We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice morning”

Linna Culinary School
Ranked #6 of 12 Food & Drink in Phnom Penh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: LINNA CULINARY SCHOOL is a new culinary school that opened in June, 2010. Our school is near the Phnom Penh university.Vong Linna is the principal author of two recipe books written in Khmer language.In our school, Western cuisine and Khmer, Japanese, Korean, Chinese, Thailand, Vietnamese food, with the training of Cambodian students.Our school has been training Khmer traditional food to foreigners. I hope everyone is inspired and become familiar with Khmer food.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a nice morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lovely clean and spacious kitchens, and Linna was a lovely lady and a good teacher.
I felt for the price it was a little expensive as we only taught and cooked 2 dishes.(but both very tasty, and easy to follow instructions)
I went to a cooking School in Cheng Mai, Thailand and paid a little bit more but leant to cook 5 dishes and was given a cook book of all the recipes that they do on their 5 day course- At Linna'a we just got an A4 piece of paper with the 2 recipes we cooked on the day which was a little bit disappointing.

But had a lovely fun morning and met some nice people.
We ate our meals on the covered roof which was amazing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    10
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great way to learn new skills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My 2 teenage daughters & I spent a morning in a cooking course in Phnom Penh with the Linna Culinary School. This is a fairly new (2010) cooking school that is a great way to learn some traditional Cambodian recipes in a clean, well equipped custom made kitchen set up. It included a tuk-tuk ride to visit a small local market where some of the fresh ingredients for the recipes were bought & we were able to try some Cambodian snacks.
Linna shows you how to make each dish initially, then you go up to the covered roof/balcony and we then prepared our appetiser-fresh “spring rolls” that we ate while the benches were being set up for us.
We then used our printed recipes to make 2 dishes in pairs. There are different recipes prepared on different days. We made Green Mango Chicken Salad and Pineapple Curry Soup (served in a half pineapple shell). All the ingredients were laid out for ease of use and help was available by Linna or her assistants if you got into trouble.
After finishing the cooking we once again went up onto the roof where tables were set up for us to enjoy the “fruits of our labour”. We ended the delicious meal, which amazingly looked & tasted like Linna’s sample one, with fresh fruit. We went home with a copy of the recipes so we can recreate the dishes at home. The recipes made so much that we were able to take the remainder back with us & my husband who didn’t join the class ate it for breakfast the next day reheated at our hotel !
This is a great half day activity for men/women & older children alike, whether you usually cook or not-learn something new. It is professionally run in a lovely clean, well set out environment. I wish we had more time to do another day & learn several more recipes.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Enjoyed our morning with Linna and staff. Attentive, yummy and fun. Modern clean kitchen. Worth it although a bit pricey by Cambodian standards

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AU3163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cooking class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This cooking school was fntastic from the time at the markets to the time we got back to the school. Linna was an excellent teacher with alot of patience. With only four students in her class that day this felt like a truly personal cooking class. I have been to many cooking classes and this was exceptional. The kitchen was well stocked, professional and spotless in cleanliness. We started off with making rice paper rolls and then went onto cook khumer pumpkin soup (delicious) and Beef Luk Loc (also delicious). The recipes were simple enough to follow and our host was excellent. highly recommend this cooking class.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cooking school”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Fantastic morning spent at the local market, then at the school learning how to cook a couple of local dishes. Linna is absolutely gorgeous and warm-hearted as a teacher, and makes you feel at home instantly. The school itself is well equipped and super clean, and the food we cooked was delicious. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linna Culinary School also viewed

 

Been to Linna Culinary School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing