We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant simplicity”
Review of White Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Mansion
Ranked #7 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant simplicity”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The White Mansion hotel is a boutique establishment offering spacious accommodation and presenting a décor of elegant simplicity.
Young, beautifully mannered, enthusiastic, ever attentive and engaging people who act both professionally and friendly staff the hotel.
Given that the hotel has been ‘fitted’ into an existing building, the rooms vary in layout and outlook.
My wife and I stayed at the White Mansion on three separate occasions when visiting Cambodia. Of the three junior suites allocated, two were light and airy with city views and the third was more spacious but had a much lower ceiling and gave us a view of the pool.
On returning to the hotel from trips away from Phnom Penh, we were greeted enthusiastically by staff, tuk tuk drivers and the security man alike. It was a great 'home' coming.

A plea: Please take the time to engage the staff in conversation. They yearn to be proficient in many languages and will greatly appreciate a little of your time and some patience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayqueueSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,456
    406
    55
    18
    4
See reviews for
341
949
125
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We recently had a 2 night stay is this very well run and friendly hotel. Our first room had a slight smell and it was no trouble for them to move us. The next room was exceptional, I loved the decor and level of comfort, a nice relief after a long and dusty trip. The 25 m pool was outstandingly clean, the food great. I had a very professional manicure and pedicure for $9 and the polish lasted. I will be recommending this one to friends.

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite, got a good deal on Agoda
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel is beautiful, the rooms are sensational and feel very opulent. We found a fantastic rate via agoda for the junior suite including breakfast which is the best we have had since we arrived in Cambodia.

The staff are lovely, always smiling and very helpful.

The food and beverage manager is also very helpful and very keen to ensure guests are enjoying the restaurants breakfast which as i said is really good.

We also enjoyed a massage and facial which once again was the best we have had in our two week trip. For just $30 per person my husband and i shared a room so could experience the two hours of pampering together.

The pool is just lovely and is actually refreshing as the water remains cool.

My only complaint is that the lift only works sporadically... but really it wouldn't stop me from staying again. Oh and I might add for the hotels information that the pillows are a little to large so supplying some flatter pillows as an option could be a good idea.

Great stay overall...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelh0lic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hppwm, Guest Relations Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the team, I would like to thank you for taking some of your time to give us your feedback about your nice experience in White Mansion and Spa.

Regarding the lift, is it is true that we had for the first time in 3 months, about 4-5 stops of 10 min each only, over a 48 hour period. It was the time needed to get the new spare part shipped from Australia.

As for smaller pillows, they are available on request at the front desk.

It was an honour for White Mansion to welcome you and we all wish to greet you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sokha Meu
Guest Relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This was our first trip to Cambodia & Phnom Penh and what a way to start. The only unfortunate thing was we were only there for 2 days and 1 night. The White Mansion was an exceptional hotel with fantastic helpful staff. We had a suite and it was great, very large with a huge bathroom. The pool area was a lovely place to relax and unwind after a day of walking the city, although a little noisy given we were so close to the city but very private and not a big distraction. The cafe was very clean and the breakfast menu had a great variety with good size portions, and once again wondertul staff. We have recommended to friends and would certainly stay there again but for a longer peiod next time.

Room Tip: Pay for a suite, it's worth the extra $$$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patong, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This hotel is in the best street of Phnom Penh. Situated in the formal American Ambassy.
Very grand and chique. Great rooms. Nice pool in a tiny garden. Extremely clean and very nice staff. Great breakfast. Really very very good!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This was my 7th visit to Phnom Penh and spent five nights here and enjoyed the suite we had, which was huge and very well maintained.The pool area was very nice and great after
a day out in Phnom Penh.The staff were very pleasant and especially Sarith who was a delight to meet everyday,with his big smile & conversation.
I did'nt like the concept of the Restaurant/Cafe,it does'nt compliment the hotel remotely.
Some staff in the restaurant whilst trying hard,don't have the skills to do their job well,I would like to see the room rate include breakfast as some of the guys in the restaurant have a better understanding of what the guests wishes to order.

Sokha was very professional when I has a small issue

Overall great rooms,great pool,great front of house staff,great pool,but the Cafe concept and service don't meet the other exacting standards of this new hotel.

I would certainly stay here again as I'm sure it will get even better

Room Tip: Suite 314 very nice,I actually enjoyed the balcony and the views and the sounds of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garywilcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay and this hotel is one of the best for sure for the price of 80-115 usd when book directly through hotels website. We were offered a promotional code for free breakfast which was a very nice gesture.
The hotel is in the city, so I agree with previous guests comments that it can get loud in the morning, but dont think any hotel can avoid this. The front desk is very helpful and if they can they will assist in any way. The breakfast staff while very nice, sometimes dont understand what the guests are asking for, so end up being offered a plate of bread 3 times..2 plates of fruit etc. Better english skills is a must. While breakfast is a la carte they have a good choice of fresh juice, continental and american breakfast in a nice calm ambience..sometimes if there is a power cut you might not have one though..
Restaurant and room service menu for lunch I consider is overpriced unfortunately.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCJULIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hppwm, Guest Relations Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your fair review of White Mansion. We are pleased that you consider staying here as an excellent value.

It is true that all of our staff improves English skills every day. Most of them take French and English evening classes since they really have the desire to communicate better. Also, as we opened only 2 months ago, we still have adjust few professional skills and you can be sure we’re all motivated to continue working on that.

Kind regards from all the team,

Sokha Meu
Guest Relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,466 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,625 reviews
0.3 mi away
the 252
the 252
#13 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,239 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 267 in Phnom Penh
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mansion

Property: White Mansion
Address: 26 Street 240, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the historical Residence of the American Embassy in Phnom Penh. Unique charming Boutique hotel, White Mansion is located in the heart of the city, only few steps away from all major highlights and business area, in a quiet environment. As a gift, all Privilege rate bookers will receive a complementary pick up from airport with a private car, a relaxing Welcome Khmer Massage, a delicious unlimited Eric Kayser breakfast (serve daily from 6am until 5pm!), a welcome drink, a welcome fruit plate, Early check-in and Late check-out whenever available, free use of the minibar in the room, unlimited WiFi and at last but not least full flexibility with free cancellation up to 24 hours prior checking day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your White Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing