We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Phnom Penh”
Review of White Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Mansion
Ranked #6 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is housed in the former US embassy and has been tastefully reconfigured. The hotel reception staff are excellent as is Le Cafe the hotel dining area. It has a neat boutique pool area that makes the most of the limited room available but it is still 25 metres long. If you want a massive pool you won't get it in PP.

The rooms are spacious and we never heard anyone outside the room as per a previous review. The staff were timely and efficient. We actually got a decent coffee as good as you can find in a good cafe in Australia.

Breakfast is quality and prices are reasonable . They have a small boutique area selling handicrafts made by disabled people. Normally this stuff is poor quality. The handbags my wife bought for around $22 US were outstanding and were obviously selected to fit in well with the quality of the place.

We came with my family and could recommend the hotel as a quality Oasis in a busy city that is a $2 tuk tuk ride to the restaurants and action of Sisowath Quay and the palace.

If you want a Raffles style experience at half the price consider this.



Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Punchclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,571 - 1,577 of 2,054 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Maybe I missed what the other reviewers who have given the White Mansion top scores saw.

Yes the rooms are big, yes they are furnished, yes they've got a large bathroom, etc. However, the rooms feel cold. Decoration-wise they're painted white and black, and for me they were missing something that made the rooms (or the hotel interior) unique, unusual or linked to Phnom Penh.

The attached cafe is good for breakfast (which was included in the rate), but at other times the service was really slow (30 minutes for a sandwich to arrive felt overly long especially when it arrived).

As I say maybe we missed what others saw.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel, those at the back (especially on the 1st floor) have a pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Round_t_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed there 4 nights and had a great stay. Super friendly staff, very helpfull and service minded, clean and big rooms, small restaurant with nice and healthy breakfast choices.
Nice pool, free wifi, well just positive things to say about the Mansion. Do not miss if you are staying in Phonm Penh.

Room Tip: Ask for room 415, great overlook over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zvante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A truly wonderful hotel. Beautiful, large rooms. A great location within walking distance of the Royal Palace and River. Lots of Restaurants to choose from on 240 Street. The service could not have been better, staff were friendly and very helpful. The extras are a nice touch, a decent DVD borrowing collection (incl kids titles) and free soft drinks a water in the mini bar. We stayed with 3 small children and we did not have to compromise style for child friendliness. There is a also a small room with an xbox that my son loved when touring in the heat was too much for him. There were numerous other families staying there but you would never know. One of the best I have visited.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majurormi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is wonderful. The rooms are clean and well appointed with attention to detail. The staff is professional and supportive. The children enjoyed the pool after a long day of exploring and were made to feel welcome. Based on the hotel, we wish we could have stayed in town longer!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebrowns24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you want comfort security and attentive service look at the White Mansion crew which has improved over the year to make you feel at home since they attend to a smallest need with care and diligence; lovely Soka at the reception to give you guidelines and reserve tables for dinner as the walking talking encyclopedia of Cambodia and be a three-in one-friend,guide and philosopher in Phnom Penh.
One drawback amidst the quality are the dismal towels and the lack of a cozy lounge to laze.

I rate it as the best in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruvinivavuniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I can't say enough about how good this hotel and staff are - the building is beautiful, the rooms (we stayed in 2) were large, tastefully decorated and furnished, good bathrooms with excellent showers, free wifi throughout, & complimentary drinks from the mini bar! Lovely pool, Le Cafe on site serves a very good breakfast, with a choice of styles to choose from. We had dinner one night which was very good and the pricing was reasonable for a quality hotel. I was unfortunately taken ill during our stay (the usual travellers tummy) and after nearly passing out with dehydration the staff arranged a quick trip to the excellent SOS clinic in the next street and were wonderful in assisting my husband with rescheduling our departure and finding us a room for an extra night while I received fluids at the clinic. I was well enough the next day to travel and they arranged a car for us instead of our bus trip so that I could be more comfortable and all their help and kindness was really appreciated. Every staff member deserves a medal for their smiles and attitude of nothing is too much trouble. I would highly recommend this hotel to all travelers to Phnom Penh, and also remind you all to make sure you drink lots of fluids!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emdeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 278 in Phnom Penh
2,626 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 278 in Phnom Penh
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#10 of 278 in Phnom Penh
287 reviews
1 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 278 in Phnom Penh
676 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 278 in Phnom Penh
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mansion

Address: 26 Street 240, Phnom Penh 12207, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $95 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the historical Residence of the American Embassy in Phnom Penh. Unique charming Boutique hotel, White Mansion is located in the heart of the city, only few steps away from all major highlights and business area, in a quiet environment. As a gift, all Privilege rate bookers will receive a complementary pick up from airport with a private car, a relaxing Welcome Khmer Massage, a delicious unlimited Eric Kayser breakfast (serve daily from 6am until 5pm!), a welcome drink, a welcome fruit plate, Early check-in and Late check-out whenever available, free use of the minibar in the room, unlimited WiFi and at last but not least full flexibility with free cancellation up to 24 hours prior checking day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your White Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing