We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good relation price/quality”
Review of Sary's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sary's Guesthouse
Ranked #79 of 317 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good relation price/quality”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Amazing staff, I had the breakfast there and it was really good. Rooms are also ok, if you don't mind to share it with some geckos, I just found one at the entrance of my room! It was located near to the river with a lot of bars in the nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JocaMyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    9
    7
    13
See reviews for
2
25
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Overall, this guesthouse was a good value.  We traveled as a couple and booked a deluxe double room because it has a balcony (the standard double room is windowless!!).  They put us on the 4th floor and there are a lot of stairs!  Rooms are big and clean, with international cable channels, fast wifi, and bathroom is nice and new with an awesome rain shower but no shower curtain, so the entire bathroom floor gets wet when you shower.  The location is excellent, we were able to walk to all the major attractions like Central Market, Art Street, National Museum and the Royal Palace.  Great restaurants and street food nearby, and the Sary's restaurant is pretty good, though a little expensive.  They charged me $3 USD for tea... one teabag in a tiny teapot.  But their amok was delicious, try it if you can.  

Room Tip: Standard rooms don't have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolwithak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in sarys guesthouse for two nights..the rooms are massive with two double beds and enough room to swing several cats!
The first night there was a bit of a sewerage problem but we jst blocked up the drain in the shower and the smell was gone by morning.. No window in the rooms bt I suppose that allows for less bugs to get in ;)
The staff were so helpful - they told us about loads of places to go to and organised a visit to a local orphanage that he knew would be good for us to see.. We stayed for the sleeping bus and he allowed us to stay till midnight waiting for the bus even though he is closed at 11 - very nice!
I would recommend anyone to head here for rooms or for food which was lovely every time we ate here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maevo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We liked this place. The staff was really helpful, the food at the restaurant was delicious, a fantastic balcony and a large room with a wardrobe and a mini-bar. Clean but walls need painting and maintenance is basic. Rooms without windows are less expensive but a bit sad: only for sleeping. Also the air-con was not working properly (like the room is to big for it) its unpleasant after a hot day outside walking around. Tip: keep it working all day with the magnetic stick. Avoid a laundry there... Expensive and not well done. Otherwise its not bad. We had a deal at 20$ for 5 days with the big room with balcony! Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveReady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Sary's twice on our trip around Cambodia first room we had was a large windowless double over the kitchen which ment lots of noise from 5am when the kitchen staff started work! We changed to the more expensive front rooms with a large balcony, the rooms are quite adequite in size but lack a mirror for dressing a/c was just ok tv and fridge both worked well! The towels and bed linen both need to be updated! The owner and staff are very helpfull and friendly and will do all they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, the hotel is in a great location and walking distince to all the main attractions. The breakfast menu is a bit limited but lunch and dinner menu's are very good and all the meals we ate we're very good, we would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ddeano1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Good things
Owner changed my room when I informed him that the hot water in shower was not working, large room (initial room was small), well located, working internet, helpful staff, staff arranged tours and ongoing travel, good bed, quiet, strong hot water (after change of room)
Not so good things
Air conditioning struggled to get to a cold temperature, no room safe, sheets had stains on them from before I arrived, window boarded up making the room dark, no hangers in wardrobe to hang clothes (initial room had no wardrobe), no power point in bathroom, had to wake up reception staff to get into the reception area at night (usually after mid night)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked this hostel online, on a reputable site, before we arrived in Cambodia wanting to save ourselves the hassle of having to find somewhere upon arrival. Once in Phnom Penh we took a tuk-tuk to the hostel but when we arrived we were told that even though they had our booking, there was no room available for us as there is just a limited number of rooms in the hostel. The owner, who was very apologetic, suggested we stay at a 'friend's' hostel instead. We were turned away and had some hassle as our tuk-tuk driver was unable to locate this alternative hostel. For a finish we had to scour the nearby streets for a decent hostel, the very thing we had been hoping to avoid after our long journey. Very disappointing.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden House International
Golden House International
#70 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
City Centre Hotel
City Centre Hotel
#109 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#77 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#65 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monsoon Boutique Hotel
Monsoon Boutique Hotel
#18 of 317 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sary's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sary's Guesthouse

Property: Sary's Guesthouse
Address: #45, Street 130, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 317 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sary's Guesthouse 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SARY'S Sensations Cafe & Bar is no longer a guesthouse. We are now cafe by day and a bar by night. Come enjoy a wide range of breakfast and lunch choices from 7am until 7pm. In the evening we turn into a bar with a wide range of drink selections and one of the best pool tables in Phnom Penh (free of charge!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sary's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing