We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”
Review of Number 9 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Number 9 Hotel
Ranked #33 of 325 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Good central location. The food is very good and well priced, with ok ish service. Nice pool area with loungers etc on the open 3rd floor. 2nd floor with pool table and seating for eating, also open air. Ground floor reception area with bar, good for cocktails. Good price for nice comfortable clean rooms.
Stayed there twice this year so it must be ok!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    121
    93
    54
    33
See reviews for
25
117
76
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed a few nights in this hotel and they treated us very well.

Room was of a good size and clean. Room service made the bed every day. They also sprayed a lot of air freshener which was too much in my opinion.
Wifi worked well, and was available around the entire hotel.

The hotel facilties were very cool, with a nice lounge and the jacuzzi and terrace area were very pleasent for a cocktail in the evening. The food, especially the Khmer local curries were delicious. The price for the food and drinks was a bit high but we were happy to treat ourselves for a change...
Breakfast was tasty with a variety of options.

The location is good, although the street, especially in front of the hotel, is full of tuc tuc drivers who will hassle you as you enter and leave the building...
The manager was very attentive but extremely pushy about using only the hotel tuc tucs and tours.
We took a few tuc tucs from the street and always agreed a price before hand and had no problems at all!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIguelitoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights upon arrival in PP. At first, from my Western eyes, I was a bit put off as the cheap room is small and, as most every bathroom in Cambodia, the shower is in with toilet. However, they have great linens, hot water, and AC that blows cold! Also, the ambiance is fantastic; with bars on every level and a "pool" (jacuzzi) on the roof, with a sun deck. But, the thing that really impressed me was the service and security! Service was impeccable and, a fellow traveler who had a little mishap, was very happy to find out how secure the hotel is with CCTV on every floor AND, copied ID of ANY visitors to the hotel for guests protection. This was a lifesaver for him. If you want to splurge, this is a good place to do it! Oh, and the food is fantastic!

Room Tip: ALWAYS inspect your room before checking in in Cambodia! It's that simple. If you don't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoraBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We are family of 5, stayed in 2 rooms, one was fine, other no window and very musty, mildew on ceiling.

Has a small pool on roof and pool table, good for kids. The place has aspirations to be a bit more classy than other backpacker places on street 258, but does not quite carry it off.

Food and drink expensive.

Go for breakfast included rate - breakfast not large but quite good.

Room Tip: Look at a few and choose one you like doofus
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I didn't stay in the hotel but we all were actually having our meal here for about three to four times throughout our stay in Phnom Penh.

The food was acceptable and the environment was great (with Jacuzzi, pool and rooftop bar etc!) Lovely place for breakfast and late night supper~~~

However, the service was kinda slow. We waited for more than half an hour for the first dish to be served. Imagine that we have 7 ppl in a grp, so we actually spent most of the time waiting. Also, they calculated the money wrongly EVERYTIME, in our three visits, in three days.... If it happened only once, I could understand that it was just an error. But three time in a row made me doubt their honesty. Though just few hundred ril to less than 2 USD, it shouldn't be this way.

Despite all this, we still opted to dine in here because it was very near to our guest house. And we love their environment and lightning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Let's start with the good: the food (at least the khmer dishes and breakfast), the restaurant/lounge staff, the location.

But the bad: the front desk service, the manager, the rooms, the price.

I can't believe the new Lonely Planet lists this place as a top pick for Phnom Penh. That, I think was the biggest frustration for us-- we wouldn't have stayed there without that review, and we were so disappointed by our choice.

Our room was very small, dark, and dingy. Yes, it was serviceably clean and had the promised a/c and tv, but it had zero charm. That in itself isn't a big deal.

But our biggest issue was with the front desk. The manager does seem to be running some sort of tuk-tuk scam. I don't know what's going on exactly, but we were uncomfortable with how some things were handled there. The manager just seemed very smarmy.

With all of the warnings about safety in Phnom Penh (which are no doubt overstated!), having hotel staff who are helpful and inspire your confidence is invaluable. Number 9 did not have that. Every interaction we had with the front desk/management left a bad taste in my mouth.

Considering the high standard of service we experienced elsewhere during our travels in Cambodia and SE Asia, I don't see any reason to stay some place that is neither especially cheap nor especially helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WondRWomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My friend and I booked this hotel for one night. We arrived at 6am from Siem Reap. The people at the front desk were very nice and we were even able to move into our room by 9am, despite the hotel being fully booked the previous night. Food and drinks were rather expensive for the quality. A large bottle of water was an outrageous $1.50. I cannot fault the hotel decor, pool and rooms.

We decided to take a taxi to Sihanoukville and the hotel owner helped us. He was helping us in trying to find an overnight bus, yet would not let us use the telephone in the hotel to call the company. We agreed on $50 for the taxi, and then after the booking was confirmed and it was too late to change anything, he said $55. We were stuck, so we paid the extra. He was then alternately rushing us along and telling us to sit down and relax while we were waiting for the taxi to arrive - very unpleasant and rude.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if you don't like stairs, get a room on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoovesonthehorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.5 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#58 of 267 in Phnom Penh
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#25 of 267 in Phnom Penh
727 reviews
0.0 mi away
KhaVi Villa
KhaVi Villa
#20 of 325 in Phnom Penh
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nawin Guesthouse
Nawin Guesthouse
#28 of 325 in Phnom Penh
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Artist Guesthouse
The Artist Guesthouse
#8 of 325 in Phnom Penh
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alibi Guesthouse
Alibi Guesthouse
#9 of 325 in Phnom Penh
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 9 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 9 Hotel

Property: Number 9 Hotel
Address: 7c St. 258 ( River Front Area) | Near Royal Palace &National Museum, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 9 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Number 9 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing