We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth finding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lost Room

The Lost Room
Ranked #39 of 1,382 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Fusion, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: 'Once was Lost but now Found' Our menu features small to medium plates of good quality & interactive ingredients that are meant for sharing in a 'dinner party' style. We would like our customers to 'graze', share and expand their taste sensations. Australian imported Lamb & Kangaroo, Pork Belly, Fish & Fusion dishes are available. Global wine selections offer many by the Glass. Our Location a bit off the "beaten track" ergo the Lost Room Please call for directions & bookings are welcomed as we are a small venue. Air Con Non-smoking inside and out side seating for those in need.Credit Cards are not accepted at this stage. Mr P tuk driver is generally available. Please come & find The Lost Room...
Langbank
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth finding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Beware most tuk tuk drivers do not know where it is, so ask first. Very welcoming owners and delicious food which was a bit different. Blue cheese rolls and feta cheese dip with vegetables for dipping were a very good starter. The duck was perfect being tasty and beautifully tender. Go find it (near Sofitel)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    69
    23
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
197 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Interesting food and drink, served with passion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Despite what other reviews say, this was very easy to find. Just print off (or copy) the relevant section of the Google map - which has the restaurant marked on it - and hand it to your driver. Ours drove straight there, although he'd never heard of it either.
It's an odd venue, but there was a pleasant lively atmosphere and the service was good. There was a lot of flexibility around ordering bits of dishes (great!) and plenty of helpful advice. We really enjoyed the falafels from the 'starters', and the sea bass and duck were both wonderful - the flavours of the chick peas and harissa with the duck were stunning.
There was a good range of cocktails and wine, and it was good to be able to talk to the staff about the wines. We would certainly return, and it deserves all the good reviews.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikePatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
538 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 977 helpful votes
“Unlocatable.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

I'm sure the food would have been fine if we actually got to try it. As it was, booked for 8:30pm, was informed the restaurant is open for dinner till 10.

Spent almost a hour getting lost in unlit narrow alleyways, asked some locals for directions but nobody had heard of the lost room (and yes, we asked for directions in fluent khmer).

Finally found the place at 9:20pm, but the place just didn't look very inviting. One couple eating in the garden, could see more tables inside, but the metal gate appeared closed. I wandered inside and stood like an idiot for a while, nobody came out to offer a table, tell me the place was full, or anything else ...

By this stage both of us were cold and starving, and no longer in the mood for waiting around any longer, with no staff or menus to be seen.

Although this isn't the only place with this problem, I could never understand why a business would advertise a particular set of opening hours, but not have staff on-hand for that whole period? Left at 9:30pm, after not being greeted or even seeing anyone that looked like staff for 10 minutes.

Going to put this down as over-hyped TA reviews ...

Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew_Alin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derekcambodia, Owner at The Lost Room, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Andrew in response to your scathing review. Unfortunately you did not visit The Lost Room. You were a 'no-show' at 9pm for an 8.30 pm booking & I rang to see if you needed further directions as we had talked about our location being behind the Russian Compound in street 21 & if you needed further help please call back, no-one answered. TLR does not have a garden, yes we were fully booked on Thursday evening & I told you our kitchen closes at 10pm, which is the time for last orders but of course stays open to already seated guests. Every guest is greeted at the door & seated either by our polite staff or Derek or myself. By your description of the venue you visited, I gather it is a small guest house with garden in st 830. After seeing your review today I tried to call your phone on 2 occasions to discuss this problem & sent a text message. I remained at TLR until 2am with guests sitting in our small patio and you were definitely a 'no-show' . I would like you to contact me in regard. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We ate at a The Lost Room tonight and I can honestly say this is not only the best meal I've had in Cambodia but one of the best meals I've ever had.
We had melted goat & feta cheese for starter - gorgeous (can I please have the recipe)
For main we had crispy pork belly, spicy chorizo with lentil stew & pan fried sea bass with asparagus - all dishes were to die for
Dessert was some heavenly chocolate fudge bricks - delicious
The staff and atmosphere were a joy and you can tell the owners take great pride in what they do. I only wish I was staying in Phnom Penh longer so I could go back!!

DONT MISS THIS PLACE IF YOU VISIT PHNOM PENH!!!

Until next time!
Debbie & Rich, Hornchurch, England

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debz1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derekcambodia, Owner at The Lost Room, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Debbie & Rich ,
Thank you very much for your very kind review and description of the dishes you had
It is so pleasing for us and our staff to hear how much you enjoyed your dining experience with us . Of course i will give you recipe ..please email info@thelostroom.asia .
We really do take pride in what we do and it is so nice to be recognised for that as well .
Happy travels and look forward to your next visit ..
Derek & Wendy, The Lost Room, Phnom Penh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a fantastic spot with many things going for it:
- The food is all very delicious - it's an eclectic menu full of delights that are meant for sharing.
- The atmosphere is a perfect blend of tasteful and cozy without any pretentiousness (great for a date or an intimate group of friends).
- The service is solid with very friendly staff
- The value for money is definitely worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jrdnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derekcambodia, Owner at The Lost Room, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Jrdnne,
Thank you for your great comments and interpretations of what the Lost Room is all about .
You hit the mark on all your comments and is exactly what we and our great staff strive to maintain.
A simple and straightforward review that will give others an idea of the Lost Room. Thank You

Derek & Wendy , The Lost Room , Phnom Penh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lost Room also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to The Lost Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing