We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hotel”
Review of White Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Mansion
Ranked #7 of 276 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is my second time to Phnom Penh. I love Cambodia more than any place I have been to in Asia. The last time I was here I stayed at the FCC hotel which was good and had a view of the Mekong which was a plus. No view here, but let me give you the 411 on this place.

When we arrived we were tended to by no fewer than five employees. I couldn't believe it. And it wasn't trite or fake. They really meant it. I mentioned to the head guy "the trip took almost 20 hours from my home" and he said "Welcome this is your home now". Nice.

I had heard that this was the former residence of the U.S. Ambassador to Cambodia. It looks new inside. Lots of marble and impeccably furnished.

The room I had was fairly huge. The shower was fabulous. The TV was a new flat screen. I can't think of anything else I could ask for. They gave us a very nice fruit dish in our rooms. What's interesting is all the fruit on the dish I had never seen before. Pretty exotic.

The location is very central. You can take a tuk tuk anywhere for just a couple bucks. If you want a driver or guide contact me and I will give you the best guy who I have kind of adopted. He is typical of the best of Cambodia. A gentle soul that really cares. Just writing this makes me want to jump on a plane.

Forgot to mention you can get an in-room massge. My therapist was incredible and as I recall it was around $15 for an hour. It was so great I had her stay another half hour.

Don't forget to go to the famous nightclub called "The Heart of Darkness" and buy one of their t-shirts. If you want to live on the edge you can go to an airborne military base (not much of a base) and shoot anything from an AK47 to a grenade launcher. I tossed a grenade, and my friend Joe fired a grenade launcher. The people that run it are very cool and remembered us from last year.

I like a view of the river, but will give it up to stay here. It is that good. As the manager said to me, it is now my home in Phnom Penh.

One more comment on Cambodia. Land here and hire a prvate car to take you to Angkor Wat. You can do it for $100. The trip takes close to six hours a I remember but you will see the people and how they live on the way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tubeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,585 - 1,591 of 2,026 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very elegant, clean and classy hotel in the centre of Phnom Penh. Great walled garden with sunloungers and swimming pool. Free bottled water and soft drinks in the mini bar, very reasonably priced beauty therapies. Good breakfasts. Tuk-Tuk or taxi service available outside the door. Nice touches such as fresh fruit platter on arrival, nightly turn down service with snack.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaNamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

One of the best stays on our tour in Vietnam and Cambodia.
The staff was very attentive and we immediately felt at home.
Location was good and only a few minutes with Tuk Tuk to the different attractions.
After a long and hot day, a dip in the pool was very welcom.

Room Tip: The suite was a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beltec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel twice and both times the staff were so friendly and incredibly helpful. The hotel itself is new, so still in very good condition. It has a lovely cool atmosphere with high ceilings and tiled floors. I only had the healthy breakfast option, which was delicious and well presented.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank sue_wombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked this Hotel based on reviews on trip advisor. We were booking for four other family members too all meeting up in Cambodia from Malaysia, Chicago and Adelaide. As the booking was,left to us the pressure was on. This boutique Hotel was perfect, beautifully decorated, very clean and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely recommend this Hotel. We only stayed for one night but would have been happy to,stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie-Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have travelled a lot through Asia & have found this hotel to be one of the best we have used. The premises were extremely well presented inside & out, the staff's attention to detail & guest needs were fantastic, always smiling & accommodating. The only reason for rating sleep quality as average is that we are used to a soft bed at home & no reflection on the hotel. The location is very good, easy walk to town centre & even the Central Market however for some Tuk Tuks may suit better & are readily available. Food quality was excellent & would recommend the Full American Breakfast. Other restaurants are within close proximity. Pool is a good size 25m lap pool & the loungers are tidy & well maintained.
To sum it up we would & are recommending this hotel to anyone visiting Phnom Pehn.

New Zealand

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Excellent boutique hotel in a quaint, cool location in Phnom Penh - off the tourist beat, yet only a short tuk tuk ride from the river and city center.

Staff are above and beyond, and rooms are clean, neat, well decorated and quiet.

Street 240 where White Mansion is located, has some of the best food and bars in the city, all within a couple of minutes walk from the hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jes-KP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 276 in Phnom Penh
2,588 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 276 in Phnom Penh
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#8 of 276 in Phnom Penh
263 reviews
1 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#3 of 276 in Phnom Penh
654 reviews
1.3 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#15 of 276 in Phnom Penh
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mansion

Address: 26 Street 240, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 276 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $92 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the historical Residence of the American Embassy in Phnom Penh. Unique charming Boutique hotel, White Mansion is located in the heart of the city, only few steps away from all major highlights and business area, in a quiet environment. As a gift, all Privilege rate bookers will receive a complementary pick up from airport with a private car, a relaxing Welcome Khmer Massage, a delicious unlimited Eric Kayser breakfast (serve daily from 6am until 5pm!), a welcome drink, a welcome fruit plate, Early check-in and Late check-out whenever available, free use of the minibar in the room, unlimited WiFi and at last but not least full flexibility with free cancellation up to 24 hours prior checking day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your White Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing