not travel agent, we prefer to propose a list of official independent guides and give informations on how to move around Phnom Penh.

We all hope you will return soon!

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hotel overall: Super lovely hotel. Refurbished to it's grand French colonial state with high ceilings, a simple yet gorgeous foyer. Everything very understated but simply lovely.

Hotel location: The location of the hotel is decent, about 1 km walking distance to the riverside and the royal palace which are the main hubs of the city. The walk is not super pleasant as you have to cross roads with crazy traffic coming at you from everywhere. However you can take a tuk tuk for only $3 each way or you can brave it and walk as we did because we wanted to experience what it's like to cross streets in Phnom Penh. We loved it as it was exhilarating but might not be for all so just take a tuk tuk. Super easy.

Hotel room: Room was spacious and airy with gorgeous but simple furniture. The bed was super comfortable, the bathroom was modern and spotless with all modern amenities.

Hotel staff: The hotel staff were lovely and very welcoming. Not over the top and cheesy!! They were very well trained and spoke very good English.

Wifi: The was free in the room and it was quite strong.

Breakfast: The breakfast was served in the hotel cafe called Le Cafe which was a lovely minimalist space and we could order anything off the menu - simple menu but everything was freshly prepared, beautifully presented and delicious. Again lovely wait staff.

Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Emilia,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review, we loved hearing from you here on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your recognition of our team's efforts and I am glad that they had made your stay with us such an enjoyable one.

Look forward to having the both of you with us again the next time you visit Phnom Penh!

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General Meu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

My large room overlooking an elementary school was beautifully furnished, indeed a treat to stay in for 4 nights away from the bustling streets. One's bedding is turned down late afternoon and biscuits and fruit are issued daily. A choice of breakfast is freshly cooked and passion fruit offered as a taster for more to come. The staff are extremely courteous and go the extra mile to please. My only regret was for the female staff who looked out of place dressed in tight fitting western style slacks. More traditional attire would have been more becoming.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool may be quieter than overlooking the elementary school.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irobertson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and your feedback about your stay at White Mansion. I am glad our team was able to exceed your expectations. I hope you enjoyed the city and that you will be back for more to discover.


Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

It is with good reason that White Mansion Boutique currently sits at #1 on tripadvisor hotel listings for Phnom Penh!

Situated within walking distance to the National Monument and Royal Palace area, the hotel is perfect to explore Phnom Penh or relax in comfort. The rooms are enormous!! I do not think we've been in any hotel room quite as big!

We had a warm welcome with refreshments and a quick and easy check in (despite being hours earlier than 2pm. I think we lucked out with the previous guest having a early departure). Le Cafe offers a good selection of healthy and comfort food, and a good number of options for vegetarians, should that be of interest. Breakfast is made on request; with quick service and careful attention to custom requirements.

Besides the cosy rooms and tasty meals, the staff is just exceptional! They went out of their way to arrange our transport (taxis, tuk tuks), make dinner reservations for us and in general exceeded our expectations! Kudos to the most friendly and helpful team at White Mansion. I would be remiss not to mention this key player in the team - Marcel the hotel dog! She is so cute and playful, I thoroughly enjoyed her welcoming us every single day. Such a delight! :)

The spa is good, my facial was relaxing and enjoyable - worth adding a visit in if you have time.
Lastly, there are dvds available at the front desk to spend hot afternoons tucked in bed watching those flicks you've been meaning to see.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cppriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-WM, Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing this raving review of your stay with us - we're absolutely thrilled by it!

Feedback from our guests is always useful to us as we continue in our endeavour to provide a level of service and personalised experience that is second to none. It is so heartening to learn that you had enjoyed such a memorable stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience in the near future!

Warm regards from Marcelle :)

Ms.Sokha Meu
General Meu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I am staying here at the moment. We are in a deluxe room on the top floor. We have a great contemporary space with a small terrace and a roomy bathroom and a comfy bed with quality linen. Nice extra touches like cookies at bedtime and comp soft drinks in the mini bar. Plenty of hot water and good shower pressure. Staff are a delight. Pool area is small but attractive.breakfast is great ,especially the passion fruit juice. Only two tiny things we feel could be better, and stop me from giving 5stars the shower is a wet room with the basin and wc, so as soon as the shower has been used, the rest of the floor is soaked and out of bounds. Also as we are travelling for several weeks it would have been lovely to have had a few drawers for our clothes. That said, we are being well looked after and on our next visit we'll look to upgrade to a suite. I definitely recommend the white mansion.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank catllar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor. You are right, our Suites on Junior Suites will meet all your expectations, where the cheapest Deluxe did not.

Kind regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
1.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.2 mi away
VMansion Boutique Hotel
VMansion Boutique Hotel
#8 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mansion

Property: White Mansion
Address: 26 Street 240, Phnom Penh 12207, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage [ˈvɪntɪdʒ]: denoting something from the past of high quality, especially something representing the best of its kind. Welcome to the historical residence of the American Embassy in Phnom Penh. Unique charming boutique hotel, White Mansion is located in the heart of the city, only few steps away from all major highlights and business area, in a quiet environment. New addition, the famous French Eric Kayser Bakery and Cafe is now part of our offer on site. A unique experience of Phnom Penh to enjoy your nights as well as your breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your White Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing