We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, lovely staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number 9 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Number 9 Hotel
Ranked #45 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

This place was at the top of our budget but great for a break from the really cheap rooms. Very friendly staff, close to everything and simple but nice rooms. Outside spaces are lovely for lazy days. Cost about 10euro each for a double room - more than we'd normally spend but still v good value.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkOBroin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    111
    88
    49
    33
See reviews for
21
111
72
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level Contributor
265 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

While our room wasn’t terrible, it wasn’t very cool either. Pretty basic, no windows. However, the lobby/restaurant area has a cool vibe and great wifi, so we ended up hanging there and getting some work done. Within walking distance from a bunch of mani/pedi and massage places as well as cheap laundry! We bought our first night on Agoda and then negotiated a further-reduced rate, which we paid up front in cash for the rest of our nights there.

Room Tip: Ask for one with wifi as the wifi doesn't reach to all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiesiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Clean rooms, $25 a night for a double, small swimming pool on the roof that was well needed after a sweaty day in Phnom Penh ( a bit dirty though) . Right next to the palace and the river, lots of good places to eat within walking distance

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Going by the website pictures, my friend and I were really excited about staying here. While our budget was $15 per night for our holiday in Cambodia, we thought it was ok to stretch it to $25 for this leg, as the property seemed promising, and we felt we could do with a wee bit of luxury. But it was perhaps the worst choice in our 10-day stay in Cambodia.

We had already booked with them over internet and a couple of days before we were to reach Phnom Penh, I shot out a mail to them requesting information about how far they are from the Bus Station and whether they have pick services. I got no response.

When I mentioned that to them at checkin, the receptionist said they can't access mails. What?? You are

Also the receptionist looked utterly annoyed about speaking to us. He wanted to get done with us as soon as possible and our attempt at familiarizing ourselves with the surroundings and the city were met with irritation and frustrated looks, while he did pass on the information without our eyes meeting. Which was not the case when he was speaking to other white-skinned women.

Later that evening when we returned from outside, there was someone else at the reception and he was quite helpful and cheerful. We booked a bike through him. It was $6 for a day. And he needed one of our passport. So we give it to him. He reconfirmed that the bike would arrive at 0645am, as we wanted to leave at 0700 am. All was good, till at 0715am in the morning there was no sign of the bike. A couple of calls later there was no development. At 0745 my friend climbed down 4 stairs to sort the matter. Apparently, they had understood it at a bicylce. I wonder which country takes your passport to ride bicycles? Anyways they took one dollar more for a motorbike and said it would arrive in 15 minutes.

15 minutes later we get a call from the reception saying they would like to speak with us in person. When we head down and the grumpy receptionist from the previous day tells us that we have to deposit $800 to take the bike out, because we are Indians!! When we asked him why he hadn't clarified the same the previous day, he honeslty didn't seem to care. We offered to deposit $100 with a promise to be extra careful with the bike. It didn't work. When we told him how he had set our plans back by almost 2 hours and didn't know how we should head out now, he seemed unconcerned and shrugged his shoulder saying 'Take a tuk-tuk'. We were pretty furious, but it seemed pointless to have a conversation. We did take a tuk-tuk eventually and were happy to check out of that place.

They erased our happy memories of the most helpful and gentle people we met at our other stay in Cambodia.

The rooms were indeed clean and comfortable. The a/c was initially working, but in the night it just seemed to go dead. We honestly didn't bother about it as we were only there one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KunjAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I changed rooms 3 times (my own fault), 1 room was great but the other 2 werent very good. The beds were very uncomfortable and the rooms had poor lighting and no view.
Pricing was quite expensive for SE Asia, that being said, the meals were excellent.
My favourite part was the service, in particular Chandy. He was really helpful, had great English and made my stay really enjoyable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ethanm41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This place was pretty expensive as far as SeA, It looks great in all the photos but the rooms aren't actually that nice. Initially we were put in a room with a window right on to the bar/pool table area. We asked to be moved because we knew it would be really noisey. The staff were nice and moved us the next day when a different room became available. Our second room was much quieter, but smelled of cigarettes and was pretty bland. The common areas are really nice though. One annoying thing is that the hotel lets tuk tuk drivers loiter outside the doors so you can't walk in or out the building without being harassed by half a dozen drivers. Not very relaxing.

Room Tip: Make sure you find out where your room is. Many have windows are right on the bar area on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j9nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here nov 2013 as part of a group of ladies on the hunt for nightlife, shopping and sightseeing.
Overall we had a great experience here; the beds/rooms were clean and comfy, staff were friendly and attentive and the hotel in general was aesthetically pleasing.
Happy hour provided an extensive choice of buy one get one free cocktails ($3) and the food was really tasty whether it be a traditional Khmer curry or a Greek salad. Relaxing in the outdoor jacuzzi with cocktail service was easily the best way to cool off after a full day of shopping near the Russian market or taking a trip to the killing fields. Tuk Tuks were a-plenty outside the hotel making both very easily accessible.
The only criticism I have about our stay here is that when we asked about staying an extra night for the same price we were told we needed to move to another cheaper room (no problem), so we booked it at reception. However after packing up an checking out of our original room we were told no other booking had been made and the only option was to return to our room and pay more: they would not rectify their mistake and give us a discount. I put this down to miscommunication but really we should have received a discount for the cheaper room not being booked.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to holiday makers with a bit of disposable cash and traveling workers for a pay day treat.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.9 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#82 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
KhaVi Villa
KhaVi Villa
#24 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.0 mi away
Billabong Hotel & Hostel
Billabong Hotel & Hostel
#3 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alibi Guesthouse
Alibi Guesthouse
#10 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Velkommen Guesthouse
Velkommen Guesthouse
#12 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.2 mi away
PRASATs Boutique Hotel
PRASATs Boutique Hotel
#36 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 9 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 9 Hotel

Property: Number 9 Hotel
Address: 7c St. 258 ( River Front Area) | Near Royal Palace &National Museum, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 9 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Number 9 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing