We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel!!! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best hostel!!! ”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Friends had told me how good Mad Monkey was, so I took their word for it and I was so happy I did!! Overall a fantastic hostel! Great location, staff, food and a good vibe day and night!! Would recommend to everyone!! You'd be silly not to stay there rooms are clean with good AC and hot water!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, it was a pleasure to have you stay here we hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    395
    137
    49
    26
See reviews for
17
252
446
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This MM location has many rooms and nice rooftop bar with friendly staff. Reception staff is not that helpful but are always around. Felt safe with all the security around. Big plus. Many rooms to choose from and they are all different. Some are more hotelish and others more like a room in a house.

Room Tip: Room 5 is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thanks for your review, it was a pleasure having you here and we love hearing about our customers enjoying our Hostel. Have a great trip around Asia. Love Mad Monkeys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Being a "middle aged person", I was a bit apprehensive staying in a hostel for 4 nights,( even though we had booked the private room with air con) but was very impressed with the standard and professionalism of this hostel and friendly, helpful staff! the owners are doing a great service to look after their staff, and help with their life in such a poor country.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your awesome review, it really helps us and we love hearing about our customers enjoying our Hostel. Have a lovely trip around Asia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Staying overnight in Phnom Penh before heading north, Mad Monkey provided 5-star service, safe and comfy accommodations (I recommend a double room with air-conditioning), fantastic food/drinks, and friendly atmosphere. My room was silent and was a good choice for a single female traveling alone. Staff are incredibly helpful and cheery and full of travel suggestions. Ideal location - can walk around the quiet neighborhood and find amazing French bakeries and Australian bars, walk a bit farther (or tuk-tuk) to Ngon Restaurant for exquisite Vietnamese/Khmer food. Mainly guests are backpackers but very relaxed vibe and easy to meet people. Will be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teragram99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your response and review - we are delighted you enjoyed your time staying with us and wish you the very best of your travels in Asia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

If you're going to Phnom Penh this is the place you have to stay at.

First of all the food here is so delicious, everything you order is like heaven.. Second of all, the atmosphere in the mad monkey is awesome! The staff, the guests, the rooftop bar with the beerpong table, the art on the walls, and I can probably go on and on but it's better if you experience it by yourself! I can't even describe how grateful I am.. Thank you the mad monkey for letting me stay here, I had the time of my life!

Sothea and the girls at the reception, you're the reason why I have to come back to Phnom Penh in a few years. Cheers guys!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review it was great to have you staying with us ! Have a great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I hardly ever write reviews on here which is a true testiment to the overall quality of this place. I was seriously impressed with every single aspect of this hostel, I just wish they had Mad Monkey hostels in Vietnam which is my next stop!

The modern, spotless and comfortable dorm rooms were a great place to meet people and the staff were all SO friendly, especially Sothea who really went out his way on many occasions to make sure we got everything we needed. I had to get them on Facebook before I left to stay in touch.

One last thing, the food they serve in the restaurant was unbelievably delicious, at $5-6 for most mains (which were very generous in terms of portion size) it was a little out of my ideal budget, but still found myself eating almost every meal there as I couldn't resist!

In conclusion, fantastic place, food, staff, atmosphere and also a complete bargain!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are looking forward to seeing you again! In 90% of cases its the guest that defines how much of a great time they have here and you were an awesome guest! Thanks so much - please do come back soon! Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, probably the best I've had this trip. The staff helped us with EVERYTHING. They also have a very good restaurant and a large variety of food on the menu. And the best place in phnom pen to start your big night out is with some beerpong in their rooftop sunset bar! Be sure to take a bazooka aswell for your country!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review - thank you for choosing The Mad Monkey. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon! Much love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#66 of 269 in Phnom Penh
361 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 243 in Phnom Penh
242 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#5 of 243 in Phnom Penh
685 reviews
1.0 mi away
Billabong Hostel
Billabong Hostel
#3 of 243 in Phnom Penh
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Property: Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
Address: Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 243 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mad Monkey Phnom Penh - the original Mad Monkey! This is the best place to meet people and experience Phnom Penh. We can help you arrange tours, travel, visas, you name it. We're also the perfect home base for your adventures. Relax by our refreshing swimming pool (a must in the Cambodian heat) and enjoy our poolside bar. Eat a filling and delicious meal in our restaurant with new backpacker friends from around the world. Upstairs in our Rooftop Bar we have new events on every night of the week. We can't wait to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mad Monkey Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing