We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean, centrally located.”
Review of Burly Guesthouse

Burly Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burly Guesthouse
Ranked #123 of 327 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean, centrally located.”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I was recommended this place by a Khmer friend, as it is popular amongst locals as a good place to stay when visiting PP. At $7 per night you can't go wrong and the rooms are sufficiently clean, and serviced every day. There is a lift. The staff are friendly and free albeit slow wifi in rooms. The Burly is in a good location with good value restaurants only a short stroll away. It is close to Olympic stadium and Orussy market.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

first of all this is not a hotel with full services that travellers are used to expecting. It's cheap and good enough for a night's sleep and staff are friendly. But let's list out some of the pros and cons anyway.

Pros
- Affordable
- Reasonably clean but not immaculate
- 2 Restaurants across guesthouse that serves reasonably good food.
- free wifi on every floor
- friendly staff
- lift
- Reasonably close to most sights, like the genocide museum it's very near.
- air-conditioning available. I'm glad to have this!

Cons
- noisy
- extremely slow wifi
- small rooms, toilets and beds. If you're a european / american sized big dude. This might be a bit small for you.
- can't lock the room from inside. We woke up once at 9am with our doors opened but figured it must be the cleaner who left it open!! Very unsafe.
- Do not believe the pictures you see on their website!!!
- Dim lighting.

If you're a backpacker this is an ok guesthouse to stay in.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stumbled upon this guesthouse by accident, and really appreciated that it was out of the main fray of backpacker guesthouses. It was very clean and peaceful, especially on the upper floors. You can walk to local markets, and Four Corners Coffee Roasters (no drinks, but great source for beans as they roast on site!) is just across the street. Comfortable stay and very helpful staff. When checking out, I had to leave one of my suitcases behind as I've been hauling too much on this trip. After just a minute or two the staff went out of their way to come after me, thinking I had forgotten it. Would definitely stay here again next time I'm in Phnom Penh!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xylembonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here: it was cheap, clean and even a bit luxorious by backpacker standards. The elevator was a huge plus.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findhorn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We had a double bedded room with fan and cold water The price was $US 7 per night, which we thought was good value. The staff were friendly and helpful. The Burly Guest House is a 10 min walk down the road from Capitol Tours and is close to the local sites. We recommend Asian Spice for cheap but freshly prepared eats. If we were to come to Phnom Penh again - we would stay at the Burly Guest House

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthpilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.8 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 269 in Phnom Penh
2,492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homeland Guesthouse
Homeland Guesthouse
#72 of 327 in Phnom Penh
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#66 of 269 in Phnom Penh
361 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,639 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burly Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burly Guesthouse

Property: Burly Guesthouse
Address: #70, Street 111, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing