We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the worst indian I have ever had”
Review of Sher-e-Punjab

Sher-e-Punjab
Ranked #55 of 1,444 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Vientiane, Laos
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Possibly the worst indian I have ever had”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I am not sure what went wrong with our meal, as this place is obviously loved by many PP expats and visitors alike. I have been eating indian regularly for 3 decades so do know what to expect, and this meal, which we got delivered, was lousy.

The tandoori chicken was wet - it is supposed to be cooked in a tandoor which leaves a mostly dryish tasty surface with moist meat inside, but this one was like it had been taken out of a sauce.

The chicken hyderbadi was obviously chicken tikka masala - 4 small pieces of chicken swimming in a load of creamy orange sauce. When ordering, they repeated my order with the hyderabadi, and it was written on the receipt as hydrabadi, but it was not anything close. I notice another reviewer said their hyderabadi was green. Anyway, mistake or no mistake, the curry was bland and textureless with very little meat or anything else.

We were charged for poppadoms - I understand they are free for eat-in customers.

Lastly, the meal took over an hour to arrive despite us staying on one of PP's main roads that everyone knows.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluecramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    92
    26
    13
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is a great find right near the river front. The added touches by the staff with free water, poppadams & dips and dessert. We ordered the most amazing tandoori stuffed potatoes, I have never tasted anything like it in my life, it was delicious so if you go please try it! We also had a cashew nut curry and a lentil dahl, both of which were really lovely, the cashew nut curry in particular had some very interesting tastes. All the food was really well presented (the dahl coming in a little tin bucket). Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilySFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Garlic Nan is excellent!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The bread is really wonderful. The mutton rogan josh I ordered was also good, and the service & neighborhood were also very nice. Best of all was the Garlic Nan, generous in quantity AND quality, very fresh.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JackTheWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good service, great food!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Being budget travellers we ordered one butter chicken to share between two people, not the most authentic Indian curry, but what we craved at the time! Absolutely delicious! A generous serving with a perfect sauce to chicken ratio. We also ordered 1 garlic naan, which we recommend sharing as they are huge! The saffron rice was great too. One thing we both really liked was the complimentary poppadoms before the meal and the complimentary gulab jamuns for dessert. We'd never had gulab jamuns before so was great to try something new that turned about to be rather tasty. The service was very professional and efficient. The meal was served hot and empty plates cleared promptly. I would certainly eat here again and try some of the other meals on their large menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Food!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Enjoyed the Vegatable Thali very much! So much food for a good value. The naan was also phenomenal! If you are looking for good Indian food in PP, this is the place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KylieEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sher-e-Punjab also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Sher-e-Punjab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing