We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Number 9 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number 9 Hotel
Ranked #36 of 334 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We decided to stay at No. 9 after friends had recommended it to us. We had stayed in a neighbouring guesthouse and were planning to go to Siem Reap but were returning to Phnom Penh for a night before leaving Cambodia. One of the managers said he would match the price of the neighbouring guesthouse where we had stayed previously, if we stayed at his other guesthouse in Siem Reap, and then return to No. 9. However, upon phoning to book our room at the discounted rate, we were told we would have to pay full price as the manager had not told anyone else that he would reduce our rate. We managed to get the hotel to provide free pickup from the bus station but were very disappointed with the lack of communication between staff. The bar areas were lovely and very modern. The pool was nice to cool down after walking around in the heat all day. Our room was nice but very small with lots of bugs crawling around.

The hotel looks lovely on the surface but the staff need to be better trained, particularly the bar staff who messed up every order we made - e.g. blueberry mojitos arrived with no blueberries! And they tried to charge us full price for the drinks that we had ordered during happy hour, apparently because we were paying the bill after happy hour finished?!

Room Tip: Look at a few rooms before you decide as they all vary in size and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy_n_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 380 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

The hotel common areas have a nice urban/modern feel. Nice cool jacuzzi on the rooftop. But that's about all. Staff speaks very little English so hard to get any info. The manager speaks English well but we did not find him trustworthy or to have our best interests at heart, on a few occasions. I could say more, but know how something like this can hurt business. There were some people who seemed to be enjoying it more than we did, so you decide. For budget travelers, there are a couple other great looking joints on the same street. Just get a taxi to take you to the street (258 St.) and walk up and down and find a place that suits. Within walking distance to Royal Palace, boardwalk and downtown eateries.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The3wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

If you want a break from normal hostel life for just a few bucks more a night, this is your place! Everyone there was fun and very helpful, I would go back in a second!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erniewalll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This hotel has only been open 3 months, so I thought I would try it out. It has a great feel aided by trendy decor and friendly staff. The bar and lounge areas, including outdoor jacuzzi add to the atmosphere. Small but neat rooms - my single room had no where to put clothes, and no water provided - bu that is being picky. It is certainly good value, and a good street from which to explore PP.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Number 9 Lakeside was, in its time, one of those places that was a legend on the backpacker trail. Most know that Lakeside no longer exists and that all the cool little places that edged the lake have been destroyed and that the lake has been filled in. High land prices and various forms of governmental corruption effectively filled the lake and new construction is in progress.
However: The new Number 9 Hotel has opened and it sure is different. With room rates from $15 to $45 the hotel is a cut above the usual guest house. Massive tile bathrooms with tubs and shower curtains. Flat screen TV's. Great storage for your clothes and stuff. Soft mattresses with proper bed-ware and soft lighting. In short a quality hotel that really fits the bill. Now I know that it is a little pricy for the Back Packer set but for just a few dollars more the place is great. A very large bar. Quality Wifi. Dipping pool and sun lounges on the third floor roof. And the food is amazing.
I have been waiting for the construction to finish and I was certainly not disappointed. Give this one a try and you will very pleased.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and the place is so new that you can pretty much choose what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerHoiAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Eskimopinguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Zuriñe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
#77 of 274 in Phnom Penh
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adore Hotel
Adore Hotel
#207 of 334 in Phnom Penh
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
KhaVi Villa
KhaVi Villa
#13 of 334 in Phnom Penh
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hometown Suite Hotel
Hometown Suite Hotel
#63 of 334 in Phnom Penh
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alibi Guesthouse
Alibi Guesthouse
#6 of 334 in Phnom Penh
308 reviews
1.0 mi away
Billabong Hostel
Billabong Hostel
#3 of 250 in Phnom Penh
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 9 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 9 Hotel

Address: 7c St. 258 ( River Front Area) | Near Royal Palace &National Museum, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $14 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 9 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Number 9 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing