We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good service”

Nelsons Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #187 of 1,427 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Me and some mates really enjoyed Karma. The location on the riverside is handy, the food was great and the portions will fill even the biggest stomach, i.e.mine. The service was decent and friendly. Karma is not fine dining but well worth a visit for a good honest feed at decent prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chouleang Y, Manager at Nelsons Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about Karma, it is very much appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your time at Karma and found the food and serving size to your liking. You are quite correct in stating we are not a ‘fine dining’ establishment, we focus on serving homestyle cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. I am pleased to hear you found the service to be ‘decent and friendly’ as this is very important to me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    152
    57
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsend, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A feel good place for simple fare”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A no fuss, good feel restaurant. I highly recommend their fish amok which was delicious, I also had a plate of steamed vegetables which were also tastily prepared. The service was friendly and they spoke decent English, plus the menu was in English and the staff were attentive. A place you can comfortably eat alone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MuzzaViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chouleang Y, Manager at Nelsons Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about Karma, it is very much appreciated. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Karma and found our Fish Amok to be ‘delicious’. I am pleased that you found our waitresses to be friendly and attentive with good English abilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad Karma”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I ignored the hair in my drink...that was okay. I even didn't mind the unfriendly service...but we waited 45 minutes for our food even though it wasn't busy (we were the only ones waiting for food). Then it came out cold, so I sent it back. 20 minutes later....still no food. I asked them when it was coming but couldn't get a clear answers. We were starving. It came 20 minutes later (so this is a full hour after ordering in a restaurant that was not busy) after we asked 3 times and it was still cold. The food was really average... and besides that we got a chicken curry rather than a pork curry we ordered.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chouleang Y, Manager at Nelsons Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We always view reviews from a reviewer with only 1 restaurant review with caution / if not suspicion, especially when it bears no reality to other reviews and what I see on a daily basis. As such I have discussed this ‘incident’ with my staff as well as looking through our CCTV footage for the past 10 days and I am unable to ascertain when the above incident took place, if at all. To be honest, if I had experienced such bad service in a restaurant: hairs in drinks, unfriendly service, cold food, the wrong food, and having to wait over 1 hour and 20 minutes to be served I would have given the restaurant a ‘Terrible’ rating rather than just the ‘Poor’ rating you have given.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unpretentious and great value”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have eaten in a few places in Phnom Penh and we were really pleased with our experience at Karma. Being on the riverside it is great value for money, our meals with drinks were all around $7 each, and we left full. I ordered the ribs which were tasty and came with nice mashed potato, my friends ordered vegetable amok and sweet and sour pork, both really enjoyed them. The staff are friendly and eager to please without being over professional, indeed the whole feel of the place is relaxed and laidback, just what we were looking for after a day out and about.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChandiIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chouleang Y, Manager at Nelsons Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about Karma, it is very much appreciated. We are delighted that you were ‘really pleased’ with your experience at Karma and felt your drinks and meals to be ‘great value for money’. I am pleased to hear you found the staff to be ‘friendly and eager to please’ and you enjoyed the laidback atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you back at Karma sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yum. I miss Cambodian food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Delicious. We had the thai yellow curry and fish amok. Service good and well priced.
Dont understand why you have to add 50words

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chouleang Y, Manager at Nelsons Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about Karma, it is very much appreciated. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food at Karma and that you found the service to be ‘good’ and the prices reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelsons Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Nelsons Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing