We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Ngon Restaurant, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Ranked #742 of 1,468 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Please can you edit the existing info for this restaurant, as it is incomplete. Full name is Ngon Restaurant, and the full address is below.Thank you in advance.MagdaNgon RestaurantKhmer & Vietnamese Cuisines#60, Preah Sihanouk BoulevardTonle Bassac QuarterChamkarmon Districthttp://www.ngonpnh.com/mail: info@ngonpnh.comTel: +855 (0) 23 987 152, +855 (0) 23 987 151Fax: +855 (0) 23 987 150
Yokohama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Terrific place for some excellent Cambodian and Vietnamese food. Browse the food stations, pick what you like and enjoy in a garden while pondering how Hun Sen built the massive house across the road on a paltry prime minister's salary.
Politics aside, the food really is fine. this NOT cheap-eats in PP, but it is reasonable and a great place to watch the PP elite.
Recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    89
    65
    25
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but the food is mediocre.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were at this restaurant last night. The atmosphere is very nice, but the service is slow and not smiling. The food is mediocre. We had the stir fried shrimp with tamarind and crepe Vietnam. Both of them have no taste. However, i like the ambiance and the decoration. This is not good value for money if you want only to see the view...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meyer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Appearances can be deceiving.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

When I walked by Ngon it looked beautiful, so I booked a table for a party of 12 people.

It is, in fact, a beautiful restaurant. But that's all it is. It's not a good place to eat, which is, after all, an important thing about a restaurant.

So what's wrong with Ngon? Well, pretty much everything. There was tremendous confusion about our reservation, the service was downright awful, the food not even average and the prices high for Cambodia. It is surprisingly poorly run considering it's part of a group of three restaurants and clearly the product of significant investment. There is obviously no one watching their investment or, more importantly, seeing that their guests have a nice experience.

There isn't much else to say about Ngon except that going there is a mistake that I wish I had not made. Maybe others will be more fortunate and choose a place with better food and better service. Unless all you want is beauty. That they have.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Wooden tables set among real champei scented flower trees ( frangipanier trees) make for a lovely decor for this recently opened Vietnamese restaurant in the busy Cambodian capital. Food is mostly pretty good. I had some tasty grilled marinated pork, the prawns in tamarind sauce were quite succulent. Dessert ( an assortment of Cambodian goodies) was more hit and miss, with dried up non yip bordering on unpleasant. Still, recommended on the whole.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vic_ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had the Vietnamese crepe and my friend had pho noodles and a few side dishes. My dish was great, the pho on the other hand was bland and tasteless. We told the server and he just told us the the kitchen crew probably didn't season the soup, that was all. Nothing else was done about it. The other dishes were good. Service was lacking, a few servers were chit chatting on the side which was distracting. Other than that nice restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mercredy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngon Restaurant, Phnom Penh, Cambodia also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Ngon Restaurant, Phnom Penh, Cambodia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing