We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, decent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel
Ranked #48 of 318 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice location, decent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for just one night on the way to Siem reap. The biggest plus about the hotel was its location which is literally 5 mins walk from royal palace, 10 mins from walk from the river front. Staff is quite helpful and friendly. We got a room on the ground floor which was quite noisy and dinghy.Though the rooms on the floor above are better (one room from our travelling party was upgraded and that was quite spacious and facing a common balcony, so overall seemed quite pleasant). Nothing that was seriously annoying about the hotel. Considering Cambodia, hotel price was a bit steep though for what it offered. Its a small hotel yes, but not really a boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book the cheapest rooms here as they are on the ground floor and can be quite noisy (Noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaurabhBaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    103
    59
    18
    12
See reviews for
14
97
52
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
276 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have been a regular visitor to PP for the last 10 years and decided to try a different hotel to my regular. This hotel cost me $35 on agoda and was great - quiet, very helpful staff, good room, rain shower, 80 channel sat TV, AC, and one of the best hotel breakfasts you could hope for, especially in this price range.
Breakfast is a menu-choice of abot 20 options which is cooked to order (omelettes, bacon & eggs, noodle soup, rice porridge etc), with fresh orange juice, fruit platter and fresh real coffee.
10 mins slow walk to the river and 15 mins walk to the main riverfront restaurant area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had a good experience with Royal Mekong Boutique. I stayed 3 nights on March 30, 2013.
when i arrived at hotel staffs were welcomed me and my friends warmly. I went to room (304) and so surprised to saw it. Good bed very comfortable better that my room at home. More then bed room and i look back to bath room, oh! so big and really love it.

location the best by walking to Royal palace, quite place the best for business people. Breakfast is good by menu but it free good coffee and fruit. i recommend to all of you to room (304).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NichS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Keen to experience Cambodia more following our 4 nights stay in Siem Reap, we decided to spend two nights in the capital, Phnom Penh. We wanted to be in a nice hotel which was fairly central but also in a quite area! It also had to be reasonably priced and with this, we found The Royal Mekong Boutique. It sits on a quiet street (208) which is close to the Royal Palace and about 10-15 minutes easy walk to the main bar / restaurant street on the river. Management and staff are great and speak good English and the hotel is clean and feels very safe. We booked a superior room but for some unknown reason, were upgraded to the suite which was brilliant (massive room with separate bath / shower and a balcony where we could sit out). The hotel was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfy (hubby finally managed to get a good nights sleep). The aircon worked well and wasn't noisy. The beds have mosquito nets around them.

We booked a tuk tuk to the Killing Fields and S21 prison. We paid $20 for the tuk tuk for the day (we could have got it cheaper but felt that $20 was fair). It costs $5 pp with audio tour at the Killing Fields and $2 pp for the S21 prison. We worried that they may be a bit disturbing but in fairness, they were fine and as a bonus, we got no hassle from hawkers / beggars etc (didn't seem to be many, if any).

The hotel also organised our bus from Phnom Penh to Saigon ($13 pp) without an issue.

Breakfast was nice and there was a selection of fruit / juices / breads and then you picked a cooked breakfast off a menu. The cooked food was very nice.

There is lovely restaurant across the road from the hotel - it's a bit more expensive than most but the setting is very nice and relaxed. Also, it's a dollar down to the riverbank of you want to eat there - there was always about 3 Tuk tuk's parked outside the hotel so no problem getting one.

For the money, this was a great hotel. Great service, friendly people, nice hotel with safe / clean rooms. If we ever come back to Phnom Penh, we wouldn't hesitate to stay again at The Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisawScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channa R, General Manager at Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for coming to stay in our hotel! How are you?

I truly appreciate your precious time you spent writing a positive review about the hotel and her services to share with everyone around the globe. Many thanks again for your care!

I will share your review with my staff, trust they will be happy to hear this. Once again thanks for coming to stay in our hotel!

We are all looking forwards to welcoming you in the future again if you revisit Cambodia.

Please email us (info@royalmekongboutiquehotel.com).

Finally i and my team wish you and your team all the best!

Best regards,
Staff and GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed three nights in this hotel and had a wonderful time. They provided a free tuk tuk pick-up from the airport and helped us organize our bus trip to Vietnam later in the week. It's inexpensive and centrally located - a few minute tuk tuk ride to the Riverfront where there are loads of restaurants and bars. Our room was large and suited our needs. The only complaint would be that the power shuts off in the room when you're not using it, so it would be really hot and humid when we returned for the night. And the air unit in the room was not the most efficient and our shower was broken but useable. We were prepared for some of these things though as we wanted to get a good cultural taste of Cambodia, so suffering in some humidity in the room and having to stand in a certain place in the shower were really not worth making a fuss about. I would recommend this hotel for future travelers - there's free wifi in the rooms and free breakfast in the morning. It really was all we needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channa R, General Manager at Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for coming to stay in our hotel! How are you?

I truly appreciate your precious time you spent writing a positive review about the hotel and her services to share with everyone around the globe. Many thanks again for your care!

I will share your review with my staff, trust they will be happy to hear this. Once again thanks for coming to stay in our hotel!

We are all looking forwards to welcoming you in the future again if you revisit Cambodia.

Please email us (info@royalmekongboutiquehotel.com).

Finally i and my team wish you and your team all the best!

Best regards,
Staff and GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel in march 2013 Considering the price ( 37 can$ per night with breakfast inclued), it’s a very good choice. Room decor is minimalist but it goes with the style of the Hotel. Staff ( day , night ) of reception and restaurant was very nice and polite.. Breakfast was good and coffee excellent. Good location not far from the Grand Palace. Always « Tuktuks » in front of hotel for transport. Nice roomy bathroom with shower and bath. The only thing : there was no hot water , only warm but it’s fine : it’s so hot in Phom Penh that a cool shower is welcome ! Reception staff can buy for you bus and boat ticket for Siem Reap and other destinations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreGiroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channa R, General Manager at Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for coming to stay in our hotel! How are you?

I truly appreciate your precious time you spent writing a positive review about the hotel and her services to share with everyone around the globe. Many thanks again for your care!

I will share your review with my staff, trust they will be happy to hear this. Once again thanks for coming to stay in our hotel!

We are all looking forwards to welcoming you in the future again if you revisit Cambodia.

Please email us (info@royalmekongboutiquehotel.com).

Finally i and my team wish you and your team all the best!

Best regards,
Staff and GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is my second stay at this Hotel ...and it is still one of the best I have stayed in ...in Cambodia ...for the price.the staff are great ...always willing to help and advise,,,the rooms are clean..last year the choice for breakfast was limited,,,this year there is a menu...and I rate the breakfast as excellent...the coffee served is great. The Hotel also has a good tuk tuk service .will pick you up from the airport...and also available during the day.There is a mini Supermarket close by and a vastly improved restaurant across the road.All in all a very good hotel to stay in and has reasonable prices...if you are in Phnom Penh to see the sights ...you will only be in the hotel at night...and Room 204 is my favourite ...I will be staying here again next year

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwigaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channa R, General Manager at Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for coming to stay in our hotel! How are you?

I truly appreciate your precious time you spent writing a positive review about the hotel and her services to share with everyone around the globe. Many thanks again for your care!

I will share your review with my staff, trust they will be happy to hear this. Once again thanks for coming to stay in our hotel!

We are all looking forwards to welcoming you in the future again if you revisit Cambodia.

Please email us (info@royalmekongboutiquehotel.com).

Finally i and my team wish you and your team all the best!

Best regards,
Staff and GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.7 mi away
River Home Boutique Hotel
River Home Boutique Hotel
#72 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.6 mi away
KhaVi Villa
KhaVi Villa
#24 of 318 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Blue Corner Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Billabong Hotel & Hostel
Billabong Hotel & Hostel
#4 of 218 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Artist Guesthouse
The Artist Guesthouse
#7 of 318 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.1 mi away
House Boutique Eco Hotel
House Boutique Eco Hotel
#6 of 318 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel

Property: Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel
Address: #17, Street 208 | Sangkat Beoung Reang, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 318 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an acclaimed hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, Cambodia. Owned by Cambodian with a mix of local and international management, located in a peaceful area, less than 45 minutes from Phnom Penh International Airport (13 km), about 10 minutes from ferry or bus station either from Siem Reap, Sihanoukville or Ho Chi Minh (Vietnam). With a radius of 2 km of walking distance from our hotel, you can visit the Independence Monument (900 mt),Royal Palace (1 km), Central Market of Phnom Penh (1,3 km), Wat Phnom (1.8 km), Night Market and Bus Station (2 km). At Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel our Philosophy is simple, “provide our guests with friendly and helpful staff to make your stay in Phnom Penh truly unforgettable.” We understand that our staffs are our most valuable asset and we have invested significant time and money in developing our staff’s skills. Relax in a locally styled, air-conditioned Royal Mekong Boutique hotel guest room. High-speed internet access provides business convenience or for personal use. Upgrade either to our Superior, Deluxe Room for your comfortable stay. Our Junior Suites are a roomy Royal Mekong home from home. Each room uniquely designed to give our valued guests a completely different feeling from other hotels with our outdoor pool. It is the perfect place for discerning leisure and business travelers alike who seek a great accommodation in Phnom Penh - the most exciting city in Cambodia - at a reasonable price. We serve breakfast, in our restaurant enclosed by the garden and fish pond with the friendly staff. Privileges attached to our rooms as complimentary: daily breakfast, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee and tea making facility, 32" flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Mekong Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing