We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Mansion
Ranked #6 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed in Phnom Penh as a single person as I was taking semi-professional photos. My wife didnt want to do the stupid early starts. The hotel is in a perfect location in the sea of dust and bedlam that is just simply the life of Cambodias capital city.

The Hotel was once the USA embassy and is decorated in French Colonial style. It is a 15 minute walk from the Royal Palace and just a 10 minute Tuk Tuk ride from the Russian Market (still want to know why its called the Russian Market?)

Reception and Check in was pleasant and simple. They even accomadated an early checkin without a fuss. The room was well appointed and most importantly cool. The bathroom was much bigger than in other similar hotels I have stayed in. The shower to my delight was large and the pressure of water certainly helped knock off the days travel dust.

Breakfast was perfect. I had an early flight on my last day and the staff came in half an hour early to ensure that I got my coffee and toast before heading to the airport. Good service with pleasant smile.

Once again if you want a small slice of heaven in the hustle and bustle of Phnom Penh then look no further, it is just perfect.

Room Tip: Any room I believe would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaktam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    390
    54
    17
    3
See reviews for
323
907
122
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having been to Phnom Pehn, this is by far the best boutique, in terms of amenities & service.

Then, we lost about $400 USD at the bag check, after checking out. We were sure since we found out right after retreiving the bags on the way to the airport.

To be fair, we should have never left valuables at the bag check. It was the GM's appalling response response service after that left a bad taste.

We emailed the hotel about the incident, which the GM quickly responded to. His response was fast: "Sorry... we are investigating it... the police is involved.. but you should not have left your valuables in the bags..." I found the implied shift of responsibilities annoying, but he was right.

It's interesting that calling police is their first response, given internal investigation should come first to protect the bell men. Nevertheless, when I asked for a proof of police report several times, it never produced.

After explicitly informing him that I didn't expect monetary compenstation for my foolishness, I told the GM that I would give them a second chance at the service recovery, because this occurred under their watch. The service recovery would determine how i review them.

In response, the GM threatened legal action if I post about this. Quite funny, given I am not a Cambodian citizen and suing for internationa libel would require enormous resources. I was even planning for a trip back, now I am telling all my friends and family to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dionysus38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Myself and friend stayed at the White Mansion. From the moment we arrived the service was 5 star. Nothing was to much trouble and a genuine interest in making our stay pleasurable was a priority. The team helped to shape and even planned our itinerary for us, which was as good if not better than any Lonely Planet guide book.
The rooms we immaculate we had a suite each with plenty of room and great facilities.
Everything about this hotel is great and I can't recommend enough.
The hotel had recommended Tuc Tuc drivers number 9 was brilliant.
I have stayed in 5 star hotel's all over Asia, when you take into account the service this has been the best by far.

Room Tip: We stayed twice over a week and had a junior suite first which was great, we then had a full suite w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aubreymgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Went for the best suite and was not disappointed. Great atmosphere, firm bed, and friendly staff. Only downside were towels that had lost their fluff long ago - a small thing that could be easily fixed, especially given the price for the room.

Room Tip: Pay up and go for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macrosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shenzhen
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in a junior suite, with an extra bed for my daughter. The staff was exceptionally helpful after an Agoda booking error. We were told that the building was the former U.S Embassy, The design of the rooms is lovely, very soothing, and free from typical hotel furnishings. It appears that the suite and bath are handicap accessible . There was sufficient space for our family of four to spread out comfortably, without tripping over each other or our luggage. Breakfast was included, fresh made and prepared by order. The spa services left a bit to be desired ( but were very inexpensive) The hotel is an easy walk to the palace, parks, museums and dining choices.

Room Tip: the view from 113 may leave you with the curtains drawn. You absolutely need either long pants or b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinashenzhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi - vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The staff is absolutely friendly, the room is clean and well decorated, the location is fine, not far from the riverside but quiet. The swimming pool is ok and peaceful. Good for relaxing. Kidds are welcome! It was a very nice experience in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: The rooms at the 4th floor have a terrace, you can enjoy a beautiful the city view by night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sosohanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel has a fantastic staff and offer a warm hospitality. Big rooms and a kind of modern minimalism. The restaurant is small and more like a modern cafe. We stayed here in March 2013 and got a room on 4th floor. The lift only goes to 3r floor. We had a smaller room but a roof teracce. We had a AC that did not funcion well. It was very hot and even with a fan on the table e had warm nights. They tried to fix it two times, but actually it was the same. There was a bad smell from the drain in the shower, and we had to put water in the drain after each toilett visit. But any way the hotel is a nice place to stay with a very good location.

Room Tip: Not 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
VMansion Boutique Hotel
VMansion Boutique Hotel
#9 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mansion

Property: White Mansion
Address: 26 Street 240, Phnom Penh 12207, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage [ˈvɪntɪdʒ]: denoting something from the past of high quality, especially something representing the best of its kind. Welcome to the historical residence of the American Embassy in Phnom Penh. Unique charming boutique hotel, White Mansion is located in the heart of the city, only few steps away from all major highlights and business area, in a quiet environment. New addition, the famous French Eric Kayser Bakery and Cafe is now part of our offer on site. A unique experience of Phnom Penh to enjoy your nights as well as your breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your White Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing