We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, friendly budget hotel 5 mins walk from riverside”
Review of Lucky Ro Hotel

Lucky Ro Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lucky Ro Hotel
Ranked #91 of 322 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cheap, friendly budget hotel 5 mins walk from riverside”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Lovely budget hotel. Book early to get a room on a lower floor as there is no lift and it was 6 flights of stairs up to our room. However no complaints about that as its to be expected at many guesthouses and we booked last minute. Staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean and had a big fridge which was a bonus. Also had a really great in house Tuk Tuk driver whom we used on a number of occasions. We enjoyed the walk back from the riverside as its located in an area that doesn't have many tourists and Cambodians are the nicest people I have ever met. About 20-30 minute walk to Royal Palace and Silver Pagoda

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameiby1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
5
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Whilst not of outstanding class in this type of hotel, it was very good: aircon worked (no banging on the table needed to get the thing working), really good wireless internet (didn't fail at all and quick) and friendly staff. Breakfast around the corner in their own 'restaurant' and that is why it ends up very good and not excellent: Breakfast ok, but who made up the decision to close the kitchen at 8 pm already? And then the amazing explanation you get... night one we close at 10... ok it was 9:30, lets have the cook some freedom of choice to run the business... night two we close at 8,, mmh the cook happens to be the boss of the hotel or so? And still the menu card out brightly lighted..Night 3.. i didnt try anymore... As I understand they own also riverside hotel, suite there is excellent (when it was really finished it would be worth its 40 buck).
Anyway, your not that far from the action, but far away enough not to be bothered with sounds from the 'festivities' ongoing.

Room Tip: No elevator, small stairs. If you have problems with walking stairs get a room at the lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ger08061959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

been staying there 5 times over the last 2 year's, will stay there again, the staff is great and most the rooms are quite good, got everything for the right price. If you want a room with aircon it pays to book ahead, they not always available. WIFI is on the first floor.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms on the outside with window to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwigermantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Wales
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good Value option if your a couple wanting some privacy.

Lovely staff. Very freindly and helpful

Restaurant attached is a good bet to get some food and the drinks are good also.


Phnom Penh itself is a bit of a shock in comparison to SR if your travelling that route.

Tuk tuk drivers here outside the hotel( and every where else in PP) expect some sort of loyalty and are always where they say they will be and when. The beauty of having your almost personnel TukTUk driver is that you get hassled less than other parts for tuk tuks .

We would stay here again

Big positive was the lightning WiFi that allowed us to plan our trip further ( and sneak a few DL's in the process)

Room Tip: room 301 had a router outside the door and the internet was lightning.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VoyagerMV1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed in Lucky Ro hotel for 7 days in May 2012 .We loved this hotel ,the staff are so friendly and its a 2 minute walk to the main tourist areas just by the river .We paid 14 dollars a night for 7 nights for a room that had tv with all the western news and movies channel ,hot shower ,fridge ,and very fast internet .We will be back for sure .

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms no window ( 8 -10 dollars) Best rooms other ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The staff were friendly and accommodating and the hotel is central - close to the river and in walking distance of Central market.

However I didn't feel very comfortable staying here and looked forward to leaving.

The room smelt of smoke. There was no aircon and it was very hot, I could not sleep in the stuffy fan room. The bathroom was small. The place just felt dingy.

Being on my own, the neighbourhood didn't feel that safe. Right outside is a local market, so at night walking the streets alone, I felt a bit uncomfortable.

I think that there are better budget options in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Get aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miche1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dindigul, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed at Lucky Ro for 4 nights. For the reasonable price it was very good. Very conveniently situated, just 5 minutes from the riverside. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor and there's no lift. No problem for me but if you have dodgy knees ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterinIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Lance Court Hotel
Lance Court Hotel
#203 of 267 in Phnom Penh
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gallops Riverside Hotel
Gallops Riverside Hotel
#139 of 267 in Phnom Penh
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#34 of 267 in Phnom Penh
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
River-Star Hotel
River-Star Hotel
#185 of 267 in Phnom Penh
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sundance Riverside Hotel
Sundance Riverside Hotel
#47 of 322 in Phnom Penh
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Stop Hostel
One Stop Hostel
#9 of 233 in Phnom Penh
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Ro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Ro Hotel

Property: Lucky Ro Hotel
Address: No 122D, St. 110 | Sangkat Phsar Chass, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lucky Ro Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lucky Ro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing