We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real pleasure.”
Review of White Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Mansion
Ranked #7 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real pleasure.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This place makes for a delightful retreat in the bustling city. The exterior and interior are classic and charming with a superb pool area to lounge. Best of all, the cafe on the first floor serves up the tastiest complementary breakfast we had in our 3 week trip -- not to be missed are the Nutella crepes and quality cappuccino.

The manager told us the building is the former residence of the US Ambassador, which only seems fitting since the staff make you feel welcomed and comfortable from the minute you walk in the door.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Mansion B, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Annie,

The real pleasure was for all of us to have you in White Mansion! Thank you so much for your kind and sweet review, it was shared with all of our team. It is positive energy for the all day.

Glad you appreciated our Chef freshly cooked breakfast every morning.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in White Mansion again soon.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,456
    406
    55
    18
    4
See reviews for
341
949
125
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just spent two nights in Phnom Penh which was amazing. The city is mad, very busy, chaotic driving, incredible sights everywhere. The White Mansion was the former US embassy and it is a stunning hotel. Very friendly and courteous staff and the whole atmosphere is very classy. We had room 411 which had a small balcony overlooking the city. I spent one sunset watching a group of Flying Fox bats leave their roost and fly across the Mekong to a small island where they feed in the fruit trees-breathtaking. The room wasn't large but it had everything we needed. The hotel is only a couple of US dollar tuc-tuc ride away from anywhere. PP won't be everyone's cup of tea, it was miine! The people were all really friendly but some people may find the begging children and land-mine victims unsettling. Visit the holocaust museum and the killing fields, a truly moving experience. It's incredible to think that a country with such a terrible past can be place were you feel so at ease and un-threatened. There are cautions about bags and phones being snatched but I suspect the risks are much less than any western city. We ate at the Foreign Correspondence Club which was really atmospheric and interesting and if you book, you can get a table overlooking the Mekong and the busy street below. It's full of ex-pats but the Khmer food is excellent as well, I had the beef loc-lac (I think that's what it;s called) really good and the prices are reasonable. Go to PP as it is so different from what we have here, do the Pol Pot thing and learn about these incredible people and stay at the White Mansion, it's gorgeous.

Room Tip: Get 411 and watch the bats
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Degsy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Mansion B, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Your lovely review is so positive and moving. I am pleased you enjoyed my City: Phnom Penh. Indeed very different from most capitals I traveled to in the world but also full of little treasures that can be captured at any time… A smile or a look, so many emotions we have to offer.

Thank you for choosing White Mansion as part of your experience of our beautiful country.

We all hope to see you again!


Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at the White Mansion hotel twice in November 2013, for 1 night and then for 2 nights. We were very happy with all aspects of the hotel and would have loved to stay longer. The building itself was gorgeous, our twin bedded room on the ground floor was incredibly spacious, the bathroom (and associated toiletries) great. It was like a home away from home. The management and staff were unfailing attentive,generous, and helpful. Definitely will be our first pick the next time we are in Phnom Penh (hopefully that won't be too far away!)

Room Tip: Room 11 twin bedded room was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cso_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Mansion B, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

A home away from home… The best compliment we can receive from our Guests. And indeed, it is true, this is exactly how we think daily: we treat everyone as we would do with one of our family member.

Thank you very much for your kind words.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Delightful one night stay - wish it had been longer - at this very well run boutique hotel. The staff were delightful, the bedding beautifully soft, the lap pool perfect and refreshing and the position on street 240 with its boutiques and restaurants just perfect for walking and exploring.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happydad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Mansion B, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

This is really positive energy for us to read your review about White Mansion. Thank you very much for taking some of your precious time to write it, we all appreciate it.

We all look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Really nice hotel with very helpful staff and great pool. Stayed for 2 nights in a standard deluxe & 1 night in Junior suite, as they were fully booked for standard rooms on 3rd night - both rooms were excellent but did not think junior suite was worth extra money - bit larger room but no balcony, smaller bathroom and less cupboard space - we may have got one of their best standard rooms (room 416), as they don't all have balconies. Would definitely stay there again (tried to book for our last night in Cambodia as well but were fully booked) but would go for a standard room.

Room Tip: Room 416 is a standard room but with balcony and huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Mansion B, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your nice review about describing White Mansion as great hotel with a very helpful staff. Indeed, we daily try to do our maximum to meet our guest s expectations.

I shared it with all our team and they were very pleased.

Have a nice week.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I agree with some of the reviewers that this hotel had some design issues. I understand that being a boutique hotel housed in an old colonial building, not all rooms are made the same.

But I believe the staff made up for it. They made up for everything so well that I can look away from the design issues. I also think that the hotel is reasonably priced for the service and quality (albeit room design issue).

I am from Malaysia, and we are not exactly world class if I say so myself. For this amount of money you will get a cheap 2 plus star hotel in Kuala Lumpur with cockroaches (if you are lucky) near Pudu or Petaling Street. So for the amount of money I paid to White Mansion I was satisfied.

Our room has an open bathroom (meaning there was no door separating the room and the bathroom) the problem is when it aircon is on it gets cold while you take a shower. Easy remedy - switch off the aircon while you are showering, that's not so hard it is? Good.

White Mansion offers made to order breakfast – what a lovely delight. I prefer this much more than standard prison canteen style hotel buffet. Try their omelette with cheese and mushroom. I had this everyday when I was there. The croissant was amazing too.

The staff made everything amazing in my opinion. Breakfast is from 6am (if I am not mistaken) but we had to catch an early flight to Siem Reap on morning and they prepared a simple breakfast at 5am as we needed to leave the hotel at 530am to catch our flight. Try doing this at a 5 star hotel, yes I know they can, they will also charge you hefty sum.

The white mansion tuk tuk in my opinion is your best bet travelling around town without getting scammed. He is reasonably priced and friendly, you need not to haggle with him. I hate having to haggle with tuk tuk drivers.

The White Mansion spa is ok for the price. I would recommend Bodia spa though (but bodia is twice the price of white mansion spa) so you get what you paid for. For ladies out there, you can get the White Mansion tuk tuk driver to send you to Bodia Spa and pick you up (this is a waaaay safer option than taking random tuk tuk, in my opinion).

Room Tip: The White Mansion spa is ok for the price. I would recommend Bodia spa though (but bodia is twice th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Mansion B, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First I would like to thank you very much for this long and fair review. I shares it with all the team and they appreciated the time you took to write it.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed White Mansion and the Chef's fresh breakfast.

Regarding the open bathroom, only 2 are designed like this out of 30.

We all hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Phnom Penh.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My 2 friends and I stayed in what was advertised as a'"Junior Suite with twin beds" last week - the hotel kindly supplying a very comfortable third bed in the extremely spacious room for a very reasonable extra fee. After travelling for a couple of weeks around Cambodia in 2 star hotels, what a delight it was to stay at the White Mansion and be treated to such luxury at such reasonable prices. We could not recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Time4Travel20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Mansion B, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Indeed, no better place than White Mansion to end up a journey across beautiful Cambodia.

I am pleased that you could rest and take advantage of our hotel.

Thank you for your nice review.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,466 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,625 reviews
0.3 mi away
the 252
the 252
#13 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,239 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 267 in Phnom Penh
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mansion

Property: White Mansion
Address: 26 Street 240, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the historical Residence of the American Embassy in Phnom Penh. Unique charming Boutique hotel, White Mansion is located in the heart of the city, only few steps away from all major highlights and business area, in a quiet environment. As a gift, all Privilege rate bookers will receive a complementary pick up from airport with a private car, a relaxing Welcome Khmer Massage, a delicious unlimited Eric Kayser breakfast (serve daily from 6am until 5pm!), a welcome drink, a welcome fruit plate, Early check-in and Late check-out whenever available, free use of the minibar in the room, unlimited WiFi and at last but not least full flexibility with free cancellation up to 24 hours prior checking day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your White Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing