We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Little Garden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #84 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My mum and me stayed in this hotel whilst doing volunteer work in Phnom Penh. The hotel is small, with 10 rooms, so it has a homely feel. The staff are helpful and smiley and the food and drinks are very nice.
The internet connection (which is free) is very fast, which I didn't expect, and the rooms are spacious with the best bathroom I've seen in Cambodia. The showers have good pressure and hot water. Free bottled water is provided in the rooms (so useful) and bicycles to go to nearby attractions. The pool is relatively small but with a maximum of around 15-20 guests in the hotel it doesn't matter and there are always deckchairs free. The seating area by the pool where you have breakfast is really nice, shaded by lots of tropical plants, making the hotel seem idyllic. each room has a private balcony or seating area too where they will bring your breakfast or room service.
You don't get a view from the rooms, but you really shouldn't expect a good view when staying in Phnom Penh - there's not much to see but the neighbouring buildings.
I'd recommend this hotel to anyone, whether staying for a few days or a few weeks.

Room Tip: The top floors have nice private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Olivia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    45
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
24
26
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at The Little Garden. I visit Phnom Penh about once a year, and while the location isn't near the tourist attractions, it worked well for me. It's located near a local market and in a neighborhood--just 3 doors down from the UN World Food Program. It's about a 10 minute ride to the Russian Market area. Breakfast was fine. The only complaint I have is that although the the floor tiles are new, they had a dingy look to them.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank intlprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Little Garden and really loved our time there. The staff were friendly and helpful - let us leave our bags once we'd checked out and use the pool while we waited for our bus to Siem Reap. We took the free bikes on our first day and would definitely recommend this - a great way to see the city and not at all unsafe. Breakfast is ok - lovely banana pancakes. We're caffeine addicts so it would have been nice to have more coffee but there's a kettle in the room so you can make your own. Room was clean and nicely designed and the shower was probably the best we've had during our 4 week trip through south east Asia.

We would definitely recommend this small hotel for anyone who wants to get away from the crowds in the centre. It's also great to have a pool to swim in after a hot day's sightseeing! We didn't find the pool cold at all - the temperature was just right in the 35 degree heat.

Tuk tuks to the centre cost about $3-$4 or it's about a 25 minute walk to the Royal Palace. There are also restaurants and bars nearby and small supermarkets too and the Russian Market is about a 15 minute walk, or 5m on a bike.

If arriving from the Central Market bus station make sure you have the hotel address and a map of Phnom Penh with the hotel's location on it. We asked a few tuk tuk drivers and they didn't know where it was. The fourth had a map which had street 398 on it. Cost $4 from Central Market to the hotel.

www.moneyticketspassport.com

Room Tip: We paid for a superior balcony room and were given room 8 on the top floor at the back. It has a pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mleach74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This hotel is off the beaten track - which is not a bad thing, however be warned that any taxi/moto/tuk tuk ride will involve at least 10 minutes of the driver trying to work out where it is. The area where the hotel is located is fine - although I wouldn't be keen on walking around there by myself at night time. The title 'boutique' is possibly stretching it a bit. The rooms and common areas are lovely - but the rooms don't have a view. The view from both of my rooms was through the common walkway straight into the house next door - which meant that curtains had to be drawn most of the time. Although I booked for 2 nights - I had to change rooms after the 1st night - with no apology from management. For the price I paid for the room I don't think I should have been shifted around. The pool area was lovely - and this is where breakfast was served. The breakfast was average - and very limited. I tried room service a few times - and again the food was average but nothing special. The pool is permanently in shade - which means it is freezing. This is refreshing in the warm climate - but it does mean that swims are limited to a few minutes only. Staff were pleasant - but didn't go out of their way to help with sightseeing or indulge in any chit chat. There is a good massage centre for the blind around the corner that is worth a visit if you stay here. Staff can direct you there. All in all this accommodation was average - and not worth what I paid. Having said that - finding decent accommodation in PP is very difficult - and this was the best out of the hotels I stayed at. I am very surprised at the good reviews that it has received.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank franwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Hotel seems to be quite new. It has a nice little pool. Rooms are decorated sparsely and elegantly.

The hotel is a bit off from the tourist areas. The closest “tourist hot spot” is the Russian Market. There is some construction work in the neighborhood, which is, however, not overly annoying.

The breakfast that they serve is not the best – you have to wait rather long and when they served it, the egg was already cold. Maybe they get it from some restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sabine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We had the pleasure of experiencing this new and refreshing Hotel/B&B on our arrival in Cambodia. Only open a half year this quaint "boutique" style accommodation has it all: large spotless rooms, nice breakfasts, real HOT water, a small 24/7 pool with refreshingly cooled water (above the norm in Phnom Penh, which is a three shower a day city--having a cool pool to relax in is a definite bonus over most of the PP pools which tend to be lukewarm). Large bathrooms, oversize thick towels, in room supplied coffee makers are also a plus.
Around the pool are nice tables and sitting areas and a couple free access service computers.
The Litttle Garden is located within the city, not far from the Russian Market, but away from most other hotels. It's a $2 tuk-tuk ride (or $1 motorbike) ride to get to the hustle bustle and noise. Which makes the place away from the noise that's omnipresent in Phnom Penh.
We found the staff wonderful--attentive to every detail and one of the most pleasant and helpful group of kids I've run into in SE Asia. Their English skills are good and they go the extra mile to accommodate any request.
The best thing about the Little Garden was discovering this perfect little space of peace and quiet; 4 star luxury at 2 star prices. I found it on Agoda for less than $30 a night with breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Palm Tree Boutique Hotel
Palm Tree Boutique Hotel
#41 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Langka
Villa Langka
#23 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.0 mi away
House Boutique Eco Hotel
House Boutique Eco Hotel
#6 of 317 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arun Villa Boutique Hotel
Arun Villa Boutique Hotel
#17 of 226 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.5 mi away
You Khin House
You Khin House
#4 of 317 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
FJ Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
FJ Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
#129 of 317 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Garden Boutique Hotel

Property: The Little Garden Boutique Hotel
Address: # 8A Street 398 | Boeung Keng Kang I, Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Little Garden Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Garden, housed in a modernist-style villa, is uniquely designed to offer customers unique decorated rooms with best quality services.Each room has its own character and uniqueness featuring both classic and contemporary styles. The rooms on the top floors have little terrace intend to offer a relaxing atmosphere and make customers feel like home.A swimming pool locates parallel to the tropical garden café is provided privately for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Little Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing